Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Reviews

Updated 2 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 305 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Christopher Wray
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best law enforcement agency in the world(in 18 reviews)

  • "Protecting the American people and the Constitution is a great mission(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours; sometimes dangerous assignments(in 14 reviews)

  • "NSA pays their scientists a STEM bonus to keep them from leaving to private sector(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best job in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Special Agent in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I get to carry a gun and take part in raids and stings and put bad people in the jail

    Cons

    The long hours.Sometimes I won't see my family for 2 or 3 days

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work that's you do boss's

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2013-06-29
  2. "A job with a purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisory Special Agent in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Important mission to promote rule of law

    Cons

    Irregular hours and location assignments

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2019-07-03
  3. "Fantastic career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, amazing mission, lots of different job roles and functions, great mobility, good benefits

    Cons

    Pay is capped, no bonuses, administrative burden, some out dated operating systems.

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2019-06-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good career but no room for moving up if a non agent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great retirement system and health benefits.

    Cons

    Hard to advance if not a Special Agent.

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2019-06-15
  5. "It's what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Language Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Mission oriented - Work alongside some truly brilliant and selfless individuals - A real plethora of career paths and opportunities - Decent benefits, flexible schedule options and time off

    Cons

    - Very invasive TS clearance process, be ready to bare all, keep nothing in the closet and always represent the organization wherever you go. - Salaries still not keeping up with the private sector, which is especially acute in technical specializations where turnover is steep.

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2019-06-14
  6. "Best Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FBI Special Agent in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best Job I have ever worked

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a challenge at times

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2019-05-29
  7. "3 stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible, benefits, rewarding

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, management, must move, top pay

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2019-06-02
  8. "Getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Specialist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Plenty of work and job security, great friends

    Cons

    Zero accountability, leadership employs cronyism, lack of vision, focus is not on improving production but petty policies that have entire squad furious and without loyalty. We are losing squad members because the leadership is absent, leadership is never leading but micromanaging from a distance. Favorites get special treatment that has reduced morale and has everyone looking for new positions. This year alone we will...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a close look at the leadership in our squad, look at who hasn't received a leadership review, look at the last inspection report and see if anything changed, look at who left the squad and who is leaving, the leadership is absent and we have had it, our squad is failing fast.

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2019-06-01
  9. "Special Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Agent in Florence, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome, challenging and rewarding career with a great salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to report. You would not regret working for the FBI!

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2019-05-12
  10. "Serve your country"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Supervisory Special Agent 

      I worked at Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) full-time

      Pros

      Awesome team to work with!

      Cons

      Political agenda cancer has entered into the esteemed agency.

      Advice to Management

      Go back to old school truth and justice and win back the hearts of Americans who depend on the FBI to always do it right.

      Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)2019-05-13
    Found 305 reviews