Farmfoods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Farmfoods Reviews

Updated 9 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Farmfoods CEO Eric Herd (no image)
Eric Herd
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "4 changes in store manager in the same time, and worked under 4 Area Managers also(in 23 reviews)

  • "Long hours, overworked and unrealistic targets(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Chorley, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team Flexible when dealing with personal problems Hours to suit and always extra hours if you wanted Helping customers and delivering good customer service. Management care for all employees Career advancement available

    Cons

    I havnt come across any

    Advice to Management

    Great job

    Farmfoods2019-08-11
  2. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are generally good

    Cons

    Corrupt managers do what they want get away with it

    Farmfoods2019-10-09
  3. "Disapointed with leave policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Class I Driver in Cumbernauld, Scotland

    I have been working at Farmfoods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is above average for area There will be new working conditions There is a clear rota system so you know when you are working and is fair for everyone although does include weekends

    Cons

    No annual leave at christmas at all. even though booked prior to starting, is for family reasons and I would normally take all my leave in February/march which is normally quietest time for them. seemed like shooting themselves in the foot

    Advice to Management

    have a bit of flexibility in leave system

    Farmfoods2019-09-26
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Grays, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Farmfoods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    set shifts, friendly staff, room for working up

    Cons

    bad management, long hours, low pay

    Farmfoods2019-09-18
  5. "Good job for hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good working hours discount given

    Cons

    Minimum wage No chairs to sit on

    Advice to Management

    increase the wages

    Farmfoods2019-09-14
  6. "DO NOT APPLY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Weston-super-Mare, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    15% discount on top of deals, Sunday evenings off

    Cons

    Applied for retail assistant, was given supervisor and thought great! How was I WRONG. The first week I was there I was praised for my hard work but after that all I was was shot down by my manager about all the things I didn’t do yet I wasn’t told on how to improve so had to work it out for myself. Was constantly criticised, slagged off and looked at weird, even though at the beginning when I first got the job the... manager said that everyone was honest and truthful to each other. Typical day here if I got in at 3pm and closed the shop is: accept delivery, work all pallets of delivery (1 chilled, 3-4 frozen, 8+ dry on average), cash up, face up the ENTIRE store, check that meat is rotated, check for any out of dates, count the bread, tidy the warehouse, print off any new labels of price changes, count the items that we had of the new labels, make sure the checkout is tidy, all bulk stacks are refilled, do at least 3 defrosts and also check to make sure the retail assistant has done all of their jobs properly. The targets are unrealistic; the shop takes £70k a week and 5 days a week you’re expected to do all of the things above standards of the manager that are higher than Bob Marley. I can’t come into work and be at the same standard every day it’s impossible, we are not robots! Horrendously understaffed but still expected to be doing your job and more twice as fast, however if you don't then supposedly the area manager will cut hours/staff members to teach you a lesson!! Go figure!! Was told that the retail assistants only work as fast as the manager on delivery and if I’m slow they’re slow! Oh and they always need praise to make them work better! Sorry but I’m not praising staff for simply doing their job. They're paid to do their job properly and as management I cannot have eyes in the back of my head all the time. Job is extremely repetitive and nowhere near as customer focused as it should be. You’re told to be fast serving customers at the checkouts so don’t expect to have a decent conversation with them. It’s a case of “here’s your shopping, pay £xx.xx and go away”. You feel like you’re working delivery and facing up the store for no reason whatsoever. Got told to go faster so I do, then I get told to slow down because I'm going too fast! Working here actually killed my brain cells; not to mention working with male teenagers who just want to mess about all the time yet they get away with everything because the manager brown noses the ones that (somehow, god know why) have stayed longer than 6 months Never in my life has a job reduced me to tears and made me feel so worthless and mentally drained, I thought I wasn’t capable but now I realise it’s not me but the other lazy staff members, abysmal management and the company policies. DO. NOT. APPLY. HERE!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    stop expecting the lower staff to do all the work while you chain smoke and sit on the phone all day complaining about how nobody supposedly does the job, you’re the reason there’s such a high turnover of staff.

    Farmfoods2019-10-09
  7. "Very basic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount and room for progression.

    Cons

    Very basic in every way possible.

    Farmfoods2019-07-16
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Farmfoods full-time

    Pros

    None

    Cons

    Long hours, overworked and unrealistic targets

    Farmfoods2019-07-07
  9. "Yes no what do you mean"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Farmfoods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice food and uniform and discount

    Cons

    Supermarket is always cold because of the freezers

    Farmfoods2019-07-04
  10. "Slavemongers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Mitcham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Farmfoods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    15% discount on staff purchases

    Cons

    Low pay but expected to work harder than other companies. Be prepared to lose your social life, you could end up working every saturday night till at least 10pm

    Farmfoods2019-07-23
Found 151 reviews