Farmfoods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Farmfoods Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 138 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
18%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Eric Herd
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "4 changes in store manager in the same time, and worked under 4 Area Managers also(in 22 reviews)

  • "Regular stock takes where you are bending over large freezers counting produce by hand (usually from 7-10pm)(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Farmfoods full-time

      Pros

      Good team behind you when you're working

      Cons

      The management does not have any leeway when it comes to shifts. You work too much

      Farmfoods2018-12-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Assistant Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Farmfoods full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Short, fairly flexible shifts. 15% staff discount. Staff help each other out. Progression is quite easy.

      Cons

      Once you’re promoted to either supervisor or assistant manager, even branch manager... you lose any flexibility and your home life becomes secondary. You’re expected to be in work at 5am having finished work at 9pm the night before, to put a 12 pallet delivery out with 3 members of staff, one of whom is constantly on the tills. The tills have no seats and are uncomfortably low down which gives you back ache every day...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get some more staff in your shops. It’s not fair to expect efficiency from two staff members who are stocking shelves, cleaning freezers, serving customers, stopping shoplifters, doing the cash handling and banking AND doing all this on 10p over minimum wage.

      Farmfoods2019-04-23
    • "Branch Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Farmfoods full-time

        Pros

        Staff discount, however very little

        Cons

        Not enough budget to staff properly, struggling to cover shifts

        Farmfoods2019-04-15
      • "Graduate scheme"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Graduate in Newcastle, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Farmfoods full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        None - do not make the mistake of working here!

        Cons

        It's only a scheme to save on wages and have someone in most of the time. Run around like a dog and not given breaks!

        Advice to Management

        Quit

        Farmfoods2019-04-23
      • "Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Farmfoods full-time

        Pros

        The colleagues are always positive even when up against the odds

        Cons

        Branch manager just scraping above minimum wage need I say more?

        Farmfoods2019-03-22
      • "Don't work here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Management Development Programmer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Farmfoods full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - staff, most of the staff are amazing to work with and do well

        Cons

        - working hours, they expect you to work stupidly long and will argue until you actually accept it. You are literally the last port of call and if you cannot find someone else to take over you, you have to stay all day - upper management are useless and do not support you at all, they expect you to actually enjoy your time or be part of the team but offer no support for your time - values, they promote their values...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        You need to sort your company structure out and employ people who actually care for your staff rather than objectives.

        Farmfoods2019-03-12
      • "Awful company!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Supervisor in Sheffield, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Farmfoods part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Staff discount, Other team members, Christmas bonus

        Cons

        Nowhere near enough staff to run a shop, Working 1-1 mostly, No security, Nothing you do is good enough, Never get proper breaks (apart from smokers!) Constantly breaking employment law. .

        Advice to Management

        Re-evaluate the workload for staff members and allow store managers to use enough hours/employ enough staff to actually run a shop without working those employed into an early grave!

        Farmfoods2019-03-13
      • "Good first job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Cardiff, Wales
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Farmfoods part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Discount and different tasks to do during a shift. Learnt a lot of new skills and confidence whilst working here.

        Cons

        Always be rotated for shifts I would never agree to do. Customers weren't very nice and management wouldn't stick up for staff.

        Farmfoods2019-02-02
      • "Decent for part-time work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Farmfoods part-time

        Pros

        - Flexible - Close commute (for me, personally, hence why I upped up my rating) - Friendly colleagues + It's a relaxed environment due to the people I worked with, especially when the store was quiet. - Discount

        Cons

        - Ridiculously overworked whilst constantly short-staffed (typically only 2-3 people working in the store, even during busy periods) - Always poor stock orders; many items are ordered when they simply don't have to be, and then they ask we fill up as much as possible when the freezers are already full. If they're full, then we must 'bury' items in freezers with space. - They expect too much, e.g. one person has to...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop over-working your staff, they aren't machines. Stop being so concerned about saving costs to the point where you have only 2-3 staff members maintain the store on a frequent basis. Also invest in security, you have other smaller stores in the vicinity who do, and these stores don't earn as much as Farmfoods - so it is beyond me why this isn't even considered.

        Farmfoods2019-01-21
      • "retail assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Farmfoods full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        15% staff discount is above average

        Cons

        stocktakes on saturday nights over run

        Farmfoods2019-02-07
      Found 138 reviews