Fast Enterprises Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Fast Enterprises Reviews

Updated 13 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 677 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Fast Enterprises CEO Martin Rankin
Martin Rankin
598 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay, great benefits, responsive management, good coworkers and happy clients(in 79 reviews)

  • "Paid overtime, which is pretty silly at these salaries(in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • "Relocation can sometimes be seen as a negative factor however many people prefer the change in scenery/environment(in 120 reviews)

  • "Might have to work long hours from time to time(in 63 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fast Enterprises full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast is great. They truly care about their employees. They also do a great job hiring people who will be a good culture fit. Having sites all across the US, it gives you a great opportunity to live and see places that you might not ever have experienced otherwise. Great pay, benefits, and management.

    Cons

    Coming from a CS background, I felt that the majority of what I had learned during college was not needed to perform the job duties. Also, with the limited technologies we used on site (VB.NET and SQL Server), I felt that the longer I stayed with the company, the harder it would be to get a job that required experience with other tech stacks. This wouldn't be a problem if you wanted to stay with Fast your entire career, but sometimes that might not be in the best interest of your family when having to move every 3-4 years.

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-08-13
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great company with great benefits, but hard to settle down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fast Enterprises full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    FAST takes care of it's employees. We get a annual work trip where they allow us to bring families/significant others. We are encouraged to get out and do fun things together as well as give back to our communities.

    Cons

    FASTs business model relies on people relocating. When you are ready to settle down in one place you are punished financially. They decrease your pay very significantly. They do try to make it gradual but it is still very painful. We work in government offices, so very few of the fancy office perks you see with a lot of other tech companies.

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-08-01

    Fast Enterprises Response

    August 14, 2019HR

    First and foremost, thank you for your constructive feedback and your many years of service. We recognize relocation can be difficult and are open to ideas on how to make it easier. We believe one of the first steps to addressing concerns is to understand the situation from as many perspectives as possible. To that end, maybe an analogy will help with a different perspective. You are the manager of a minor league baseball team and you have a budget of $100,000 to pay for your pitchers. You hire two pitchers of comparable skill and pay them each $50,000. They split the season’s games evenly between them, some games at home, other games away. One day, pitcher #1 says, “I don’t want to be on the road anymore. I want to settle down. No more away games for me.” Is it fair for the pitchers to be paid the same, when one of them does half the job as the other, half the job they both originally committed to? If pitcher #1’s salary is nominally changed, would that lead #2 to think, “You mean I can do half my job I was hired for, and still get close to my full pay? I think I’ll settle down too!” Your team is now without pitchers for away games and you don’t have enough money to get another one. FAST delivers on its promises to clients: install a system in a fixed time frame for a fixed cost, and then move on. Unlike many of our competitors, our projects are successful and they come to an end, so relocation is a necessity. Relocation is part of the job, and that is made clear from the beginning. To decide that you won’t/can’t do part of the job you were hired for is not a small matter. FAST recognizes that a big part of what makes us great is our people. We value them not only as resources to get work done, but as our friends. We want to keep them. We appreciate that life happens, and over time people may want to settle down. The concept of “assignability” in the salary structure was developed so that people could both stay with FAST AND settle down. However, that solution does result in a burden/consequence that must be borne by both FAST and the employee. We do appreciate your concern. It is worth discussing what proportion of overall salary is “assignability”, and we hope that’s something you feel comfortable raising with a Partner or HR. As always, we welcome other creative ideas that consider situations from all angles.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant in Olympia, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fast Enterprises full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay Free events and paid-for conferences Diverse background of people to work with. What you do feels like it matters. Lots of community involvement activities provided. Benefits are fantastic. The job is definitely 'work smart, not hard' mantra. Tools are given to succeed! Most people that FAST hires are great people who act like dorks (which is amazing). Some people think we don't program, we still develop and code everyday! It's just not the only thing we do.

    Cons

    Obviously, the job revolves around that you have to be willing and wanting to move periodically. Some people tout that this is the best company to work with and that no other exists. While that it is not true, there are few companies that offer all of these benefits. Most jobs within the company, you work with/around State agencies. There is a lot of scrutiny in what you do and say around them.

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great job with potential personal career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Training Coordinator in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fast Enterprises full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    During my almost year with FAST I have had the opportunity to learn and grow more than I could ever think. Every lead I have had the opportunity to work under has given me the space to explore my interests and pushes me to succeed. There is a culture of community at FAST and everybody is willing to come together to produce results.

    Cons

    - I think one of the biggest cons is the uncertainty of where and when you will be re-located. Especially for the training coordinator position, since we are usually only on active rollout sites, we move around a lot and there is even more uncertainty. - Also as a training coordinator, it seems like you are either extremely busy or extremely slow. There is not really a middle option where there are constantly things to do.

