Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews

Updated 23 August 2017
659 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
323 Ratings

659 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Th management are great people, fun, work hard play hard kinda bunch (in 36 reviews)

  • You're rewarded for the work you put in - work hard play hard (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • work life balance if not organised (in 87 reviews)

  • Long hours and outside of work hours commitments (in 91 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Malden, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Love working for this company! Every team is like a little family and you receive always a lot of support from management when needed. Lots of like minded people who have a passion for travelling and who become close friends! Also all the benefits we get as employees is amazing! Travelwise who find you amazing deals to go on holiday, healthwise are brilliant to help you get in shape or if you simply want to relax and have a massage, moneywise to help you with all your finance. And love our buzz nights and summerball which is a great way to celebrate all of our amazing achievements.

    Cons

    Your salary does fluctuate but if you put in the hard work you know you'll take home a nice payslip.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    26 Jun 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for taking the time to review working for us. It's great that you take full advantage of our fantastic benefits at Flight Centre.


  2. "Misleading......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Started with training and was really excited. Training was fun and quite relaxed. We had a good mix in the group and offered our travel and stay free.. We were told we would be selling lots of Journeys and Escape holidays, which were all very exciting.... Couldn't wait to get back to the shop and start selling dream holidays.

    Cons

    Within about 2-3 hours reality hit! Every call I took was looking for a cheap flght, and by lunchtime it was grating on me. I then got live chat log ins and it was the same. People saying they had been on skycanner (another word I soon learned to hate)... I was then told by a colleague that my first year would be a bit like this and its hard... but worth it in the coming years.. I was not staying around to undercut what people had already found by a £1, to make £10 towards my target, I am worth more than that...

    Advice to Management

    Be open and honest about the first year of the career. The company looks like it could be fun, but its not for me. I found alot of the customers to be quite rude when trying to say away and make suggestions so we didn't have to pricebeat them.


  3. "Travel Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

    Pros

    Paid training course upon successful interview
    Summer and christmas parties
    Opportunity to build up a customer base and make decent money

    Cons

    Sent to shop far away from where I lived
    Ethics of commission on bookings not for everybody
    Not a great level of team cohesion


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great work ethos, shame about the technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flight Centre is a great company, reading reviews its seems the same things are being mentioned which will mirror what I am about to say. Th management are great people, fun, work hard play hard kinda bunch. things are going in the right direction with selling more holidays than flight only.

    Cons

    Yes pricebeats are mind numbing and really need to go..
    Yes we market out as cheapy flights, and expect to get more out of the customer
    But my biggest bug bare is the technology. Everything is very "riggid" nothing talks to each other, over complicated reservation systems that are out dated and seldomly work. Everyday an issue arises.

    Advice to Management

    Bin pricebeats, market to what you want to receive. Cheap as chips bargain basement flights will not deliver higher margins and our amazing travel experiences. Upgrade the tech as soon as you can.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    14 Aug 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thanks very much for your review and comments, which we will pass on. Rest assured, we are already working on our marketing strategy; steering away from pricebeats and are investing in our technology... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New Malden, England
    Current Employee - Manager in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    At Flight Centre you are given a great deal of responsibility and ownership over a wide range of tasks. Support is always there, but when you need it, not in an overbearing way. This gives you a chance to develop your skill set in an environment that truly does have an egalitarian ethos. We take our business seriously, but not ourselves. We pride ourselves in making this a place that's fun to work in. Whatever level of the business you work within, your voice is heard.

    Cons

    Success doesn't come immediately for everyone, it has to be worked at. That's what makes it so fulfilling when you get there. This is for people who aren't afraid of hard work, because you will reap the rewards.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture of promoting from within.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    22 Jun 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review and for pointing out that Flight Centre has a very egalitarian ethos. This is something we certainly do pride ourselves on, along with the promotion and growth of our talent... More


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Pros and Cons!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Travel Consultant in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - International Travel Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The salary potential is good if you manage to meet your (very high) targets. Good work is praised and recognised not only through wages but at buzz nights and the potential to go to Global Gathering. Lots of incentive to work hard.

    Cons

    5-10 years ago when people were less used to looking on the internet (mainly Skyscanner) for flights and were less trusting to book here I can imagine Flight Centre doing absolutely great and making lots of sales. These days almost everyone has looked online and comes to us to see if we can do better. Given that the majority of Skyscanner sites sell flights at net and make their money through online advertising and kick backs from the airline, working on quantity rather than quality, we really cannot compete with the internet! Yes there is a market of people who still prefer to use agents for flight only (although I predict this market will get continuously smaller with time), although nowhere near a big enough market to sustain the company. Not saying that customers don't agree that the benefits we provide aren't beneficial, it's just that most people aren't prepared to pay the premium! This can make the job role extremely stressful with the high targets we're given and often results in price beats which aren't overly desirable for consultants!

