Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews

Updated 27 June 2017
627 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
304 Ratings

627 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • You're rewarded for the work you put in - work hard play hard (in 35 reviews)

  • Culture is really personable, work hard play hard which suits many but not all (in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • work life balance if not organised (in 85 reviews)

  • Long hours and outside of work hours commitments (in 89 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing workplace"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Malden, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Love working for this company! Every team is like a little family and you receive always a lot of support from management when needed. Lots of like minded people who have a passion for travelling and who become close friends! Also all the benefits we get as employees is amazing! Travelwise who find you amazing deals to go on holiday, healthwise are brilliant to help you get in shape or if you simply want to relax and have a massage, moneywise to help you with all your finance. And love our buzz nights and summerball which is a great way to celebrate all of our amazing achievements.

    Cons

    Your salary does fluctuate but if you put in the hard work you know you'll take home a nice payslip.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    26 Jun 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for taking the time to review working for us. It's great that you take full advantage of our fantastic benefits at Flight Centre.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New Malden, England
    Current Employee - Manager in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    At Flight Centre you are given a great deal of responsibility and ownership over a wide range of tasks. Support is always there, but when you need it, not in an overbearing way. This gives you a chance to develop your skill set in an environment that truly does have an egalitarian ethos. We take our business seriously, but not ourselves. We pride ourselves in making this a place that's fun to work in. Whatever level of the business you work within, your voice is heard.

    Cons

    Success doesn't come immediately for everyone, it has to be worked at. That's what makes it so fulfilling when you get there. This is for people who aren't afraid of hard work, because you will reap the rewards.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture of promoting from within.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    22 Jun 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review and for pointing out that Flight Centre has a very egalitarian ethos. This is something we certainly do pride ourselves on, along with the promotion and growth of our talent ... More


  3. "Good but not great... Systems are a JOKE!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Travel Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Full Time Travel Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good support from Head Office, good social company, laid back approach to things (for now) new uniform is pretty cool..

    Cons

    Systems are an absolute JOKE! They never work (but its always someone elses fault) not out dated rubbish we use! They actually stop you from doing what you are asked. Keep advertising "cheap flights" and wonder why we keep getting pricebeat enquiries... Micro management is sneaking itself in the back door.

    Advice to Management

    Get some decent technology. Amadeus was a massive mistake.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    22 Jun 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review. Admittedly, there have been a range of issues with our systems, however we are recruiting for my technology roles now to iron out all the problems we've been experiencing ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Pros and Cons!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Travel Consultant in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - International Travel Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The salary potential is good if you manage to meet your (very high) targets. Good work is praised and recognised not only through wages but at buzz nights and the potential to go to Global Gathering. Lots of incentive to work hard.

    Cons

    5-10 years ago when people were less used to looking on the internet (mainly Skyscanner) for flights and were less trusting to book here I can imagine Flight Centre doing absolutely great and making lots of sales. These days almost everyone has looked online and comes to us to see if we can do better. Given that the majority of Skyscanner sites sell flights at net and make their money through online advertising and kick backs from the airline, working on quantity rather than quality, we really cannot compete with the internet! Yes there is a market of people who still prefer to use agents for flight only (although I predict this market will get continuously smaller with time), although nowhere near a big enough market to sustain the company. Not saying that customers don't agree that the benefits we provide aren't beneficial, it's just that most people aren't prepared to pay the premium! This can make the job role extremely stressful with the high targets we're given and often results in price beats which aren't overly desirable for consultants!

    Advice to Management

    Stop marketing the company as the 'cheap flight company'. We're supposed to base our values on the quality of product and pay a little more for the service we provide but then we get all the wrong type of customers who price beat us, and in 99% of cases a price beat which looses the company £50 per ticket probably isn't ever going to turn into a £10k journey. Also with more emphasis being put on escape or journey sales (IMO this is what we should be focusing on), again we want to express the quality of Flight Centre so people want to spend that sort of money with us instead of trailfinders, Audley, Kuoni etc. Marketing ourselves continuously as the 'cheap company' which caters for all isn't effective marketing for the type of customers we really want.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    9 May 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to review working for Flight Centre. You raise some very interesting and insightful points about how the travel industry has changed over the years ... More


  6. "Love it or not so much"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing in New Malden, England
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard culture. Travel benefits. A lot of good people.

    Cons

    The uniform - some cliques and inner circles. Tougher for non-shop-staff to get under the skin of the place.

    Advice to Management

    Remember, we're not (all) Australians

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    5 Apr 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review and best of luck with your future endeavours.