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-07-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Puts a lot of effort into keeping employees happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fast Enterprises full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Daily work consists of a wide range of problem solving that varies from day to day. Great company culture that focuses on solving issues rather than finding blame. I personally love the flat organization and the faster development timelines which leads to less "red tape" and less analysis paralysis. Virtually all coworkers are very competent and have good attitudes. Good efforts for charities and cultural outreach programs. Flying everyone out for an annual group meeting does great things for not feeling isolated to your site.

    Cons

    Code leans towards "fast and dirty". Capacity for furthering/continuing education is limited to literally <4 hours during the annual meeting once per year.

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-07-08
  6. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fast Enterprises full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They care about you as an individual Very friendly and welcoming Teaches you to think for yourself

    Cons

    Moving around feels random and unnecessary A HUGE learning curve to get started

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-07-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Dedicate your life to Fast or get out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fast Enterprises full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is above market average if you are in a small town. Health insurance is pretty great.

    Cons

    You will dedicate your life to this company. During crunch time (up to half a year at a time) you will be in the office from sun up to sun down, including the weekends. Even if you are not in crunch, you are constantly moved to new sites with no advanced notice, so don’t bother making connections outside of fast. I hope you like drinking, because this company has a frat like culture when it comes to “optional” team outings. Drink until you can’t anymore or risk being an outcast in the office. The company response below will say that drinking is just one way to bond with coworkers here, that is not true. You will be an outcast. The pay is only above market average for a developer in small towns. If you happen to get assigned to a larger city, it will be pretty par for the course. You will have no transferable technical skills after working here. Everything they do is proprietary, including version control, data structures, front end design. It’s all VB.net which is not impressive in an interview. As for the transferable people skills, they are skills that you can develop at any job in which you aren’t working in complete isolation. No 401k matching.

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-08-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "FAST is amazing and is a great start for people entering the job market after school!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fast Enterprises full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are A TON of pros to this company, and I think that even some of the Cons I may have can be viewed as Pros. 1. They take care of their people and appreciate the work we do. The partners, directors, associate partners, everyone. They appreciate what all of us with the company do and how hard we all work to get our jobs done. I think it is rare to find such a supportive and appreciative company where that mentality stems from the top and trickles down well. 2. This may go off of my #1, but because they appreciate what we do, they take care of us well. The benefits are great and they know that our time is valuable, so they show their appreciation for our overtime well, especially compared to other companies. 3. The moving culture adds a lot to the company. Depending on your viewpoint, this can also be a con, but hey, if you are young and able/willing to move, this is a great opportunity. You meet new people, experience new cultures, learn new things, and this job will help get you out of your comfort zone. I could go on, there are so many positive things to say about FAST. Thank you to the partners and everyone else for doing all you do to make us feel valued. Those feelings are reciprocated.

    Cons

    These cons, depending on how you look at them, can also be pros. Some of them are also very understandable given the nature of the work... 1. You work a lot. If you are looking for a 9-5 that will give you every weekend off, it may be best to look elsewhere. Though that may happen at times, you will have other weeks where you are super swamped. Given your job will be very project based, if this variance in work hours sounds like it is not for you, might be best to look for a job somewhere else. 2. Sometimes you will be micromanaged. I appreciate my independence, so micromanagement is not something I (nor anyone) appreciates. However, given the younger demographic of the employees with FAST, it is easy to see why micromanagement is seen as necessary by leads. Things really just depend here though. One person may use a micro managerial management style while others may assume they have a team of independent workers. It will vary. 3. I think majority of reviews list this somewhere, but with my situation it falls into the con category. You move! I found my home where I am, and for some personal reasons I don't want to leave. When you sign up to work for FAST, you know that moving is a part of the culture, which is fine for many people. If you have a family, or a house, or a pet, however, moving becomes harder. They make your moves as easy as possible, but I don't think they are ever super easy. If you can move no problem, then hey, great. If you are like me and want to stay in an area for at least a few years, this may not be the best job for you. I will say that you could probably approach management about this though, I am sure they would try to work out a plan that works well for you, but moving is what you sign up for. I don't know how much flexibility is offered. 4. Reverse feedback is not really that appreciated, at least in my experience. Perhaps make reverse feedback a larger part of company culture, and make it appreciated more. I think everyone has something valuable to offer but sometimes newer/younger people feel like they can't always voice their opinions. Of course, right time right place comes into play here, but I have seen some good thoughts, plans, opinions, and work ethic squashed because someone else thought they just knew better. 5. I think some newer technology is not used they way it could be, but given the work FAST does it makes sense. It would never make sense to use the newest fad tech doing government systems, but I do think there are areas of improvement for this. I respect what is done, highly, and their proven track record shows that they know what they are doing. Maybe newer tech in less risky areas (interviews, training, etc) might help with some of the chatter about this.

