Farmfoods Retail Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Farmfoods Retail Assistant Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
49%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Farmfoods CEO Eric Herd (no image)
Eric Herd
7 Ratings
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Chorley, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team Flexible when dealing with personal problems Hours to suit and always extra hours if you wanted Helping customers and delivering good customer service. Management care for all employees Career advancement available

    Cons

    I havnt come across any

    Continue reading
    Farmfoods2019-08-11
  2. "Good job for hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good working hours discount given

    Cons

    Minimum wage No chairs to sit on

    Continue reading
    Farmfoods2019-09-14
  3. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount and different tasks to do during a shift. Learnt a lot of new skills and confidence whilst working here.

    Cons

    Always be rotated for shifts I would never agree to do. Customers weren't very nice and management wouldn't stick up for staff.

    Farmfoods2019-02-02
  4. "Decent for part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods part-time

    Pros

    - Flexible - Close commute (for me, personally, hence why I upped up my rating) - Friendly colleagues + It's a relaxed environment due to the people I worked with, especially when the store was quiet. - Discount

    Cons

    - Ridiculously overworked whilst constantly short-staffed (typically only 2-3 people working in the store, even during busy periods) - Always poor stock orders; many items are ordered when they simply don't have to be, and then they ask we fill up as much as possible when the freezers are already full. If they're full, then we must 'bury' items in freezers with space. - They expect too much, e.g. one person has to be on till, maintain this area, the front shop area, and have eyes set alert for shoplifters. - Store won't invest in security guards, when it's obvious, that they desperately need them. - Employees have been in situations where they've been badly threatened, even held as hostages, but management don't even check to see if they're okay after and don't action anything accordingly in response to threats/robberies. - Farmfoods don't do any proper background checks at times in who they employ, as at one period I was managed by someone who I then found out was a former drug lord (this person did was also harsh to myself and other staff, again, expected too much from us). - You can't trust your manager at times when it comes to them organising your rota, as either by accident/purpose, you may randomly notice that your hours for the week have decreased, or that you do extra hours in a week but they aren't recorded... I, nor employee, should have to constantly check their rota to see if their correct hours are listed!

    Continue reading
    Farmfoods2019-01-21
  5. "Retail Assistant/ Training supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Sunbury-on-Thames, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got 15% staff discount on all products, if we lucky enough to have in stock.

    Cons

    bullied by management, made to do stocktakes on the day no notice and did not get paid for it. also rude customers talk badly and senior staff ignored and never backed staff up and not bar from the shop. new came to the store and belittled me in front of staff and customers.

    Continue reading
    Farmfoods2018-12-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Really good interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Leek, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount brilliant staff good pay ratr

    Cons

    None that I can think off

    Farmfoods2018-06-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Easy and enjoyable place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at Farmfoods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free uniform and flexible hours around college or university

    Cons

    Very physical job, a lot of heavy lifting and cleaning

    Farmfoods2018-06-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Retail Assistant 20hrs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the people that worked there, apart from certain managers but didn’t have to deal with them very often. 15% discount for you and immediate family. Very easy interview process and you are likely to get the job if you apply.

    Cons

    Regular stock takes where you are bending over large freezers counting produce by hand (usually from 7-10pm) Heavy lifting and constant rushing to get stock out as we were usually understaffed with one or two people doing a delivery of 18+ pallets of stock. No set shifts each week and constant changes of the rota at last minute and without your knowledge or consent, I couldn’t look at my Rota for the next week and expect it to stay like that, I had to check everyday to make sure which as you can imagine is draining to have to constantly think of work. Early and late shifts (with the management positions being expected to do 14hr long days staring at 6am and finishing at 8pm) Everyone I know that works or worked at Farmfoods has either left the job or is planning to, all of my colleagues hold the same views on the job as me. In my five and a half months of working there 8 people left their jobs and the store in turn gained 1 more member of staff during that time. Really long shifts where I could go 8hrs before getting a break. The place overall is depressing, there is no form of stimulation during a shift as there’s no music and no kind of decoration or colour anywhere, you are in silence other then chatting to customers and the constant beeping of tills, with no time to do anything different then the norm each day it can get really draining to be there for so long.

    Continue reading
    Farmfoods2018-04-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods part-time

    Pros

    Moneys OK if you over 25

    Cons

    The lack of hours fravoutism not getting paid for the xtra hours is you work breaks are rare higher management messing with your hours constantly changing and not allowing you to talk while working unless you are helping a customer to get something once done gotta zipp it

    Continue reading
    Farmfoods2017-11-27
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid working at all costs!! Expect to be work and treated very badly and little time off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    15% Staff Discount, Good Staff Members In Stores, Annual Share Of Company Profits

    Cons

    Expect to be treated badly, little no staff atall, expect you to get everything done with minimum staff on shift and lack of hours, lack of progression, little time off between shifts

    Continue reading
    Farmfoods2017-11-20
Found 24 reviews