Facebook Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Facebook Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "free food and transport are great(in 340 reviews)

  • "Working with really smart people(in 278 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on teams, some team may have bad work life balance(in 360 reviews)

  • "There are no cons of working at facebook(in 79 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Solutions Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At Facebook, we have the opportunity to work with some exceptionally smart people, tackle big challenges, and make a real impact. The workforce is as diverse as the communities we serve. The company is providing the best possible care and resources to help all of us thrive — at work, in our personal life, and across every life stage, so we can focus on our mission of bringing the world closer together. Through Life@, Facebook offers a wide range of benefits in areas including health, family, finance, community, and time away. I highly recommend this amazing company. It doesn't get better than this!

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Enable flexible working and job sharing for new parents.

    Facebook2020-01-12
  2. "Very competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture there is amazing, people want to do good products, there are no silos, internal communication is great and efficient. Eng. are empowered to decide what's best and to set direction. There is high expectations about eng. impact, and high-level engs get there by proving this. Compensation and perks are very competitive, at least in London.

    Cons

    Not a lot. Perhaps sometimes the whole 'mission' can feel a little pretentious.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work culture-wise.

    Facebook2020-01-07
  3. "Great place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    really care about you, you have the opportunity to support great people, huge challenges

    Cons

    stress environment in all area that regarding rating and PSC

    Facebook2020-01-02
  4. "Culture is at the heart of Facebook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Facebook for nearly 2 years and I have to say that it is the best place to work! - Smart and genuinely good people - Positively challenging work - Potential for growth & career progression - Inspiring leadership

    Cons

    - Processes are quite broken but this gives you a chance to build something from scratch and 'fix things'

    Facebook2019-12-30
  5. "Great place to work with a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the open mindedness of Facebook. In my previous company, everything was restrictive, critiques of processes were taken negatively with no improvements and increased frustration. Facebook employees are encouraged to critique themselves and others in order to make things better inside and outside the company.

    Cons

    None as of yet, but I am pretty new to the company.

    Facebook2019-12-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great salary and benefits, but Workplace is too toxic!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great salary and benefits - Beautiful location in central London

    Cons

    - Workplace by Facebook is one of the worst work environment I've ever experienced! - It's very hard to collaborate, which is funny given that Workplace should be a collaboration tool - You spend 70% of the time worrying about politics - Unclear goals and confusing organisation

    Advice to Management

    Stop encouraging individualism and shortcuts, and take a long term approach to build your business and culture.

    Facebook2020-01-02
  7. "Great place to learn. Hard place to live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great compensation. - Free food and live like in a Disneyland. - Super smart colleagues with cutting the edge tech stacks.

    Cons

    Really stressful review processing. High pressure on the work performance review.

    Facebook2019-12-28
  8. "10 years working in tech this is the best place I've worked in!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Facebook a few month ago and I couldn't be happier. I am amazed how this company has managed to keep its culture and how everyone lives by them everyday and it sets the tone for the best collaboration. Nothing here is someone's else problem you come in and it's your job to fix and make the whole machine function better. Internally transparency is incredible, and if you are unsure about something, a direction, or a decision you just ask and people will help you find the answer. People work hard but because they want to. Even at times when it's stressful, the work life balance is good enough that you can go home and enjoy a nice evening without overthinking.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing related to Facebook, but to the fact that it is a big org and things can take a bit of time to move, but the company is not afraid to find new ways to move forward faster.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Facebook2019-12-09
  9. "Great Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Science Manager in London, England

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great office. Good benefits, lots of free stuff

    Cons

    Feels like a cult, too many 'smartest guys in the room', collaboration hard to find

    Facebook2019-12-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed feelings, not a place for a parent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, nice people to work with, great flexibility

    Cons

    No work-life balance. Data Science is basically "product data science" and in most cases this translates in very little coding and no machine learning. Pressure is constantly high and unhealthy. Not many parents around and I can definitely see why.. If you want to be successful you basically have to give up the rest of your life and money cannot buy everything...

    Facebook2019-12-04
Found 152 reviews