Finish Line Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
60%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Finish Line Chairman & CEO Glenn S. Lyon
Glenn S. Lyon
465 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The path towards a promotion can be difficult to get outlined by upper management(in 45 reviews)

  • "Long hours and some of muscular pain(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Areas to improve but overall, a really great place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Strategist in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Finish Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Absolutely the best work/life balance I've ever had. Encouraged by leadership to take time for my wedding, for my partner's surgery, etc. There is a flexible schedule policy as well, so you never feel guilty or like you'll need to take time off just to go to the doctor's office, take your car in for service, etc. For such a big corporate company, their flexibility is really great. -Unlimited PTO -Great salaries. -Great deals on shoes! -Really can feel like a family!

    Cons

    -Communication is definitely a hurdle. There are a lot of people that work at the digital office, so sometimes you're at a loss if you are accidentally left off of an email or a meeting where you had an action item. -Depending on your team, it can be difficult to get a promotion no matter how long you've been there or how hard you work or how many hours you put in. Other teams seem to be promoted left and right, while some teams never see promotions. Not sure if this is the leadership of the team or other factors, but it's definitely something to take note of. -The path towards a promotion can be difficult to get outlined by upper management. -The unlimited PTO policy kind of depends on teams as well... some times are really encouraging and want you to have a true rest from work, while other teams won't let you take more than 1 week at a time. -Those that WFH can be difficult to get a hold of. This is not company wide, as a lot of people that WFH were great to work with... just a few bad apples which should be addressed (hopefully). -Sometimes there is office gossip, but what place doesn't have that?

    Continue reading
    Finish Line2020-01-09
  2. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Rochester Hills, MI
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Finish Line full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, growth potential

    Cons

    Upper management beyond district level

    Finish Line2019-10-20
  3. "Review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Naples, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Finish Line full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    Upper management demands results with out support. Regardless if the store does good or bad pressure is applied to employees.

    Continue reading
    Finish Line2019-05-13
  4. "No opportunity for growth"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Finish Line part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only pros are the customers especially my regulars and the discount

    Cons

    -Upper management -no room for growth or development -sexism is a huge issue within this company - more qualified than male coworkers, but who not be offered raises/ promotions -although I am a sales associate I would perform managerial tasks, but my pay would not reflect my responsibilities.

    Continue reading
    Finish Line2019-04-26
  5. "Finishline"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 

    I have been working at Finish Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Upbeat easy going job that provides decent benefits

    Cons

    Long hours, poor upper management, bonuses slowly disappeared. No commission.

    Finish Line2019-03-13
  6. "Store Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Finish Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Knowledge of latest shoes and clothing. Opportunity for bonuses at management level. Flexible schedule(unless you're management). Full benefits structure. Fast-paced atmosphere. Opportunity to make additional money through bonus program.

    Cons

    Long hours. High turnover. Sometimes DM's and above do not or have not had experience running a store themselves. This creates a disconnect between store management and upper management as they forget or do not know the daily struggles of running a retail store.

    Continue reading
    Finish Line2018-08-14
  7. "Poor management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Finish Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount on shoes. Associates are good workers. Good to take advantage of corporate benefits like CrossFit gym and breakroom with games.

    Cons

    Upper management is very biased based on who they are friends with. High turnover in middle management is proof of this.

    Continue reading
    Finish Line2018-04-19
  8. "Sales"

    4.0
     

    I worked at Finish Line

    Pros

    Good work place for young people

    Cons

    Upper management. Needs to not be as strict

    Finish Line2018-02-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Okay place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Finish Line full-time

    Pros

    - A lot of great people to work with - Good benefits

    Cons

    - no upward movement - boys club - they say they are work/life balance, but its very pick and choose who gets to take advantage of work/life balance. - upper management waste money on silly things, but decreases bonus and takes away events that employees look forward too.

    Continue reading
    Finish Line2017-08-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Retail/Finish Line"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Finish Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount Flexible hours Dress Code Free stuff from merchandisers

    Cons

    Retail Horrible upper management Unrealistic Expectations Vastly Under Paid

    Continue reading
    Finish Line2017-08-16
Found 45 reviews