Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited annual leave, lots of travel, work hard play hard(in 60 reviews)

  • "Employee benefits ranging from health and wellbeing support to financial advice and travel perks(in 56 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst Programmer in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Brilliant people - Work hard, play hard environment - Challenging work with each day being different

    Cons

    - Egalitarianism undervalues work in regards to promotions - Misunderstandings between team members and leaders

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-08-16
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Workplace benefits as well as uncapped earnings

    Cons

    None to speak of really

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-12-19
  3. "Good commission after one year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy sell Lots of training

    Cons

    Clique company It’s not about what you know it’s who you know

    Advice to Management

    remember people’s cv’s

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-14
  4. "Great employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Operations in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity globally, great ownership and empowerment, a company with great ideas

    Cons

    Can be long hours, more flexibility

    Advice to Management

    Employ enough people to get the job done

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-11-05
  5. "Great start to B2C Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uncapped commission structure with good OTE

    Cons

    Some late shifts and weekends

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-28
  6. "Low Salary and long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues and team spirit.

    Cons

    Long hours and little support from managers.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-12
  7. "DO NOT waste your time, they will use you and not pay you! also cause you stress, depression and anxiety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Administrator in New Malden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    pros? HAH thats hilarious. none.

    Cons

    I signed the contract and started working, they kept saying they needed me and were excited i started. i worked 2 days, then they said everyday they don't need me theres no work to do, but they told me when I was on my way or at the office and then was told to turn around and go home, this happened for a week. I turned up to work one day, no one was in the office from my department which i was unaware of, and waiting at reception to sort something out. i sat there for 1 and a half hours for reception to tell me they no longer need me at all. I spent more money traveling to work then working and they wont pay me for the hours i traveled to at least makeup for the expenses they made me spend on coming in everyday to then turn me around.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dear management, Dont hire someone, make them come in then tell them to go home as soon as they walk through the door to then not pay them for your mistakes. its now 6 weeks after i worked for you and I haven't relieved a penny. thank you for making me sit at home while thinking i have a job yet making me sit at home, not being able to provide for my family, causing severe stress, depression and anxiety Thank you for nothing ex employee

    Show More
    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-24
  8. "Decent perks average basic salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDE in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relatively fun culture if your face fits

    Cons

    weak basics, can be a lonely place if your not interested in the party scene on offer

    Advice to Management

    offer different incentives, increase base salary and better training around systems. Also dont expect longevity from sales execs when the best clients are already wrapped up by the golden circle.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-08-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Career with Flight Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are quite a lot of Pro's to mention, one stand out aspect for me is the supportive nature of the company. Your ambitions are taken on board and there is plenty of room to move forward and to grow within the company. There are also plenty of opportunities to grow and expand your skills within the travel industry - with many great incentives to help drive you success. Flight centre focuses on it's people - which is a comfort as you know you will have appropriate support from a fantastic network of senior leaders and guidance to find the role that fits you. If you work hard - you can quickly move forward and fill career ambitions. I love the work spaces, the people, the company philosophies and find the pay structure to be fantastic as well. You also have access to fantastic benefits and extras related to travel, health and much more.

    Show More

    Cons

    It can at times be difficult to manage your own time, which is imperative to the role. If you struggle with this there are support avenues available to help you manage your time more effectively and strike an appropriate work / life balance. Make sure you utilise this if you find time management to be one of your weaknesses.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-07-30
  10. "Awful atmosphere for professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted travel. Opportunities to work globally.

    Cons

    Very unprofessional office environment. Targets are basically nonexistent. Most employees take hours out of their working day to go to the pub or shopping. Management only look after themselves. Training - HA! WHAT TRAINING?

    Advice to Management

    Hire some managers that know what they’re doing and have more experience than those who they’re meant to be “training”.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-07-28
Found 116 reviews