First Central Reviews

Updated 5 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
First Central CEO  Michael Lee (no image)
Michael Lee
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent support of work life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with in all areas of the business and always lots of social events organised(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "parking in Haywards Heath is difficult, however train station is close(in 10 reviews)

  • "If your manager is in Haywards Health and you work in Manchester they act like you don't exist(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Build a Career at First Central, not just a Job!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Personal Assistant in Haywards Heath, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company. Good Values. Amazing People.

    Cons

    Nothing to record at this time

    First Central Response

    May 10, 2021Director

    Thank you for taking time to leave a great review of your experience here at First Central. It’s always fantastic to hear glowing feedback and I’m delighted that you see your role at First Central as more than just a job. It’s great that you’ve highlighted positive factors such as our company values and fellow colleagues. These values drive behaviours, decisions and motivation, and are at the core of everything that makes it so special to work at First Central – as well as our fantastic people of course! Thank you again for taking time to leave a review and for your continued work. Kind regards, Jo

  2. COVID-19

    "Great benefits and solid communiciation down the line - both ways."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Statistical Analyst in Haywards Heath, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good atmosphere, and excellent communication down the management line - both from management to you and from you to management. Adapted incredibly well to the pandemic and WFH, and shows full intent to take advantage of a more flexible approach to working in the future given the success experienced.

    Cons

    Can tend towards siloism between departments. Extremely high pace of growth often leaves processes a bit lacking and a lot of time can be spent catching up to ourselves.

    Continue reading

    First Central Response

    April 12, 2021Director

    Thank you very much for taking the time leave a positive and detailed review. It’s great to read about the number of factors that you feel makes First Central such a rewarding place to work, as well as share some valuable insight into your experience here. I’m glad to see that you appreciate the range of benefits we offer. We think it’s integral to care for our colleagues and strike an ideal balance between a healthy home and working life, and we feel our many benefits go a long way to achieving this. It’s also pleasing to see you highlight both the good atmosphere and excellent communication here, which we think are two elements that go hand in hand. With the potential disconnect created by the Coronavirus pandemic, keeping our staff engaged and up to date has been extremely important. The likes of regular business updates from our Exec team and a range of fun and interactive social events has been ideal in maintaining this atmosphere of clarity and enthusiasm. Thank you for sharing some useful advice and your concerns around certain areas. We hope that regular transparency will help to tackle any potential issues around siloism, something we think can be achieved through our interactive TownCall sessions. These are also great opportunities for our people to raise any other concerns, such as around workload and timescales, and I can assure you that we’re diligent in considering all of this feedback - thank you for sharing your viewpoint here. Thanks once again for your review and your continued work here at First Central. Kind regards, Jo


  3. "Made me go permanent - in a good way!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager in Manchester, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I cannot speak highly enough of First Central as an employer and having worked as a contractor for nearly two years, when the opportunity came up to join permanently it was the easiest decision I've had in years. First Central is a company with ambitious growth plans and is definitely on an upward trajectory. One of the key reasons for this is the quality and application of our colleagues which is supported by the great work that the HR, L&D and Comms teams do - putting colleagues at the heart of everything First Central wants to do. The executive are competent and work well together, which is reflected in the way the business plan is cascaded throughout the organisation - everyone understands what the importance of their role is to support and deliver success at First Central. The pay and benefits are good, in particular the 'non-standard' benefits like getting your birthday off work and the many free social events which are put on - these have been particularly important throughout the past 12 months. Overall I cannot say a bad word about the business or any colleagues - which is quite rare! I would encourage anyone looking to work in an exciting, growing company to consider First Central.

    Cons

    There are no Cons that I can think of.

    Continue reading

    First Central Response

    January 20, 2021Director

    Thanks for taking time to leave such a glowing and detailed review! It’s fantastic to hear how positive your experience is working here at First Central and it’s great to see you highlight a variety of factors that are very important to us. Thank you for subscribing so eagerly to the company’s ambitious growth plans, as well as showing your appreciation for the cohesion of the Executive team. It’s integral that during this period of ambitious development, everybody within the company understands their contribution, so it’s pleasing that you feel this is communicated well. The wellbeing of our colleagues is critical to us, especially in this difficult period created by Covid-19, so we’re glad to offer a range of benefits to aid with the likes of flexibility. I’m also pleased to see you highlight the continued efforts of our HR, Learning & Development and Communications teams, who have all made great efforts to keep our staff engaged and entertained despite our current virtual setup – I agree that the numerous events have been great fun! Thank you once again for your review and your continued efforts here at First Central. Kind regards, Jo

  4. "Excellent company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Monitoring Officer in Manchester, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for progression, lots of engagement and social activities and benefits. Good leadership team. Good salaries and flexible working is promoted.

