Farmfoods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Farmfoods Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
40%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Farmfoods CEO Eric Herd (no image)
Eric Herd
54 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Everything that goes wrong is the area managers fault(in 23 reviews)

  • "The pay is actually not too bad but due to the long hours it needs improving(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount is brilliant and my team are great!

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep being good people!

    Farmfoods2019-12-07
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Paisley, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Progression oppotunities Great atmosphere

    Cons

    No bank holidays Long hours

    Farmfoods2020-01-04
  3. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods part-time

    Pros

    Good management. Not too demanding.

    Cons

    Not much to do when it's quiet

    Farmfoods2020-01-04
  4. "Could be a lot worse at other companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work atmosphere and rewarding

    Cons

    Can be hard work at times

    Advice to Management

    Keep motivated

    Farmfoods2019-12-17
  5. "Shop assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Ribchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like farmfoods allways run well and very good customer service

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about farmfoods

    Advice to Management

    Yes

    Farmfoods2020-01-16
  6. "NEVER IN MY LIFE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Handsworth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Payment Some ok members of staff

    Cons

    Clear promotion by privilege ethos Area managers pass false rotas to head office and breach working hours laws Continuously running on lowest amount of staff possible Too much work for the rate of pay No clear leadership or direction shown from senior management Constant store thefts with no security and staff at constant risk

    Advice to Management

    A complete reform is needed to make this company better. It is clear that favoritism runs deep within the company and that there is no care for the staff and their lives. Information is clearly being changed before being passed to HR as the rotas in store do not match the records on file at HR. This is the worst company i've ever worked for in my life with the worst company management I have ever seen.

    Farmfoods2020-01-07
  7. "Poor business model makes life very hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff (but only because hard times bring people together)

    Cons

    •Overworked 60hrs+ •Only 1 day off a week most weeks due to lack management staff •No time back for overworking •Pay is a joke for what you do •Reducing delivery days so days when you do receive stock it's so much it can't be done with the amount of hours they give you •Insane amount of stocktakes even though results don't change •Threat of violence and abuse from customers and shoplifters daily (8 a day easily) •••No joke! Higher management will come in to do a visit and moan about leaves in the carpark and send someone you can't spare outside for an hour to sweep them up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you enjoy pointless and a countless number of procedure's that have zero impact other than wasting your time and you enjoy sweeping leaves at 6am in the cold "because customers won't shop here if there are leaves" and love to count rice every other Saturday night until 1am then this is the job for you!

    Farmfoods2020-01-04
  8. "I did an interview questions: where do you see yourself in 5 years describe your self what do you know about the compa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Farmfoods

    Pros

    lovely people and good atmosphere

    Cons

    I do not have any

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    Farmfoods2019-11-04
  9. "Avoid at all cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Longbenton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount Staff friendly Holiday When manager wasn’t in

    Cons

    Manager is a BULLY, lazy and a lair Long hours No praise

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the bad apple and the shop will be a good place to work!!!!

    Farmfoods2019-12-06
  10. "Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Sefton, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Farmfoods part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible sometimes. nice staff of all ages

    Cons

    Always understaffed but they weren't allowed to hire more people, stock take, having to tie hair up when there was no open food, managers didn't communicate

    Advice to Management

    Employ more staff. Get outside company to do their stock take.

    Farmfoods2019-11-27
Found 161 reviews