    Advice to Management

    Stop marketing the company as the 'cheap flight company'. We're supposed to base our values on the quality of product and pay a little more for the service we provide but then we get all the wrong type of customers who price beat us, and in 99% of cases a price beat which looses the company £50 per ticket probably isn't ever going to turn into a £10k journey. Also with more emphasis being put on escape or journey sales (IMO this is what we should be focusing on), again we want to express the quality of Flight Centre so people want to spend that sort of money with us instead of trailfinders, Audley, Kuoni etc. Marketing ourselves continuously as the 'cheap company' which caters for all isn't effective marketing for the type of customers we really want.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    9 May 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to review working for Flight Centre. You raise some very interesting and insightful points about how the travel industry has changed over the years... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Love it or not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing in New Malden, England
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard culture. Travel benefits. A lot of good people.

    Cons

    The uniform - some cliques and inner circles. Tougher for non-shop-staff to get under the skin of the place.

    Advice to Management

    Remember, we're not (all) Australians

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    5 Apr 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review and best of luck with your future endeavours.


  9. "FCBT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

    Pros

    Monday-Friday hours
    Potential for progression
    Okay money (once your accounts are up and running)
    Relaxed work environment

    Cons

    If you consistently earn more in commission, your pay structure will be changed so that it negatively impacts your income
    We have to wear poor-quality uniform
    High turnover due to pressure and low pay starting out
    Company culture is stuck in the past - buzz nights are not well-received and do not suit a large proportion of the staff

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a platform to raise issues with more senior management
    Improve recruitment process and diversify more to bring in suitable candidates for different brands

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    5 Apr 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your advice, we will definitely review our recruitment process, however we do look for suitable experience from our candidates for business travel.

    We pride ourselves on being an... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "You get out what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - The company honestly contains some of the best and most geniune people I have ever met. They are not only great fun but would always go the extra mile for a customer in need and that has always inspired me

    - the wage structure is skewed towards those that perform and do well. This means if you sell a lot you are rewarded? What's the other option- you sell twice as much as the guy set next to you and take home the same wage? No thanks...
    Compared to other travel companies FC far exceeds pay all around

    - There are opportunities to progress into store management almost right away in a lot of cases. Good consultants can earn a payrise to Assistant Team Leader within a year and then Team Leader within 18 months in a lot of cases.

    - You are selling travel every day! Surely this is more fun than working in an office being whipped by some corporate structure

    - If in the right team there is a great amount of support avaliable whilst you settle in and learn the ropes. Your Manager and team mates are the most important part of success in first year

    - Constant recognition for those doing well; awards nights (which despite what some reviews say aren't the 'alcohol fuelled parties' they are made out to be in every case), free trips for top sellers, even just a nice email from your Area Leader goes a long way

    - if you don't want to be a shop-floor consultant anymore then you don't have to. Nearly all of FCs marketing team, recruitment, trainers and even finance teams came from being consultants. This is partly to keep the company 'culture' intact bit also because the company really invests in their staff

    The main point to note on any of these is that to get paid well, promoted, staff movements etc you actually have to show a level of commitment to your first job, this point seems to be lost on a lot of people

    Cons

    - staying late to help a customer isn't for everyone. Some people are more suited to working at Tesco with an hourly wage getting paid specifically for every second they are clocked on. If so, the job isn't for you

    - Systems can be a little frustrating on busy days but this seems to be changing slowly as we have launched a new booking system to try and fix this

    - management training is limited. Means managers are learning on the job which creates some issues of course

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    9 Feb 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for leaving a detailed and thorough review of working at Flight Centre. This provides frank and useful insight for potential candidates so it's very much appreciated.


  11. "Fun company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some nice people and if you show willingness they will give you a chance to prove yourself
    Convenient office locations
    Very socialable company (those blimin shots)!

    Cons

    Some but i'll keep those to myself

    Advice to Management

    I've already provided lots

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    8 Mar 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review on Glassdoor. On the whole it seems that you enjoy working for Flight Centre (despite the low score). If there's any issues, please do share them with the Careers team


Showing 659 of 667 reviews
Reset Filters