    Cons

    Don’t have any cons to add

    First Central Response

    May 4, 2021Director

    Thank you for taking time to leave such a glowing review! It’s fantastic to hear how rewarding you find working at First Central and that you’ve identified a number of factors that make our company an excellent place to work. It’s great to see you highlight the opportunities our colleagues are given to progress in their careers and learning. At First Central, it’s extremely important to us that we give our people the tools to enhance their development, which is why we offer access to the likes of various bespoke learning platforms. The wellbeing of our colleagues is another essential focus at First Central, so I’m happy to see you highlight factors such as our engaging social events, our range of benefits and our flexible working policy. Maintaining a balance between work life and leisure time is key, so we hope that we provide our people the opportunity to do this. Thank you again for your great review and your continued efforts at First Central. Kind regards, Jo

  5. COVID-19

    "Friendly & forward thinking"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Handler in Manchester, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly from the outset, strong Learning and Development team with a focus on welcoming the new starters. I enjoyed the fact we are made to feel welcome and part of the team within the first day. The training is extremely thorough, and questions are encouraged. First week had lots of time to get to know people, meet with management, invited straight away to the anniversary event and double checked to make sure we got the invites. Genuinely a very friendly place, actively encouraging friendliness to everyone including colleagues, customers, and third parties. There is zero blame culture which is extremely refreshing. The work life balance is good. We have some colleagues who need to start late or have a non working day due to family commitments. Due to COVID we are all working from home, and everyone is very understanding if we need to answer the door, sort out the kids or see to barking dogs. It's really reassuring this has been taken into consideration.

    Cons

    It's only been my first week, and so far haven't come across any cons. Will update this review in the future if this comes about, as it's important to give a balanced feel. At present, happy to say no cons.

    Continue reading

    First Central Response

    September 16, 2020Director

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a glowing review. It’s fantastic to hear how welcomed you have felt as a new starter – we’re a friendly bunch and it’s great to know that even with the challenges of working remotely during the current climate, you’ve felt an instant connection with your colleagues! Colleague wellbeing is imperative to us, so allowing our people to achieve a good life-work balance is high on our agenda. This understanding is particularly important given the changes that the Covid-19 crisis has brought, and I’m very proud of how all our colleagues have managed to adapt to these complex circumstances and shown great support to one another in doing so. Equally important is allowing our people the opportunity to learn and grow, so I’m pleased that you’ve felt encouraged by the focus on learning and development during your introduction to First Central. Thank you once again for your review, it’s great to have you on board! Kind regards, Jo

  6. "FirstCentral Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Adviser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Central part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible, relatively easy work, opportunities to advance if that's what you want.

    Cons

    can be quite repetitive and the training is quite lackluster.

    Continue reading

    First Central Response

    March 9, 2021Director

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your experience working at First Central. I’m pleased to see that you’d recommend working here and that you’ve highlighted some of our key focuses among your pros. We love to provide our colleagues with flexibility to ensure they’re able to strike the ideal work-life balance, as we know this is essential to achieving positive wellbeing both at home and in work. Development is another primary focus here at First Central and we always encourage our people to pursue growth in their professional careers. I’m sorry to hear that you feel that on occasion, your work can feel quite repetitive. We always invite our colleagues to take the opportunity to approach different areas of the business in order to continue their learning, so if you think this is something which may interest you, it’s best to discuss this with your line manager. Thank you for highlighting your advice to management. Given the difficult circumstances that have been presented by Covid-19, we’re primarily working from home and missing that important connection we experience in the office. I feel really proud of how our colleagues have responded to these challenges and how well connected we’ve remained, particularly through regular department and business-wide communications and activities. Thanks again for your review and your continued efforts at First Central. Kind regards, Jo

  7. "Forward thinking"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time

    Pros

    A really great company to work for. Given the challenging times we are all working hard but being well looked after and kept safe at home. The business is growing and there are plenty of exciting projects in the pipeline for 2021 and beyond.

