First Central Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

First Central Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
First Central CEO Michael Lee (no image)
Michael Lee
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good benefits - such as a voluteering day(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Passionate people leaders and FUN central"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I've worked at the company for 9 years within various departments coming from a shop based sales role ,I quickly was taught about insurance from a professional,engaging learning team ! After three years in the business I wanted to try something new and was encouraged and supported by management - I took a role in HR with no experience! Was totally supported with various exams and on the job training from experienced... HR professionals ! My department are like my family and this is the general feel across the business ! We have Fun and passionate events planners who arrange a range of team building events outside and Inside of work which also raises large amounts of money for local charity ! I'm a part time employee now and the company completely supports me with my recent new job as a Mum! We currently have some new leaders on the senior leadership team who have brought a wealth of knowledge to 1st central so very exciting times !!

    Show More

    Cons

    Would be great to have a onsite baby creche

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing always remember the people !

    First Central2019-10-07
  2. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at First Central part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefit package Great team work

    Cons

    Quick growing company and systems and processes not geared up to deal with growth.

    First Central2019-11-16
  3. "Needs stability and a clear vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Central full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Has a committee that organises social activities but feels a bit forced (sorry) Some good employee perks (medical / some flexi working / birthday off)

    Cons

    Changes senior leadership very regularly Gone through some big redundancy programmes and cutting back in areas which most forward thinking companies are investing in No real long term strategy (probably because they change leaders so regularly) Not very innovative although they talk about it a lot Don't do agile / incremental change so be patient No real career progression

    Advice to Management

    Recruit your senior team more carefully so that you can settle on a strategy and have a chance of delivering it before making complete u-turns. Create a culture for your staff where they can deliver on your values. You use buzzwords like innovate, empowerment etc but think about how you truly allow that to happen.

    First Central2019-11-05
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Claims Negotiator 

    I worked at First Central full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for and competitive salary

    Cons

    No negatives to add- great company

    First Central2019-09-30
  5. "The best career move I ever made!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A growing business with brilliant career opportunities. With a solid custom built back office system to work on, partnerships with well known brands and employee and customer satisfaction at the heart of everything, this is an energised forward thinking company that is going places. For personal growth, work/life balance and wonderful colleagues, I couldn't recommend it highly enough!

    Cons

    I would quite like a table tennis table 😉

    Advice to Management

    Be open and share as much as you can, those that share in the journey will drive the journey.

    First Central2019-09-10
  6. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims 

    I have been working at First Central full-time

    Pros

    good pay, good team, yep

    Cons

    constant progression needed, quite demanding

    First Central2019-09-09
  7. "Fab place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Change Project Manager in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant team of people. Great working environment. Good benefits for staff including flexible working.

    Cons

    IT systems let them down. Too much change in one go

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to run before you can walk. Fix the basic building blocks of IT before introducing more change

    First Central2019-08-12
  8. "New vision and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ambitious Directors who are visible and approachable throughout the business and actively share their vision of where they want to take the company. Lots of opportunities to learn and gain skills/qualifications to progress your career, including a good internal career progression program for all levels of employees. Good initiatives, for example: Leadership Lounge where you can meet senior management and ask... questions. Drop in 90 minute training sessions to enhance your knowledge on a specific subject. Volunteering days to go out and help local places. Great people to work with in all areas of the business and always lots of social events organised.

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication across different departments and sites isn't perfect and this is a known short-coming and there is an effort to improve.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to feedback from the people on the front-lines who are talking to our customers every day.

    First Central2019-08-06
  9. "Horrendous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Specialist in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Central full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a good thing to say.

    Cons

    Not even the minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees a decent wage to stop them leaving.

    First Central2019-09-03
  10. "Has opened doors for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Assistant in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at First Central full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to further skills, gain qualifications, progress with career, great people and a very approachable senior management team. Staff well-being is a priority and social events are always worth attending. Training/learning is funded, professional subscriptions paid for and generous holiday with option to purchase additional each year.

    Cons

    Overall communication is a work in progress - management are aware of this and doing their best to improve.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employee feedback and hold more leadership lounges

    First Central2019-07-23
Found 78 reviews