Facebook "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Facebook Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated 11 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, lot of responsibilities(in 342 reviews)

  • "Working with really smart people(in 280 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor Work/life balance due to high performance(in 364 reviews)

  • "There are no cons of working at facebook(in 79 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It doesn't get better than this"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free food - Great comp - Smart people - Amazing offices - Great career plan

    Cons

    - Your manager can make or break your experience. I've heard from people that have terrible managers and it honestly feels like they work for a different company, their stories are so different from mine. - Bi-yearly review cycles are very tiresome and drive everyone into short-sighted decisions about prioritization.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-11-06
  2. "Great place to learn. Hard place to live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great compensation. - Free food and live like in a Disneyland. - Super smart colleagues with cutting the edge tech stacks.

    Cons

    Really stressful review processing. High pressure on the work performance review.

    Facebook2019-12-28
  3. "Great benefits spoiled by a bad manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - User Experience Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook for less than a year

    Pros

    - World-changing work - Free food - Lots of clubs to get involved in - Lots of systems in place to make logistics easier

    Cons

    - People are very busy being busy and you really have to fight for a moment of their time - Some managers (including mine) are extremely hands of and do nothing to create a team environment/collaboration

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-12-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Stay Away from Product Solutions Manager / Solutions Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Solutions Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Experience working at a big American company - Travel - Free food and snacks - Some people from other teams seem to be happy as long as they have a good manager (not easy)

    Cons

    - ‎ Zero growth opportunities and promotions - ‎ Not many other roles to move to internally - ‎ Weak leadership, allows bullying and bias (global issue) - Toxic environment

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-11-13
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Some hard work needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Sourcer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Perks: gym coverage, free food, health insurance, snacks (maybe that's a con, I gained loads), public transport pass coverage (you'll need it) * I've worked with some of the nicest and most engaged hiring managers here that helped solve recruiting challenges * Recruiting tools are literally the best in the business.

    Cons

    * The pressure to perform is insane; hitting my target + delivering on projects was just barely enough to get a meets all during the perf cycle * Roles are becoming increasingly small and marginalised as the team continues to scale. As a result, you see people jumping (literally) on to projects to set themselves apart from the rest of the team. It makes for a bit of a cut-throat culture just around the time when PSC hits * If you're interviewing at facebook, prepare for a ride with R4R - they'll probably won't speak to you again after you've signed the contract * While there are exceptions, the culture in the recruiting team is just weird. It sort of reminds me of high school. There's cliques, people gossip and there's for sure a couple of bullies: either people wouldn't even say a word to you or would go out of their way to make you feel like you're weird or different (to be honest, that also included my manager). * Ads Credits & being forced to dog-food beta apps: I'm a huge instagram fan and big user - so being forced to update my apps multiple times a day was a nightmare. * The perks are nice but salary/bonus are nothing to write home about: base is somewhat competitive but expect around 85-90% of the bonus you're promised in your offer letter.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-10-22
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Good compensation and a lot of stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free food - Reasonable pay - Party budget - 25 quids per person, you can use it freely - Travel with business class - Health, Dental, Life insurance - You can work on difficult problems with very high impact - You touching things used by you and plenty of people on earth. - You can meet Mark

    Cons

    - Around half of management is not capable to point any of their failures or if they do then the failures is caused not because of their mistake. - Common parent-child relationships, causing top to down direction. - Independence is when you can replicate your manager in 100% same way and not when you can accomplish your targets with no supervision in any legit way - No tolerance for making any mistakes. You can get constant punishment if you do not do things *exactly* according to your tech lead/manager’s idea. - Big percentage of people who like talking about themselves. - Too much focus on impact. Ignoring people relations and good engineering. This constantly bring problems which could be avoided. But then managers are happy, because they subordinates have more problems, so they can have more impact.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-10-06
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Awesome perks, awful engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, first class flights to the US, free gadgets and lots and lots of swag. Very complex and difficult problems to solve (mainly self inflicted due to the lack of good endineering practices).

