FDM Group Reviews

Updated 23 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO, Founder, and Director Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
673 Ratings
  1. "Great place to start your career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dynamic and fast paced work environment, FDM is the best place to start your career. I have been in the company across several departments and every time it has been a steep learning curve. There is no job definition and constraints, you can make your job as rich and broad as you want. There is freedom to shape your role and new ideas are greatly encouraged. No matter how tough the role you land in, there is always someone who can support you. There is huge earnings potential, but you must be prepared to work hard and network. There is constant emphasis on people and their career progression.

    Cons

    Like in most organisations, change may take time to happen- changing people's way of working or thinking is a challenge most of the time. Annual Leave allowance should be higher and competitive with the market.

    FDM Group2020-01-20
  2. "Consultancy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent cost-effective model for budding, entry-level consultants

    Cons

    Strategy? Questionable sales culture and senior management

    FDM Group2020-01-29
  3. "Does what it says"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience with well know companies, good to get your foot in door

    Cons

    Lower pay than average and tied into for two years

    FDM Group2020-01-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A risky decision to join - not worth it for me"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Business Intelligence Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff are friendly Potential to work with some big name clients

    Cons

    Training isn't brilliant (some weeks were fine, others terrible) No salary until getting placed - they rather cheekily don't advertise this. Lots of staff turnover in 2019 during my time there, which didn't help company performance.

    FDM Group2020-01-27
  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Merchandiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Open plan office - Social scene

    Cons

    - No perks, eg no free meals, time off hard to get

    FDM Group2020-01-10
  6. "process"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    good place to work. really good experience

    Cons

    goes very quickly. but good learning experience

    FDM Group2020-01-08
  7. "Great opportunities to be had but beware of pushy account managers."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    FDM is great for grads and career changers without IT experience (I can't speak for Ex-Forces or Returners) who wish to apply themselves in an IT career in top companies that might otherwise be difficult to get into.

    Cons

    When you start working at FDM (as a grad) you are required to be geo-flexible within the UK and you are obliged to work on behalf of FDM for two years on a below market salary. Both of these are to be expected and not really a con, as you are told about it before signing the dotted line. However, beware of pushy account managers who try to push you into any job whether or not it is aligned with your skills or aspirations. I've had a couple of clashes with account managers that have tried to compel me into going for admin heavy roles despite my previous experience and desire to upskill. Essentially, it appears that their reward system is set up so that they get something for putting you in a role no matter your expressed preferences or whether this role helps you to develop career wise. I would also say that once on site, you are essentially left to get on with it. If you find yourself in a difficult placement, you may find it hard to get out of it, unless your contract ends or there are some other mitigating circumstances.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2020-01-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Do not go to FDM"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay for travel

    Cons

    Oppressive - you lack any freedom on where you are placed and once you realise FDM is not a fit for you then you are threatened to pay £15,000. Managers are also very unsympathetic even if you have mental health issues. You are not a human but a number for the employer and also Account managers lie so much it’s unbelievable. FDM clients are also lied to as FDM consultants are marketed has been experienced when most are just recent graduates. The company takes advantage of desperate graduates and forces them to serve 2 years it’s like a prison sentence.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2020-02-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Look after their consultants"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I find that FDM have done an excellent job looking after me and making sure that I get the best treatment and experience on client site. They will help you if you ask them to and are understanding, kind and fair when dealing with issues. They also help you get your foot in the door of many different big companies, and are a great support and base when a placement ends. The security of knowing you will have somewhere to upskill and still be getting paid is great.

    Cons

    Sometimes different functions are difficult to reach, the basic salary is extremely low, especially when you are 3rd+ year, to the point it is almost impossible to afford to live if your placement ends suddenly.

    Continue reading
    FDM Group2019-12-17
  10. "Fdm"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Un paid training for 3 months

    FDM Group2020-02-08
Found 1265 reviews