    Cons

    The volume of change is large and the timescales for these happening is short, this puts pressure on people. This is a challenge for some colleagues to keep up and for all the pieces to fit together.

    First Central Response

    January 26, 2021Director

    Thank you for taking time to leave such a positive review. It’s fantastic to hear that you feel First Central is a great company to work for, as we make a huge effort to ensure our people are happy, motivated and excited in their roles here. We’re proud of how well our colleagues have adapted to working within the current restrictions that are in place due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and I’m pleased to hear that you feel safe and looked after while working remotely. We have ambitious plans for the next few years and it’s pleasing to see that you’re excited to be part of a number of innovative and interesting projects over the next 12 months. Given the forward-thinking nature of our plans, I appreciate that the scale of our changes will bring many challenges alongside the exciting opportunities they present, and we hope our colleagues are able to strike an important balance between their work and home lives. Thank you again for your glowing review and your continued efforts here at First Central. Kind regards, Jo

  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Manager in Manchester, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time

    Pros

    Great plans for the future

    Cons

    None I can think of

    First Central Response

    March 1, 2021Director

    Thank you for taking time to leave a five-star review and share your positive experience of working here at First Central. It’s always fantastic to hear that our colleagues see this as a great place to work, as the wellbeing and positivity of our people is essential to us. We have some ambitious plans for the future and it’s very important to us that our colleagues are invested in this journey, so I’m happy to see that you’re excited to be part of these developments within the business. Thank you again for your review and your continued contribution at First Central. Kind regards, Jo

  9. "All about the numbers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Manchester, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits and holiday package 👍

    Cons

    Worked to the bone with no consideration for well being.

    Continue reading

    First Central Response

    March 12, 2021Director

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your experience of working here at First Central. I’m pleased to see you give a good rating and make a positive reference to some of the great things we offer our people. It’s fantastic that you enjoy the benefits and holiday package that we offer. It’s essential that we give our colleagues the opportunity to strike a good balance between their working life and their personal life, so factors such as a generous holiday package are just one of the ways we feel we’re able to achieve this. I’m sorry to hear that you feel you’ve seen no consideration for your and your colleagues’ wellbeing. This is something that’s very important to us, which is why we’ve introduced elements such as a flexible working policy, an engaged social events team and a wellbeing team which focuses on looking after the mental and physical wellbeing of our people. If you’d like to, you can approach and engage with these teams, or start by speaking to your Line Manager about any of your concerns. Thank you again for your review and for your continued contribution at First Central. Kind regards, Jo

  10. COVID-19

    "People Focused, Ambitious and Fun!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Haywards Heath, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have only been working at First Central for 6 months but I can honestly say it is the best company I have ever worked for. It is evident in everything they do that the well-being of colleagues really matter. The leadership team actively encourage continuous development in a supportive and constructive way. They also champion the importance of work life balance. I was particularly impressed with their response to the lock down. Within a matter of weeks, they ensured all colleagues had the appropriate equipment to work from home, provided the business with regular updates and provided swift assurances that no one would be furloughed. They have been great at boosting morale by offering interactive social activities such as bingo, escape rooms and pub quizzes. They host weekly webinars where the executives provide business updates, as well as updates around the covid19 situation. In Haywards Heath we are moving into a lovely new office post-lockdown which is really exciting too. I would highly recommend First Central as an employer to any of my friends and family - it is a great place to work!

    Cons

    There is limited parking (but that is the case generally in Haywards Heath), they do offer parking permits for the train station car park and the office is within walking distance too.

    Continue reading

    First Central Response

    June 19, 2020Director

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m delighted to hear that your time with us so far has been so positive. Our colleagues’ work-life balance is incredibly important, which is why we have a dedicated wellbeing team and trained mental health first aiders to provide support where necessary. As you mention, lockdown has been a challenging time for everyone and we’ve done all we can to reassure our colleagues and keep spirits up – I’m incredibly proud of how they've all coped. Now we can look ahead to moving into our new office in Haywards Heath! Thank you for your recommendation of First Central and your continued hard work and dedication. Kind regards, Jo

Viewing 1 - 10 of 128 Reviews

Popular Careers with First Central Job Seekers

Head of Marketing
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at First Central? Share Your Experiences

First Central logo
or