Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews

Updated 21 May 2017
563 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
256 Ratings

563 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Culture is really personable, work hard play hard which suits many but not all (in 31 reviews)

  • Great work hard play hard ethic, good starting salary, good opportunities for career progression, good company ethos (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • Can be difficult to achieve a work-life balance i (in 71 reviews)

  • Long hours, lots of changes going on constantly (in 82 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Love it or not so much"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing in New Malden, England
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard culture. Travel benefits. A lot of good people.

    Cons

    The uniform - some cliques and inner circles. Tougher for non-shop-staff to get under the skin of the place.

    Advice to Management

    Remember, we're not (all) Australians

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    5 Apr 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review and best of luck with your future endeavours.


  2. "Pros and Cons!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Travel Consultant in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - International Travel Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The salary potential is good if you manage to meet your (very high) targets. Good work is praised and recognised not only through wages but at buzz nights and the potential to go to Global Gathering. Lots of incentive to work hard.

    Cons

    5-10 years ago when people were less used to looking on the internet (mainly Skyscanner) for flights and were less trusting to book here I can imagine Flight Centre doing absolutely great and making lots of sales. These days almost everyone has looked online and comes to us to see if we can do better. Given that the majority of Skyscanner sites sell flights at net and make their money through online advertising and kick backs from the airline, working on quantity rather than quality, we really cannot compete with the internet! Yes there is a market of people who still prefer to use agents for flight only (although I predict this market will get continuously smaller with time), although nowhere near a big enough market to sustain the company. Not saying that customers don't agree that the benefits we provide aren't beneficial, it's just that most people aren't prepared to pay the premium! This can make the job role extremely stressful with the high targets we're given and often results in price beats which aren't overly desirable for consultants!

    Advice to Management

    Stop marketing the company as the 'cheap flight company'. We're supposed to base our values on the quality of product and pay a little more for the service we provide but then we get all the wrong type of customers who price beat us, and in 99% of cases a price beat which looses the company £50 per ticket probably isn't ever going to turn into a £10k journey. Also with more emphasis being put on escape or journey sales (IMO this is what we should be focusing on), again we want to express the quality of Flight Centre so people want to spend that sort of money with us instead of trailfinders, Audley, Kuoni etc. Marketing ourselves continuously as the 'cheap company' which caters for all isn't effective marketing for the type of customers we really want.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    9 May 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to review working for Flight Centre. You raise some very interesting and insightful points about how the travel industry has changed over the years ... More


  3. "Great company, systems are a joke!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great management team, good products to sell, if you are in the right team, its good fun place to work

    Cons

    The systems are rubbish... they crash constantly with error messages, they do not do what they are meant to, and make you look silly pretty much. They are so riggid, and doing a straight forward quote takes forever. (thats if you can a quote finished without losing everything!)

    Advice to Management

    Invest all the money you can in better systems, Amadeus is rubbish!

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    27 Apr 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great that you enjoy your role on the whole, enjoy your job and find it fun, as well as having a great team and management. Installing Amadeus ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "FCBT"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

    Pros

    Monday-Friday hours
    Potential for progression
    Okay money (once your accounts are up and running)
    Relaxed work environment

    Cons

    If you consistently earn more in commission, your pay structure will be changed so that it negatively impacts your income
    We have to wear poor-quality uniform
    High turnover due to pressure and low pay starting out
    Company culture is stuck in the past - buzz nights are not well-received and do not suit a large proportion of the staff

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a platform to raise issues with more senior management
    Improve recruitment process and diversify more to bring in suitable candidates for different brands

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    5 Apr 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your advice, we will definitely review our recruitment process, however we do look for suitable experience from our candidates for business travel. We pride ourselves on being an ... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "You get out what you put in"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - The company honestly contains some of the best and most geniune people I have ever met. They are not only great fun but would always go the extra mile for a customer in need and that has always inspired me

    - the wage structure is skewed towards those that perform and do well. This means if you sell a lot you are rewarded? What's the other option- you sell twice as much as the guy set next to you and take home the same wage? No thanks...
    Compared to other travel companies FC far exceeds pay all around

    - There are opportunities to progress into store management almost right away in a lot of cases. Good consultants can earn a payrise to Assistant Team Leader within a year and then Team Leader within 18 months in a lot of cases.

