FDM Group Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FDM Group Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 6 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
40%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO, Founder, and Director Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
6 Ratings
  1. "A fantastic opportunity to get into my dream job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Trainee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am really enjoying the training and support that I have recieved so far. It has been extremely professional from the first stage of recruitment, through to meeting the sales team and being put forward to opportunities. I feel as though the entire company is very well integrated and I am excited by the new prospects of working all around the UK. There are also chances to work further afield with opportunities becoming available in South Africa and the Asian Pacific. Even though the training is unpaid, it gives me a competitive edge on other graduates and would cost me a lot more time and effort if I did not have it.

    Show More

    Cons

    To me, the training seemed like a step up from university and I had to sometimes ask a lot of questions to fully understand what I was learning.The current offices are slightly small, but we are moving to what looks like an incredible new location.

    FDM Group2013-10-24
  2. "Bad with workers, good with clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Get you into industry

    Cons

    Send you anywhere, pension scheme base salary and poor training

    FDM Group2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Good trade off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to valuable experience Clients know what they can expect from you, so you get to have more time to learn at the job.

    Cons

    If placed in London or an expensive city, salary is low. 2 years permanence, otherwise pay 20K as leaving fine. HR department not very competent. You don´t get much access to training outside from the basic 3 months at the academy

    FDM Group2018-11-26
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Very bad salary, no benefits, employee comes last in FDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group

    Pros

    The only positive about joining FDM Group is that you learn how to avoid dodgy companies like this in the future.

    Cons

    One of the lowest salaries in the market with a very funny raise in the second year. FDM is renting you to other companies as sub-contractors, FDM gets loads of money because of your work and you get pennies. For your managers and the company you are only money producing units nothing more, they will never hear your concerns. In terms of benefits they give the bare minimum. Only pension. And this is because the government has made this mandatory. Training provided is very minimal. Many of the trainers are not very knowledgable. I you have a MSc expect to know more than your trainers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees and pay them what they deserve.

    FDM Group2016-01-20
  5. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Junior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at FDM Group

    Pros

    Nice team and good work environment

    Cons

    Pay wise they are not up to mark

    FDM Group2019-10-06
  6. "Interesting recruit, train, deploy model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    I just got through the interview process at FDM so bear in mind my experience is very limited. The phone interviewers and the first wave of people were very nice and cared about what I had to say. They were transparent with the contract obligations and how the system worked. It sounds like a great place to launch a tech career if you haven't received the desired internship/co-op experience during undergrad.

    Cons

    - underpaid for a certain period -contractual obligations seem like a burden, but if you can deal with it for two years you should be fine

    FDM Group2019-06-06
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Research before accept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    easy to get offer even for fresh people without experience, it can be a good place for all people got rejected from other places.

    Cons

    Payment is way beyond low. Their contract binds you for two years and there is no way to get out from it. Only if you have no money to pay rent and you are sure there is no other way to get a job in future accept their offers. If you are smart, educated and like to have dignity never get close to them.

    FDM Group2019-06-19
  8. "Don't go for this if you are confident in your abilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Test Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment and helpful people Basic training on useful tools Lots of high profile clients Free coffee and tea

    Cons

    Looking for a placement after training can be depressing Depending on which stream you get into you may not get may roles presented Training doesn't cover more advanced aspects on important topics so you have a half baked knowledge of everything You can probably get a higher paying job in the same amount of time No one can brew coffee right

    Advice to Management

    Please stop giving every role to developers. There are other streams that are just as qualified if not more for them.

    FDM Group2019-03-27
  9. "A choice for new graduate student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a good way to start a new career.

    Cons

    Two year contract is too long

    FDM Group2019-02-20
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great for those who doesn't have IT background but wants to work in a blue chip company

    Cons

    Gaps between account managers and trainers/trainees

    FDM Group2017-07-11
Found 12 reviews