    Cons

    My experience is in the enterprise engineering org. * Very individualistic mindset, team is only the logo on the swag you get. * Several years of unattended spaghetti engineering that nobody dares to handle, but someone has to maintain (and get burnt doing so). * Awful oncalls due to the horrible engineering practices and mountains of tech debt. * Blame showers during incident reviews (and incident triaging). * Over the fence handovers. Fake promises by recruiters, lack of leadership. * Walls between orgs for transfers and artificial, per-org devopment limitations. It's better to leave and reinterview with a chance of getting better offer than trying to move internally (and still going through the interviews) and getting your level frozen for a year. There's some efforts to improve engineering practices, but get smudged and diluted by the lack of will and understanding from the leadership, and the lack of reward from the global org (doing two really crappy things gives you more performance review points than doing something with high quality, and/or refactoring any amount of the crappy things around).

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-08-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good in some, bad in others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally speaking you are treated well, it really depends on the team you work within. There is a lot of negative press on the outside about FB but on the inside you witness all of the good FB does. If you align to what they are doing it gives you a great feeling. As a recruiter here, its the hardest but probably most rewarding job I've had. The tools are great and getting better everyday and depending on the are you are working in you can do some really cool things! Free food Again depending on team, very casual about where and when for working

    Cons

    Some management have got to where they are from longevity within the business and not the impact they have which hinders people The review process is pretty rough, bottom line is if you don't get on with your manager you are not going to get very far in your career, a lot of bias in this process. They talk a lot about an open feedback company and how everyone is honest which is fair but when management can't take feedback or literally do not care then that is the issue Most managers are very disconnected from the recruiting process and try to dictate what you should do when generally you will know what is best for your clients

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-07-18
  9. Helpful (42)

    "My honest opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition in London, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, pay, environment, tools, stock and 0,1% of the people working there are actually cool. But don’t get it twisted! All the free food, snacks, drinks etc. are made to keep you at work longer :)

    Cons

    Looking back at my experience there, I can clearly see that I was unfortunate to end up in a team that I was in. The fact that no one internally wanted to move to that team should have alarmed me, but having just moved to FB I didn’t think of leaving that early. Internally, people were very open about how they would rather quit than join our team. I figured that’s the reason why they hired a complete new team, instead of just moving some people around. However, people at FB are generally blinded by the perks and the status of the company. They make themselves believe that they are happy, but in reality everyone is constantly anxious. They just learn to cope and make it feel normal. The pressure is HIGH and the workload tremendous. Because of the amount of silly meetings that you can’t say no to, you will end up spending more than 50 hours per week to make sure you are up to speed. Some people at FB told me that work consumed every second of their life (they just couldn’t switch off). I knew of other colleages that they come in on a Saturday to do some extra work, and some dedicate their Sunday evening on projects to add to their internal CV. You can’t really switch off, at least not before 9PM. So, if you’re in a relationship/have kids, don’t go there. As a single person I felt bad for my colleagues with a family. In my situation, and I also speak for the rest of the team, there was no support, no proper internal onboarding and literally no one around to be able to inform you what the general expectations were. It’s all very performance driven, so you have to Build up that amount of work you do, cause everything gets tracked. They don’t care how you do it, just do it. This explains why people work throughout the weekend to make sure they hit a certain amount of finished tasks for that week before the new week starts. You will be compared to Peers on your level, so it’s important to make sure you hit at least average to receive some bonus after your review. We had a new manager starting a few months after us, and hierarchy was the management style. Having anything to say went against the manager’s principles and clearly we weren’t liked. So were other colleagues of other teams not liked by this manager, because of their opinions. Be mindful of what you say...not everything is appreciated. At FB, managers are more valued than IC’s and they rather keep a bad manager than a good IC. So please be careful and try to make your manager your friend, trust me it will help you. They have amazing trainings on how to manage bias, but in all honesty, everyone was biased. The way they hired people, they way they treated people and the way they rated each other. During the annual performance cycle, you would only ask feedback from the people you had a good relationship with to help you get your bonus. Up until now, FB was the least favorable experience for me. I only say ‘worst experience’ when I talk to friends. They saw the negative impact it had on me working in a toxic environment. I do want to say that 2% genuinely loves working there, unfortunately the majority doesn’t.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2018-12-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Just another corporate with free food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Facebook for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food and work from home.

    Cons

    The London office has the worst culture. As a contractor I was just a tool and the division between the team and myself was visible. Be Bold, Be Brave, Be Open are only posters and it's hard to be accepted for that. You are told to be yourself but the reality is different, especially as a contractor.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2018-11-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 234 reviews