First Central Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

First Central Reviews

Updated 23 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
First Central CEO  Michael Lee (no image)
Michael Lee
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with in all areas of the business and always lots of social events organised(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "parking in Haywards Heath is difficult, however train station is close(in 9 reviews)

  • "If your manager is in Haywards Health and you work in Manchester they act like you don't exist(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company where hard work is recognised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Product in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to develop and progress. Great people. Strong Exec leadership team. A clear plan with balanced objectives. Great flexible working options.

    Cons

    Some challenges with culture remain from previous leadership (eg lack of diversity) but big improvements have been made

    Continue reading
    First Central2020-03-21

    First Central Response

    March 25, 2020Director

    Thanks so much for your glowing review. I agree, we do have some great people at First Central, and we’re proud of the opportunities we provide for our people to develop and progress. It’s true, we’ve had some challenges to overcome that remain from our previous leadership, but I hope you agree we’ve made some big steps to eradicate these and build a more positive colleague and customer-centric culture. Kind regards, Jo

    Continue reading
  2. "SHOCKING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Litigation Executive in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Central full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    NONE absolutely none ZILCH

    Cons

    EVERYTHING Absolutely everything I can’t think of any cons about working at this hell hole

    Continue reading
    First Central2020-03-23

    First Central Response

    March 25, 2020Director

    Thanks for your review. I’m sorry you left the company feeling so negatively about your time at First Central. If you’d like to discuss your feedback in more detail, please contact our HR team. Kind regards, Jo

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Handler in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits People Flexibility with working Development Growing

    Cons

    No major cons with the company

    Continue reading
    First Central2020-02-14

    First Central Response

    February 18, 2020Director

    Thanks so much for stopping by to leave us a review. It’s great to hear your positive outlook on working at First Central. We will, of course, continue to develop our colleagues as they are, without doubt, our biggest asset and the key to our success. Thanks again for your review and we appreciate your continued dedication to First Central. Kind regards Jo

    Continue reading
  4. "job in haywards heath"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cyber Security Analyst in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot if money is spent on the employees with benefits and work do's

    Cons

    Regular changes in executives

    First Central2020-02-05

    First Central Response

    February 7, 2020Director

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Our people are at the heart of everything we do, which is why we spend a considerable amount of time and money ensuring we have a happy and motivated workforce. As you mention, we’ve seen a few changes in our executive team over the last year, and they have each brought exciting new ideas and direction to the way we work. We’ll now start to see things settle as we focus on our long-term strategy and work together to achieve our goals as outlined in the five-year plan. I believe we now have a strong leadership team to help deliver our plans. Kind regards, Jo

    Continue reading
  5. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Central full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've made some lasting friendships there

    Cons

    They have a "sweep it under the rug" culture and lack discipline for unprofessional, unproductive employees which in turn decreases the motivation of those who are productive and ultimately end up leaving because they become miserable. The bonuses aren't great and every year the same letter goes out explaining why but then there have been some senior management who have been openly vocal about their bonus figures (and somehow disappointed with them) which ruins morale.

    Continue reading
    First Central2020-02-14

    First Central Response

    February 19, 2020Director

    Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you’ve made some lasting friendships here. I’m sorry to hear you feel there is a lack of discipline for unprofessional and unproductive colleagues. We encourage a culture of being transparent and taking accountability for our individual actions, so, it’s disappointing to hear you feel there are people who aren’t pulling their weight and bringing morale down. We’ve taken on board feedback relating to bonuses and incentives from our colleagues and are rolling out some great new additions, which will give tangible benefits to us all in growing the business. If you’d like to discuss your feedback in more detail, please contact our HR team. Kind regards, Jo

    Continue reading
  6. "Terrible environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Central full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great people work there Pay is ok, but bonus isn't great

    Cons

    * If your manager is in Haywards Health and you work in Manchester they act like you don't exist. * Feedback doesn't happen, positive or constructive. * Management only work upwards * Communication is none existent * A really negative environment to work in where people's behaviours do not mirror the 'values' at all but nothing is ever done * There are departments that block any good ideas to the point where people just become institutionalised. Like little robots doing as they are told

    Continue reading
    First Central2020-02-12

    First Central Response

    February 18, 2020Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry to hear you feel this way about your time at First Central. With multiple office locations, we recognise the need to be able to communicate effectively across all sites, which is why we implemented tools such as Skype and Microsoft Teams, to help colleagues to connect as much as possible. We encourage people to give constructive feedback at every opportunity, as well as asking for feedback when relevant, and this is reflected in the new appraisal process we brought in last year. We agree that colleagues at all levels are equally important, and this is something we strive to embed across the business. If you’d like to discuss your feedback in more detail, please contact our HR team. Kind regards, Jo

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been with the company for almost 10 years on a part-time basis working the school hours 4 days a week. The company have developed greatly during my time and is always looking at improving its service to the customer and employee. Great working environment, 25 days holiday and birthday off.

