Flight Centre Travel Group "work hard play" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Flight Centre Travel Group Employee Reviews about "work hard play"

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited annual leave, lots of travel, work hard play hard(in 60 reviews)

  • "Employee benefits ranging from health and wellbeing support to financial advice and travel perks(in 56 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work hard play"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst Programmer in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Brilliant people - Work hard, play hard environment - Challenging work with each day being different

    Cons

    - Egalitarianism undervalues work in regards to promotions - Misunderstandings between team members and leaders

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-08-16

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    September 2, 2019Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review of working as a Senior Analyst Programmer in our head office. Do reach out to the HR or careers team for any issues or concerns regarding any misunderstandings that we can help you with.

    Continue reading
  2. "Overall Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really supportive structure and great people to work with. FAM trips offered and recognised for hard work. Basic is quite good compared to other companies

    Cons

    Unless in sales moving in a different direction is quite difficult.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-03-30

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    April 15, 2019Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review. Do get in touch with us in recruitment (applications@flightcentre.co.uk) if you are interested in moving in a different direction, as we could help.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Unacceptable Systems... Great company though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Annon in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really do love working for Flight Centre, great head office staff and managment team who do not take themselves too seriously, but do have their heads screwed on with business plans etc... Great work hard play hard ethos.. Buzz nights are good with catching up with colleagues accross your area..

    Cons

    Systems are god awful!! They are far to slow for the work load we have, its pretty embarrassing a company our size runs on what seems like steam powered technology. Nothing talks to each other... Ugrade to a super new selling system, which breaks everyday... Try not to make an amendment to an existing booking, the amending of the invoice is a nightmare... Lose internet constanly, it really can infuriate you if you are in a great mood.

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2018-04-04

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    April 17, 2018Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for taking the time to review the company. I am sorry to hear about your frustrations with the systems - the systems also have problems in head office as well and we know it can be really challenging. Rest assured that we are investing in IT at the moment and this is at the forefront of our future plans. Great to hear that you enjoy working for Flight Centre on the whole though and the great culture and fun nights. Do let us know if there's anything else we can help with in the careers team.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Desk Technician in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard environment. Friendly people and lots of social events to attend. Career Progression and benefits

    Cons

    The work grind does get repetitive. You will hit a wall quickly in terms of what you will be learning but thankfully career progression aspect is in place to get you as far as you want to be.

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2017-09-13

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    September 22, 2017Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for taking the time to review working for us. It's great to hear that you are working with friendly people and enjoying the social side and fantastic benefits that we have to offer as a company. Please do get in touch with your manager to see if there is training as part of your development. If you need any careers advice, please contact the careers team (applications@flightcentre.co.uk).

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love it or not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Head of Marketing in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard culture. Travel benefits. A lot of good people.

    Cons

    The uniform - some cliques and inner circles. Tougher for non-shop-staff to get under the skin of the place.

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2017-03-24

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    April 5, 2017Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for your review and best of luck with your future endeavours.

    Continue reading
  6. "FCUK: good place If you can handle high pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group

    Pros

    Very relaxed informal atmosphere. Friendly co-workers. Work hard play hard. Achievements are rewarded

    Cons

    As the company grew exponentially too fast, not all departments such as shared services caught up to keep up with this explosive growth and success in the Travel sector. Travel business can be high pressure and intense for new comers who are used to norla-paced job. Not everyone can handle this which is why specially the retail arm of the company has the highest turn over. Many young hopeful consultants and sales agents go as quickly as they come. Corporate is more mature and by far the most successful of the businesses. Overall the UK

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2016-11-18

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    January 4, 2017Recruitment Marketer

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Flight Centre. We will take on board the advice about investing in systems. We are already upgrading systems and will continue to do so to move with the industry and technology demands of staff.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Fun company... if you fit the stereotype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Travel Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work hard play hard ethic, good starting salary, good opportunities for career progression, good company ethos

    Cons

    They do not have any tolerance for anyone who is a quieter person, they expect everyone to be larger than life and drooling for sales, working hours are quite long and there is a serious lack of racial diversity

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2015-07-12
  8. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group

    Pros

    Lots of careers progression, started as a consultant and now work in marketing in head office. Very social. Rewarded for your hard work. Learnt lots of new skills, including new computer programmes that will help me progress. Chance to work for the company all over the world. Helping my desire to learn by supporting my marketing studies. Fun work environment and I've made some great friends.

    Cons

    You have to wear a uniform that's not that great but, is going to be upgraded very soon. IT systems need some TLC, but again this is being addressed and they have someone who is focussed purely on improving these.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2015-02-18
  9. "Basic salary too low for London, extremely hard work for generally not much reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Travel Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing social side, loads of parties, industry events. Good incentives, competitions, generally very young employees, new graduates or just out of A levels, very work hard/play hard. Good solid experience, very good training, good benefits like health checks etc, brilliant for a first job and good opportunities if you can stick it out.

    Cons

    Low basic salary, very commission based which means you are under a lot of pressure to sell. Work-life balance isn't great, very long hours and a lot of the time for not much reward, half an hour lunch breaks, very pressured environment, very stressful, high turnover of staff, statistically 50% of starters leave within the 1st three months.

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2015-01-24

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    February 18, 2015Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed Flight Centre's culture, training and benefits - it's something we're very proud of. We will also take your comments regarding our London base wage (£18,000) on board, however, I just wanted to correct your statistic. At Flight Centre, our novice turnover within the first 3 months is 25%. This is something we take very seriously and will always endeavour to improve upon. We're currently working with our team across the country to help our new consultants gain the travel knowledge, experience and skills they need to be successful in their role and achieve their salary goals. Thank you once again and we'd like to wish you all the best in your future career.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fast moving company that thrives on change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture is really personable, work hard play hard which suits many but not all. The span of control is relatively flat but regardless of this, no member of the business is off limits to discuss any aspect of company performance/growth/strategy. The senior management are always upbeat and positive about the future and happy to discuss in great detail the good, bad and ugly - very refreshing. Customer focus is something that has been part of discussions for years but it really is becoming front and centre of everything we do and plan now. Digital initiatives were something Flight Centre didn't believe in up until a few years ago, but now, we're seeing a massive change and willingness to invest meaning the next 4 - 5 years are going to be an exciting experience as a digital transformation occurs internally and externally. Team members who are performing well are recognised for their success and pushed into new more challenging roles where available. Internal recruitment is the preference so opportunities are publicised internally to entice existing talent. Managers are empowered to deliver on high level strategy as they know best - micro-management is not a part of this companies vernacular - too little time to do that!

    Cons

    FCTG has a strong propensity to change without notice and in quite a frequent fashion. Changes implemented can be made and pushed through before the correct processes and infrastructure are in place meaning frustration is high. Change management is not a term known to this company! Bureaucracy can really drag FCTG down - although one of the companies key beliefs is "We value common sense over conventional wisdow", common sense doesn't always prevail. Conversations such as "You're not permitted to do X because department Y have said no", still exists. Incentives work well but are more targeted around those who work in sales roles (most of company). Technology still lags behind industry standards and the ambitions of data integration across the wider business can not be fulfilled until this is remedied. Confidence is low that this will change in the near future. New Malden - need I say more? The working hours for support - 42.5 hours is out of touch with industries relating to support roles.

    Continue reading
    Flight Centre Travel Group2014-11-22
Found 39 reviews