Florida State College at Jacksonville Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Florida State College at Jacksonville Reviews

Updated 3 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
80%
Recommend to a Friend
Florida State College at Jacksonville President  John Avendano
John Avendano
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Great benefits, paid vacation, four day summer schedule(in 9 reviews)

  • "FSCJ has a positive environment and working as a student tutor looks good on resumes(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay that stays that way unless your supervisor advocates for you(in 4 reviews)

  • "minimum wage is payed every 2 weeks(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Florida State College at Jacksonville part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance Good pay Regular training and team building

    Cons

    Hard to find full time positions

    Florida State College at Jacksonville2020-02-04
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Software IT Specialist 

    I have been working at Florida State College at Jacksonville full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. I highly recommended.

    Cons

    I genially have no cons about FSCJ.

    Florida State College at Jacksonville2020-01-20
  3. "Great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Florida State College at Jacksonville full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really enjoyed my time at the university, loved how the institution was student driven

    Cons

    Remembering the importance of employee morale at times

    Florida State College at Jacksonville2020-01-15
  4. "Unemployment Issue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Florida State College at Jacksonville full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, paid vacation, four day summer schedule

    Cons

    Budget problems and lay offs every year (75+)

    Florida State College at Jacksonville2020-01-14
  5. "Great for a College Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Notetaker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Florida State College at Jacksonville part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are extremely flexible with the your schedule. You get to choose which courses you would like to take notes for.

    Cons

    The pay is quite low.

    Florida State College at Jacksonville2020-01-12
  6. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Florida State College at Jacksonville full-time

    Pros

    Make your own schedule, plenty of opportunities for overload, good benefits, limited supervision.

    Cons

    Open-enrollment college, so students are often unprepared for college. Lots of dual enrollment students so it can feel like teaching high school. Poor pay, so teaching overload classes is a necessity.

    Florida State College at Jacksonville2019-12-18
  7. "Great place to invest in the community and empower others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director of Recruitment in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida State College at Jacksonville full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Able to create connections with organizations in the community who partner with the college and feel a part of something larger than yourself.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership stability in recent years.

    Continue reading
    Florida State College at Jacksonville2019-11-21
  8. "Part Time Science Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Science Tutor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida State College at Jacksonville part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to work and study

    Cons

    I have found none so far

    Florida State College at Jacksonville2019-09-26
  9. "Great Place for Learners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Advisor in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida State College at Jacksonville full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free tuition, access to scholarships, good work/life balance, plenty of training, accessible leadership

    Cons

    Constant changes, PeopleSoft implementation very buggy

    Florida State College at Jacksonville2019-09-23
  10. "Pays for school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerical Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Florida State College at Jacksonville part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work environment, ease of time off.

    Cons

    Low pay and hours.

    Florida State College at Jacksonville2019-08-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 109 reviews