Facebook "smart people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Facebook Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated 30 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg
Mark Zuckerberg
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, lot of responsibilities(in 342 reviews)

  • "Working with really smart people(in 280 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor Work/life balance due to high performance(in 364 reviews)

  • "There are no cons of working at facebook(in 79 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Solutions Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At Facebook, we have the opportunity to work with some exceptionally smart people, tackle big challenges, and make a real impact. The workforce is as diverse as the communities we serve. The company is providing the best possible care and resources to help all of us thrive — at work, in our personal life, and across every life stage, so we can focus on our mission of bringing the world closer together. Through Life@, Facebook offers a wide range of benefits in areas including health, family, finance, community, and time away. I highly recommend this amazing company. It doesn't get better than this!

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2020-01-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It doesn't get better than this"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free food - Great comp - Smart people - Amazing offices - Great career plan

    Cons

    - Your manager can make or break your experience. I've heard from people that have terrible managers and it honestly feels like they work for a different company, their stories are so different from mine. - Bi-yearly review cycles are very tiresome and drive everyone into short-sighted decisions about prioritization.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-11-06
  3. "Smart people & complex challenges to solve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Product Design Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Facebook for less than a year

    Pros

    - Incredibly smart people -

    Cons

    - Didn't feel that my management was mission-aligned. - Couldn't voice critical opinions outside of my department

    Continue reading
    Facebook2019-10-01
  4. "Facebook SE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Smart people - Perks - Challenging problems

    Cons

    - Coorporate, company is too big

    Facebook2018-05-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - perks that barely 1 or 2 companies can match (free food, child benemfits, yadayadayada) - start at bootcamp and choose yourself a team. ANY team that is recruitung - android, ios, web, backend, machine learning. - convenient location in central london - super smart people around. If you've been best at previous role(s) - you'll learn every day from others. - you do the world a favor. Connect people, bring free internet to people, produce world-class open-source things: ReactJS, Presto, Hive...

    Cons

    Don't see much cons now

    Continue reading
    Facebook2017-07-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great corporate vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great smart people Great perks Great diversity Free food Management moves fast and react fast Open culture and code

    Cons

    Some smart people can be rather snobbish Actually heard "what's ROI" from a engineer Disconnect from Eng vs rest

    Continue reading
    Facebook2017-02-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Extremely smart people. I am really working with the best of the best engineers I have ever met. - Move fast. Decisions are being made rapidly and objectively. No bureaucracy. The change lifecycle idea->implementation->a/b test->production can take less than one day! - Bottom up. Many ideas and decisions are driven by engineers. Managers rarely would tell you what to do, but rather help you to get done what you think should be done. The protocol between the ideas and company goals is metrics. As long as your ideas are aligned with the metrics your org cares about you have green light to implement them. - Diversity. Facebook cares about diversity a lot, which makes the atmosphere here really inclusive and comforting. - Care about employees. Facebook cares about the employees. A lot. All these free meals, snacks, drinks, equipment, business trips to headquarters, tax consultations, massages and much, much more. Everything is done to allow you to take care of all your needs and allow you to focus on the job itself.

    Cons

    - This is Facebook London specific. Many teams are working very closely with teams in US, which means that at least a few days a week there will be video conferences with US around 5-6 pm.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2016-11-04
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Long interview process, worth the wait"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Creative Strategist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook

    Pros

    Great company culture, very smart people, interesting work, entrepreneurial, dynamic and ever changing

    Cons

    lots of smart people all trying to make an impact, competitive in a good way, but you need to be on your "A game."

    Continue reading
    Facebook2015-11-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Culture in London's Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Facebook full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of smart people Interesting projects

    Cons

    It could take some time until you hit your sweet spot in terms of satisfaction and impact. London's office doesn't have that many teams but is growing a lot, maybe this improves over time.

    Facebook2015-09-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good and the Bad. It really depends on your team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing in Menlo Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Facebook full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Facebook has a lot of Pro's but it really depends on the team you land on and the internal politics that surround that particular unit. That is no different than any other company but it can be night and day here. Generally here are the Pros - People: Majority of the other Facebookers are of high quality and surrounding yourself with other smart people can only up your own game. - Benefits: Positive package here overall. They take care of your health, make some life task much easier and try to make life more comfortable. - Technology: Innovative mindset is a big plus but recent years have been more mirror moves with competition to gain an advantage. Good move but for those that want to break the glass into new frontiers, you got to pick the right team. Impact: The opportunity is there for you to embrace.

    Cons

    Generally here are the Cons: - People / Culture: There is a small minority of leftist that can be loud and push activist agenda's that are in your face. While my own goals can align (leftist) I don't like their approach. This is just society creeping into the corporate world and is seen across Tech in general. It can be toxic and extremely disrespectful. You might find more of this at Facebook due to the nature of the product. Imagine the rest... Pick your team wisely. - Weak Leadership: Lot of new leaders... Experienced leaders may not have much experience with trouble shooting negative situations and come in with a bias. Another point here is the number of Re-Orgs. You might experience multiple changes within a quarter / half and this can drag on for years. - Negative news cycle ... it can be draining but it should be a wake up call to further innovate for a product for today. However... this news cycle is long... I mean looooooong and can be intense at times.

    Continue reading
    Facebook2020-01-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 184 reviews