    Cons

    parking in Haywards Heath is difficult, however train station is close.

    Continue reading
    First Central2020-01-27

    First Central Response

    January 30, 2020Director

    Thank you very much for your review. It’s great to hear that you’ve been with First Central for so long and that you like the working environment and benefits we offer. We know parking is a frustration in Haywards Heath, which is why we’ve worked hard to provide as many parking opportunities as we can for our people, such as the introduction of the parking app so colleagues can release their space to others when it’s not being used. And, like you say, it’s handy that the train station is right on our doorstep. Thanks again for your comments and I hope you stay with First Central for many more years to come. Regards, Jo

    Continue reading
  8. "Promotes healthy work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time

    Pros

    Promotes a healthy work life balance for it's employees and genuinely cares about their well-being. Is happy to consider flexible working options and encourages travel in work hours which I found to be a refreshing change from previous experiences. Has expanded over a fairly short period, which gives greater opportunity for progression.

    Cons

    As it's a fairly young business (11 years), it's still catching up a little in some areas, so could be more structured with processes and procedures but this in itself could present opportunities. Training and development programmes for non-management staff and senior managers could be improved.

    Continue reading
    First Central2020-01-23

    First Central Response

    January 30, 2020Director

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a great review on First Central. It’s pleasing to hear that you value the way we promote a healthy work-life balance with the range of benefits we offer. We always strive to put our colleagues first – that’s why we want to ensure they’re healthy and happy! As you quite rightly point out, we’re still a young business and are continuously evolving. But we’re always keen to hear from our people in how we can improve our processes and procedures, so please get in touch if you have some suggestions. Our Learn platform has a variety of development programmes and courses available to all colleagues, so please take a look and sign up to ones you feel may benefit you. Regards, Jo

    Continue reading
  9. "First Central"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Claims Team Manager in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A forward thinking, collabortive company with ambitions for growth and to lead the market with innovation. A company that cares for it's people and has their best interests at the root of decision making. Best move i've made.

    Cons

    With plans for growth, this is a fast paced hardworking culture (This is rewarded through level progressions, office incentives and parties), but could be seen by some as a con.

    First Central2020-01-21

    First Central Response

    January 30, 2020Director

    Thanks very much for your fabulous review on First Central. I’m so pleased you believe it’s the best move you’ve made! Without doubt, our people are our biggest asset – they’re the key to our success – so it’s important that we put their best interests first. I agree, a fast-paced environment and hardworking culture aren’t for everyone, but given the opportunity, we allow our people to thrive. Regards, Jo

    Continue reading
  10. "Great First Impressions!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've so far worked here for 3 Months and i'm really enjoying it - Fast paced - Passionate teams - Flexible around working hours and WFH - Great opportunities to learn - Given the leeway to push back on deadlines and decide next steps without micromanagement - Approachable Senior Leadership team - Never a dull moment

    Cons

    - Pensions not great - Parking is an issue (But company has alleviated this issue with a pool of spaces that can be booked)

    Continue reading
    First Central2020-01-21

    First Central Response

    January 30, 2020Director

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear that your first three months have been so enjoyable. We listen to feedback from our people and are constantly looking at ways to further improve their work/life balance – hence our commitment to offering training and development to colleagues and the introduction of flexible working. I take on board your feedback regarding our pensions, and as a result, we’ll be increasing the pension percentage awarded for employee-grade colleagues, which will come into effect in April. As you pointed out, we’ve addressed the issue of parking in Haywards Heath by introducing an app where colleagues can release their parking space when it’s not being used, opening up availability for others. Regards, Jo P.S. I wholeheartedly agree that there’s never a dull moment!

    Continue reading
Found 91 reviews