    - You are selling travel every day! Surely this is more fun than working in an office being whipped by some corporate structure

    - If in the right team there is a great amount of support avaliable whilst you settle in and learn the ropes. Your Manager and team mates are the most important part of success in first year

    - Constant recognition for those doing well; awards nights (which despite what some reviews say aren't the 'alcohol fuelled parties' they are made out to be in every case), free trips for top sellers, even just a nice email from your Area Leader goes a long way

    - if you don't want to be a shop-floor consultant anymore then you don't have to. Nearly all of FCs marketing team, recruitment, trainers and even finance teams came from being consultants. This is partly to keep the company 'culture' intact bit also because the company really invests in their staff

    The main point to note on any of these is that to get paid well, promoted, staff movements etc you actually have to show a level of commitment to your first job, this point seems to be lost on a lot of people

    Cons

    - staying late to help a customer isn't for everyone. Some people are more suited to working at Tesco with an hourly wage getting paid specifically for every second they are clocked on. If so, the job isn't for you

    - Systems can be a little frustrating on busy days but this seems to be changing slowly as we have launched a new booking system to try and fix this

    - management training is limited. Means managers are learning on the job which creates some issues of course

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    9 Feb 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for leaving a detailed and thorough review of working at Flight Centre. This provides frank and useful insight for potential candidates so it's very much appreciated.


  7. "Fun company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some nice people and if you show willingness they will give you a chance to prove yourself
    Convenient office locations
    Very socialable company (those blimin shots)!

    Cons

    Some but i'll keep those to myself

    Advice to Management

    I've already provided lots

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    8 Mar 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review on Glassdoor. On the whole it seems that you enjoy working for Flight Centre (despite the low score). If there's any issues, please do share them with the Careers team


  8. "review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Saint Albans, England
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Saint Albans, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group (More than a year)

    Pros

    young work place with cheap holidays available

    Cons

    promise more than they deliver


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Travel Consultant - hard work for minimal reward, soul destroying."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Travel Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - International Travel Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

    Pros

    - Some great people work here, you can form strong bonds with your team
    - There is opportunity to grab some great discounted travel
    - It's a very social company, lots of organised nights etc.
    - The training course is helpful, especially with the systems and the training team are lovely and very approachable.

    Cons

    - As much as they say it is about customer service this is not true. It is not about the customer at all. It is all about how much commission you can make and how good your margin is. Money, money, money is rewarded nothing else. None of the awards they give out on 'buzz nights' have anything to do with service.
    - No commission built into airfares so for flight only stuff you have to add whatever you can to make money. It is essentially ripping people off and is a hard sell. You also have to add £16 worth of 'ticketing fees' per person before you make any commission. More money for FC. They shoot their own workforce in the foot.
    - Super long hours, no work life/balance, no paid overtime and you will do a lot overtime every single week. No pay for sick days which is awful and a very strict 20 to 30 minute lunch break no more. Holiday is hard to get, small teams, only one at time.
    - Super stressful and target-driven. A lot of pressure to sell and mark up and make money.
    - Really bad micro managing, they watch everything you do and tell you how you should be doing everything.
    - It's very sink or swim and can be a quite an unsupportive sales environment at times. Company is very cliquey, they have their faves. (Those who make a ton of money).
     - Your commission will be docked for mistakes, sometimes even for things that are beyond your control.
     - Even though they tell you there is no phone script your calls are recorded and picked apart every single week and scored against a script of everything you should be saying/doing.

    Advice to Management

    - Far less micro managing of staff
    - Constructive criticism - just saying get more enquiry or sell more isn't constructive
    - Have more focus on the customer and selling things to people at a good price, travel consultants work SO HARD and get completely shafted.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    8 Mar 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review on Glassdoor. We are very concerned with your comments about making as much money as you can and would ask you to share more information with us about this as this goes ... More


  10. "Business Development Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM in London, England
    Former Employee - BDM in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very social, young, fun environment to work in and a genuine opportunity to make good money if you're willing to work hard.

    Cons

    You are a small part in a very large machine. They have systems (that work very well) so your input can feel somewhat unimportant

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    10 Jan 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review of working as a Business Development Manager at Flight Centre. It is good to hear that predominantly you felt happy working for the company. As Flight Centre is such a ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Manage with a stick not a carrot"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in New Malden, England
    Former Employee - Team Leader in New Malden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some lovely people, free parking.

    Cons

    No real recognition of achievements for non-consultant staff. Credit given to team leaders not the people who actually do the work. Playground style politics and attitudes abound. Promises not kept. Bad managers with long tenure appear to be above reproach and are not dealt with when complaints are made.

    Advice to Management

    I don't see the point - they won't change.

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    23 Jan 2017 – Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review of working for Flight Centre. Part of Flight Centre's culture is to reward and recognise achievements throughout the entire company and this is illustrated well though ... More


Showing 563 of 570 reviews
Reset Filters