Fidelity International Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Fidelity International Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Fidelity International CEO Anne Richards (no image)
Anne Richards
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good team overshadowed by middle mgmt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong research team with good working culture. Some PMs are excellent.

    Cons

    Numerous middle management layers, quite bureaucratic.

    Advice to Management

    Get leaner in the middle management layer and be more decisive in transitions.

    Fidelity International2019-09-07
  2. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity International full-time

    Pros

    The opportunities to change roles are there if you want them Flexible working options available Mature processes in place

    Cons

    Silo mentality persists between teams Lower progression options if management is in a different location Unless you're on high visibility projects promotion chances are slim

    Advice to Management

    Lots of middle management layers that could be removed to help progress improvements faster

    Fidelity International2019-10-23
  3. "Fund Accounting Oversight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reigate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance local to home

    Cons

    Lack of recognition no room for advancement

    Fidelity International2019-10-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Global yet Traditional."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity International

    Pros

    Nice place to work Some very smart people with open collaborated environment, if you have something to say people listen

    Cons

    Enormous size with various integrated business

    Advice to Management

    Proactive and tenacious

    Fidelity International2019-10-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in

    Cons

    Internal salary increases are poor

    Fidelity International2019-10-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "General note"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration in Kingswood, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fidelity International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Well meaning employer, excellent fund manager.

    Cons

    Poor systems and IT structure in UK.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in UK business and IT management, it’ll make the business better.

    Fidelity International2019-10-02
  7. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Producer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fidelity International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere and encouragement from senior leaders

    Cons

    None what so ever I think

    Fidelity International2019-10-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great starting point and one of the better of the huge investment company’s out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in Lower Kingswood, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fidelity International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - the way client services is set up you can have no clue about investments but have great opportunity to enter the industry and learn through the job role - The majority of people within the client services team are great and you can have some real fun times even though you are taking calls all day - canteen (food is usually food is quite and cheap!!) - car park - I think the company do try their best to listen to... the teams but it is not always the case and at times it can be frustrating but working at other companies you realise fidelity do try - you have many routes you can take progress and love forward with your career but like anything have to be determined and put the work in, networking opportunity across many differences departments at fidelity. or manage to get there in other ways which is not a lot of people but there is definitely a good few who think others can’t see their ways..........but they do - the 3 different shift patterns worked well for me on the phones - overtime was usually available which is handy - coaches to and from public train stations - nice and clean grounds/ working environment

    Show More

    Cons

    - there is definitely a good few people in client Services who have managed to, and sadly allowed to form this ‘superior click’ that seem to always have everything go their way - which can get frustrating at times as you feel held back - the salary for the phones role when I left was not that great but can’t comment on what they pay now - progression can seem slow if you do not push yourself - Variety In the role,... work days, not really being allowed to manage your time by yourself. Being on calls all day. after I left I found it strange getting used to the amount of freedom I had - the way they handled discipliners for being sick and not hitting the targets they set you. For me it’s ridiculous and no way worth the money you get paid for the constant nagging you get for from some dsa and managers. I dont have to promote or sell my current employer in anyway sort of way and get a healthy amount more each month than I did on the phones.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t hold people back from spreading their career wings and even if that means client Services losing a very good employee. It’s about the bigger picture I guess. Also give people the opportunity if they seek as you may be surprised by what people can produce when given opportunity. The whole disciplinary / bonus scheme or regime is out of date and you’ve lost many great employees and potential future leaders by... scheme. When we used to talk about the way the disciplinary scheme as associates it demotivated us and for some worried them about losing a job for one day extra sickness! we sat it out until we had gained enough experience in the industry to then apply to competition or the financial advisers that we spoke to. As that always holds you back in progressing to dsa or another role. Just seemed to me like an unfair failing system.

    Show More
    Fidelity International2019-09-23
  9. "Speaking up culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Fidelity International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good employee benefits Work culture in line with international companies

    Cons

    Even though they promote ‘speaking up environment’ they do not take serious actions on complaints on harassment and bullying seriously.

    Fidelity International2019-10-08
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 

    I have been working at Fidelity International full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is good

    Cons

    Middle management dont always have the same values as higher management

    Fidelity International2019-09-22
Found 591 reviews