FXCM Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

FXCM Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 243 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Brendan Callan
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low growth opportunity due to an over saturated upper management team is not very motivating(in 10 reviews)

  • "most people not part of "the group" are unhappy and try to leave which results in high turnover(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FXCM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, highly motivated, dynamic work environment

    Cons

    closing US business is unfortunate

    FXCM2017-04-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great than it went downhill pretty fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FXCM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great exposure to the fast-paced fin-tech environment

    Cons

    very hard to progress your career with an uncertain and unclear path ahead unstable company poor management no transparency irrational managerial decisions causing people to lose their jobs

    Advice to Management

    Honor your own words.

    FXCM2017-10-07
  3. "Moved to City Of Investment Ltd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dealer Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FXCM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learnt a great deal about the inner workings of FXCM but then decided to take my skills to City of Investment since I was head hunted by the trading team at CityofInvestment.com to fill trading orders as quick rapidly.

    Cons

    Cannot negotiate your way to the top at FXCM.

    FXCM2017-07-21
  4. "Overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FXCM full-time

    Pros

    Great CEO, company wants to innovate, work-life balance

    Cons

    Very political and not very collaborative

    Advice to Management

    Strive for a less political working environment

    FXCM2017-06-19
  5. "FX Trader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FXCM full-time

    Pros

    The company's environment is very awesome, and the staffs are so friendly. I really enjoy the working environment. Overall, it is really a nice company.

    Cons

    Too much workload and we always have extra hours for woking everyday. I usually finish my work at about 9 o'clock; however, it is common to see in traders in every company.

    Advice to Management

    I hope the company can focus more on offshore RMB service, which should be quite lucrative in the current market. In addition, FXCM should recruit more foreign students in order to diversify its working environment.

    FXCM2016-05-23
  6. "Highly recommendable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FXCM full-time

    Pros

    Challenging tasks. Good personal growth possible. Great colleagues and bosses who know people management well.

    Cons

    Go elsewhere if you want to just work office hours!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on moving fast. You have a very good team, use your employees even if the going gets tough.

    FXCM2016-04-30
  7. "Good management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at FXCM

    Pros

    Some really top quality management members and some great sales people. Decent place to start a career in finance

    Cons

    Bonuses are discretionary which will lead the best sales people to move on

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work in the sales management areas.

    FXCM2015-06-19
  8. "FXCM good place for hard working self-starters with desire to learn and succeed quickly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FXCM full-time

    Pros

    • Company takes care of it’s own – If you have a rough quarter, bad day, or need more guidance with something, you typically receive it • Lots of responsibility given – company doesn’t seek out big titles, certain ages, previous companies on your resume – can go up quickly with hard work • Large number of veteran employees who are passionate about what they do – tends to rub off and inspire healthy competition • Ideas...

    Show More

    Cons

    • Self-starters typically first, if not only, to succeed – must actively seek out opportunity, promotion • Can be very stressful work for uncertain amounts of time – I have worked in roles where the stress levels were high for months on end • Long term career progression not always clear – my path at the company has never been more than 6 months out (can be both good and bad)

    Advice to Management

    • Ensure large updates/changes are communicated to all offices • Consider paying a premium for outside hires in key, high-profile roles (not C-level)

    FXCM2015-02-10
  9. "brilliant and great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at FXCM

    Pros

    great work life balance and great compensation

    Cons

    none so far and excellent company all round

    FXCM2014-08-20
  10. "Okay place to start out at, but not a good place for growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FXCM sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at FXCM

    Pros

    good business model, relatively easy sell to customers good place to start on the financial markets an international work place

    Cons

    no benefits, no pension fund nepotism rules repetitive work management too interested by sometimes irrelevant stats too hierarchical not enough room is given for employees to improve themselves (e.g. education) no growth opportunities I agree to what someone else said on this website - the place is run like a high school (maybe even primary school)

    Advice to Management

    don't run the ship so tight; adopt better HR practices such as giving employees the chance to learn more; offer better and more ways to grow in the organisation, too.

    FXCM2010-07-26
Found 243 reviews