  7. "FCBT"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

    Pros

    Monday-Friday hours
    Potential for progression
    Okay money (once your accounts are up and running)
    Relaxed work environment

    Cons

    If you consistently earn more in commission, your pay structure will be changed so that it negatively impacts your income
    We have to wear poor-quality uniform
    High turnover due to pressure and low pay starting out
    Company culture is stuck in the past - buzz nights are not well-received and do not suit a large proportion of the staff

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a platform to raise issues with more senior management
    Improve recruitment process and diversify more to bring in suitable candidates for different brands

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    5 Apr 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your advice, we will definitely review our recruitment process, however we do look for suitable experience from our candidates for business travel. We pride ourselves on being an ... More


  8. Helpful (2)

    "You get out what you put in"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - The company honestly contains some of the best and most geniune people I have ever met. They are not only great fun but would always go the extra mile for a customer in need and that has always inspired me

    - the wage structure is skewed towards those that perform and do well. This means if you sell a lot you are rewarded? What's the other option- you sell twice as much as the guy set next to you and take home the same wage? No thanks...
    Compared to other travel companies FC far exceeds pay all around

    - There are opportunities to progress into store management almost right away in a lot of cases. Good consultants can earn a payrise to Assistant Team Leader within a year and then Team Leader within 18 months in a lot of cases.

    - You are selling travel every day! Surely this is more fun than working in an office being whipped by some corporate structure

    - If in the right team there is a great amount of support avaliable whilst you settle in and learn the ropes. Your Manager and team mates are the most important part of success in first year

    - Constant recognition for those doing well; awards nights (which despite what some reviews say aren't the 'alcohol fuelled parties' they are made out to be in every case), free trips for top sellers, even just a nice email from your Area Leader goes a long way

    - if you don't want to be a shop-floor consultant anymore then you don't have to. Nearly all of FCs marketing team, recruitment, trainers and even finance teams came from being consultants. This is partly to keep the company 'culture' intact bit also because the company really invests in their staff

    The main point to note on any of these is that to get paid well, promoted, staff movements etc you actually have to show a level of commitment to your first job, this point seems to be lost on a lot of people

    Cons

    - staying late to help a customer isn't for everyone. Some people are more suited to working at Tesco with an hourly wage getting paid specifically for every second they are clocked on. If so, the job isn't for you

    - Systems can be a little frustrating on busy days but this seems to be changing slowly as we have launched a new booking system to try and fix this

    - management training is limited. Means managers are learning on the job which creates some issues of course

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    9 Feb 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for leaving a detailed and thorough review of working at Flight Centre. This provides frank and useful insight for potential candidates so it's very much appreciated.


  9. "Fun company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some nice people and if you show willingness they will give you a chance to prove yourself
    Convenient office locations
    Very socialable company (those blimin shots)!

    Cons

    Some but i'll keep those to myself

    Advice to Management

    I've already provided lots

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    8 Mar 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review on Glassdoor. On the whole it seems that you enjoy working for Flight Centre (despite the low score). If there's any issues, please do share them with the Careers team


  10. "review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Saint Albans, England
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Saint Albans, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group (More than a year)

    Pros

    young work place with cheap holidays available

    Cons

    promise more than they deliver


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Travel Consultant - hard work for minimal reward, soul destroying."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Travel Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - International Travel Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

    Pros

    - Some great people work here, you can form strong bonds with your team
    - There is opportunity to grab some great discounted travel
    - It's a very social company, lots of organised nights etc.
    - The training course is helpful, especially with the systems and the training team are lovely and very approachable.

    Cons

    - As much as they say it is about customer service this is not true. It is not about the customer at all. It is all about how much commission you can make and how good your margin is. Money, money, money is rewarded nothing else. None of the awards they give out on 'buzz nights' have anything to do with service.
    - No commission built into airfares so for flight only stuff you have to add whatever you can to make money. It is essentially ripping people off and is a hard sell. You also have to add £16 worth of 'ticketing fees' per person before you make any commission. More money for FC. They shoot their own workforce in the foot.
    - Super long hours, no work life/balance, no paid overtime and you will do a lot overtime every single week. No pay for sick days which is awful and a very strict 20 to 30 minute lunch break no more. Holiday is hard to get, small teams, only one at time.
    - Super stressful and target-driven. A lot of pressure to sell and mark up and make money.
    - Really bad micro managing, they watch everything you do and tell you how you should be doing everything.
    - It's very sink or swim and can be a quite an unsupportive sales environment at times. Company is very cliquey, they have their faves. (Those who make a ton of money).
     - Your commission will be docked for mistakes, sometimes even for things that are beyond your control.
     - Even though they tell you there is no phone script your calls are recorded and picked apart every single week and scored against a script of everything you should be saying/doing.

    Advice to Management

    - Far less micro managing of staff
    - Constructive criticism - just saying get more enquiry or sell more isn't constructive
    - Have more focus on the customer and selling things to people at a good price, travel consultants work SO HARD and get completely shafted.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    8 Mar 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review on Glassdoor. We are very concerned with your comments about making as much money as you can and would ask you to share more information with us about this as this goes ... More


Showing 627 of 634 reviews
Reset Filters