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-07-15

    Fast Enterprises Response

    July 23, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your feedback is both thoughtful and constructive. We are especially happy that you feel appreciated and supported by our senior leadership. The Partners at FAST say that our people are our best asset and work hard to reward employees for their contributions. It is also great that you have enjoyed relocating with FAST, meeting new people and experiencing new areas. We agree that relocation adds to our company culture and plays a key part in our success. On “working a lot”: Leaders are often the ones who work not only the smartest, but also the hardest. FAST is the leader in this industry. We hope that FASTies are proud to be part of something special and unique, and that they recognize that their hard work helps keep us on this path. Someone for whom a 40-hr standard work week, and 100% predictability are the priority may not be a good match with FAST. That said, we recognize work/life balance is important to sustaining our success. We appreciate that everyone needs time to rest and re-energize. If a FASTie feels they need that break, we encourage them to speak openly with their supervisor, HR or a Partner. Not all projects are at the same stage in their life-cycle, and their “busy times” will differ. One way to improve work/life balance is to increase the size of our teams to help meet the growing demand for our products and services. To this end, FAST continues to recruit aggressively. However, we also want to ensure that our methodology, culture and the quality of our work are preserved as we grow. On “micromanagement”: It is a delicate balance to provide guidance for employees who desire or need it without “micromanaging”. To a certain degree, trust has to be earned with each new person we work with. FASTies relocate and teams are dissembled/reassembled, so we get a lot of practice building trust. When we work with new people, it also takes time for people’s expectations of one another to “sync up”. Sometimes these things can be interpreted as “micromanaging”. Generally, we believe that autonomy comes with trust, and trust comes with performance. FAST hires smart people who can be trusted and ultimately, we want to give all FASTies appropriate guidance, so they feel supported. If you feel this guidance is unnecessary or otherwise unproductive, then we encourage you to discuss that with your lead, PM, or HR. On moving: You are correct that employees do not have complete control over their work location. That is the nature of consulting—clients choose consultants, not the other way around. We do understand that employees can development attachments to certain locations for many reasons—relationships, children, spouses’ careers, or just feeling “at home”. So we’ve developed mechanisms to allow people to suspend their work travel and stay at particular locations. FAST certainly takes employee preferences into consideration so we encourage you to talk to your PM and HR about your specific situation. We do our best to work with our employees to find mutually beneficial solutions. The first step is to communicate. On reverse feedback: We believe in constructive conversations between FASTies with a genuine interest in improving the company and its employees. We give all employees an mechanism to give more formal feedback through our internal tools (FCR, FAST 5). We also feel feedback should be happening daily, in “real time” by people just talking to one another and sharing perspectives. In your situation, if you feel your team lead was not open to feedback, we encourage you to talk with your PM. If your feedback is relating to your experience with a PM/Director then we encourage you to speak with HR or a Partner, with whom FASTies can always speak openly and confidentially. On our technology: Our system is constantly evolving. Our objective is to provide functionally rich, reliable and affordable software to government clients. We will take advantage of any technologies that help us achieve those goals. However, because the governments are massive enterprises upon whose services millions of citizens rely, we emphasize functionality, reliability and stability over jumping on emergent tech. Many of our competitors in this industry have failed doing just that. We appreciate every business must evolve to remain viable, but it is important that we evolve our use of technology not just for technology’s sake, and that we always remember the citizens we serve. This approach has proven to be extremely valuable to our clients, while also providing FASTies with a rich environment in which to develop their technical skills. We appreciate your idea on how to expand the technology we expose our staff to. It would still affect a relatively small number of people, though. However, please keep the ideas coming. It is through these constructive ideas that the company evolves!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Work May Vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant in Olympia, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fast Enterprises full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As an employee you are taken care of. In my experience management has gone above and beyond to organize events and team activities to keep morale high.

    Cons

    Work load seem to be severely unbalanced at times and management doesnt seem to do much to even things out. Each project seems to be split into several sub-teams, and if you are assigned to a particular team. If you are assigned to a team that has a much higher demand than the others, be prepared to watch your fellow coworkers come and go for core business hours while you are working early morning hours and later into the evening. On the other hand we get paid overtime.

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-07-15
  10. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fast Enterprises full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your work is appreciated, the working environment has been fun yet professional, and you're compensated fairly.

    Cons

    The company has grown tremendously over the past decade, making it harder for new employees to stand out in the crowd.

    Continue reading
    Fast Enterprises2019-07-01
Found 677 reviews