FDM Group PMO/BA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FDM Group Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
637 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Fantastic Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant 

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, awesome opportunity, everything a grad can dream about

    Cons

    Nothing much to say, I am satisfied

    FDM Group2019-05-28
  2. "Good for entry level IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In my opinion a very good starting point of a career in IT

    Cons

    Contractual terms are demanding and you can easy be manipulated

    FDM Group2019-11-08
  3. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PMO Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    What are the chances of you landing a job within large global firm like HSBC, UBS, Barclays etc. Very Slim. This is where FDM come in. Work on a low wage for 2 years to get the experience and then you are free to leave.

    Cons

    No Benefits as a company. they used to have an online portal which was ok, now there's nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe pay second year a little more. A little unfair when a candidate has been placed Full Time for the full year and they are on the same wage as someone whose had gaps in their employment. Better benefits. An extra living allowance if candidate is placed away from home.

    FDM Group2019-11-21
  4. "Good training, no control of placements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Leeds, England

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is brilliant Nice group of people Big client names

    Cons

    Unpaid Can take a while to get placed

    Advice to Management

    Increase communication between account managers and consultants

    FDM Group2019-12-04
  5. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really great place to get exposure to top clients it would otherwise be very difficult to find work at

    Cons

    They do take a large portion of the rate charged to the client, and more money can be made as a contractor. However FDM remove the risk of being out of contract

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent to staff about what the client is being charged and how much is taken by sales commission, company overheads, etc.

    FDM Group2019-11-18
  6. "Great for getting your foot in the door in the industry. Nothing else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for getting expoure to work in large IT and Financial institutions.

    Cons

    "Training" is very minimal and does not accurately represent how much they say it is worth. (I would have had to pay 17.5k for 8 weeks of classes if I left the consultancy before my 2 year contract ended). The quality of training can vary, but my experience was that it was very basic, and something you can easily research yourself online. The only part of training that were useful was the 1 week of SQL, which in... itself is not enough. The company does not provide a hospitable environment that would make you want to stay longer than 2 years. For example they are very stringent with holidays and sick pay. They don't pay sick pay until after 6 month of your first placement starting. They do not allow to buy/sell holiday even if the client you are working has signed it off. They also provide very little support once placed with a client. FDM runs very effectively with a great business model for its shareholders but it is essentially a graduate factory. They charge their clients over double the value which they pay their consultants and therefore you have to be willing to stay for 2 years for the exposure to their clients.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve the training or reduce the cost of leaving early.

    FDM Group2019-11-17
  7. "Good for what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Good IT training Nice people Nice environment

    Cons

    A lot of admin base

    FDM Group2019-10-25
  8. "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good for someone fresh off university

    Cons

    heavy work load and long hours

    FDM Group2019-10-25
  9. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people and nice offices

    Cons

    Low paid and not much progression

    FDM Group2019-10-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of support for consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They give you the chance to work for the top tier organisations

    Cons

    Very little support from management and will treat you like a commodity without a concern for your health and wellbeing.

    FDM Group2019-11-01
Found 1192 reviews