FDM Group Trainee Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Trainee

FDM Group Trainee Reviews

Updated 9 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
40%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
FDM Group CEO, Founder, and Director Rod Flavell
Rod Flavell
44 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Good Idea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solves the catch 22 of education/experience. Their clients are at global stand. Really very impressive!

    Cons

    little financial support (living expenses) through lengthy training

    Advice to Management

    For the amount of money made from placement, there is plenty of space for a little more financial aid to the trainees whilst still recouping investment from academy.

    FDM Group2019-03-27
  2. "Fdm Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training Gain industry relevant skills Foot through the door of big companies like Sky, Credit Suisse, etc.

    Cons

    No pay, but there is travel bursary

    FDM Group2019-12-09
  3. "If you don't like the corporate world this isn't for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Trainee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group for less than a year

    Pros

    A good insight into the corporate world

    Cons

    You have very little say in where are a placed.

    FDM Group2019-11-11
  4. "Trainee RRC Stream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Trainee 

    I worked at FDM Group

    Pros

    You get paid your expenses and get free coffee.

    Cons

    Every 2 weeks the company takes in many more students into their Streams while the old signed-off trainees (students) are sitting in the pond idling away month by month.

    FDM Group2019-11-04
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Poor training and Lack of Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training doesn't look bad on your CV, and the trainers do provide sound advise on improving your CV.

    Cons

    The training can be found online and often for free. The trainers don't necessarily train you...you're often told to read through slides by yourself, have meaningless group tasks set for a 1/3 of the day, or watch videos that are available online and for free. Not exactly what was promised. We were told that hardly anyone went over their 90 day period but this is not the reality. FDM is struggling to post trainees to their clients; Brexit is the excuse, which could be the case. FDM hold charity events regularly and trainees are told to donate to a charity that FDM has selected. Seems like an odd policy to have unpaid trainees donating when FDM is profiting on the back of their desperation to find work. Also there is never any mention of how much FDM donates from its company profits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you won't pay trainees then at least provide them with the opportunity to train at home or take on paid part time employment during the week.

    FDM Group2019-11-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Limited opportunities and bad treatmenet of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities (if one of few to get an interview) to get placed with blue-chip companies. Take on varying backgrounds and don't discriminate based on this/ take on those with a 2:2 Opportunity to develop skills that can help you in the workplace (presentation/confidence/IT skills)

    Cons

    Employees unable to communicate their concerns to newcomers as they get into trouble/damages the company's reputation. Persuaded by recruiters to join and made to seem better than it is Tied by strict contract - unpaid training period for about 2 months and it's sold that you get placed by the end of your training however this has not been the case for a lot of people. You then have to stay with them for another 90 days (still unpaid) while they try to find a place for you. Requirement to be geographically flexible and most likely move down to London (could be a pro if you want this). No support if circumstances change and you no longer want this/can't move which can cause a lot of stress/anxiety. Bad treatment of employees - opinion shared by most people i know that work there, seen more as an object with no freedom/space to choose not to relocate etc even if your circumstances change. You're expected to continue to be proactive and motivated even if you've finished your training, not being paid and might be forced to move to London outside of your will. Pay not great in comparison to similar roles if applying directly as company takes a very large cut.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay trainees in the UK offices as it is very difficult to live for 5 months with no pay/not much time for part time work. Support trainees more in relocating concerns/troubles.

    FDM Group2019-11-04
  7. "Good training so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of useful skills gained, including business skills that you don't necessarily learn at university

    Cons

    Not great for people travelling from afar, rent costs can be pretty tough.

    FDM Group2019-09-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid - Company are not honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Business Analyst in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Recruitment process seems nice at the time, but they are covering up how the graduate programme is actually run. Able to leave with no strings attached within the first two weeks of training

    Cons

    This company are not transparent with placement structure - I was informed that I would be interviewing with different clients of my choice and would have a say about where I would be working and the nature of my work, however this is simply not true. They place you anywhere in the UK doing anything at all without consultation with very short notice. Turning down placements or so much as voicing an opinion (or so it seems) is viewed as a serious breach of contract which is a sackable offence and FDM reserve the right to charge £15k for training in this instance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be truthful about the programme and you will get people applying who actually want to be there rather than dropping out in the first two weeks of training.

    FDM Group2019-10-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good but risky"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn new technology skills

    Cons

    If you drop out, you have to pay a lot of fees

    FDM Group2019-05-18
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Former Trainee on Software Development Stream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FDM Group full-time

    Pros

    Mmm works for some people I guess

    Cons

    FDM hired me on the basis that my chemical engineering degree would be transferraable. One month into their intense training, they dropped me with no warning due to me failing a couple tests. From my understanding we had three chances to pass. Also they wanted us to learn JAVA in four days, is this possible? Highly unlikely. As it was out of the two week period and as it was their choice, they didn’t charge me with the £20,000 training fee. Honestly after discussions with other trainees, I believe FDM dropped me and others due to their inability to place trainees that are on the earlier streams. They knew the would struggle to place us as well so it was probably easier to remove the dead weight. A waste of my time - they see you as a product to be sold . I ignored the glassdoor reviews at first however i will not be making that mistake again.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You exploit graduates and it is a shame

    FDM Group2019-04-01
Found 73 reviews