Flybe Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Flybe Reviews

Updated 19 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Flybe CEO Mark Anderson
Mark Anderson
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people who are committed to Flybe(in 8 reviews)

  • "I was a qualified Aircraft Engineer having worked on Sea King helicopters and Sea Harrier Jump Jets(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "And don't expect to get a senior position unless you are friends with the senior managers(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Program Manager/ B1 Licensed engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flybe

    Pros

    A brilliant workforce and atmosphere to work amongst such a talented team of engineers and mechanics

    Cons

    Working nights getting A Checks done on time with little or no help from Development engineering and other departments as they never worked Nightshift.

    Advice to Management

    Get to know all all your staff and treat them as you would like them to treat yourself.

    Flybe2019-10-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flybe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holidays and pay and colleagues are great

    Cons

    Working shifts and being fatigue

    Advice to Management

    Be more contactable and help more

    Flybe2019-10-15
  3. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flybe part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The People are great, it's a real family spirit!

    Cons

    Need to plan more, and put People at the front of the agenda

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget People engagement - it's not a good to do it makes commercial sense to do so. Happy employees = happy customers = better profits

    Flybe2019-12-19
  4. "Aircraft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Technician in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flybe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clean and safe working environment With good career progression

    Cons

    Long hours and working around dangerous chemicals

    Flybe2019-12-11
  5. "Flybe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Exeter, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flybe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some good flight and money off perks

    Cons

    Undervalued, poor senior management decisions,

    Flybe2019-12-19
  6. "Great variety of work and interesting times ahead!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flybe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at Flybe are outstanding- so many really passionate people who genuinely care about the airline Really exciting time to be at Flybe with the transition to Virgin Connect Senior leaders are visible and approachable

    Cons

    Tendency to be a bit Exeter-centric

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are with how visible you are across the business- it’s great

    Flybe2019-11-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Heading in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flybe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's lots that Flybe do well: - It's a great family/collegiate atmosphere. Everyone is willing to help out. - There's the chance to get really involved in high-level work and decisions. - There is great excitement and momentum building towards our transformation to a Virgin company. - There is a new sense of purpose and direction with the new leadership team. - They are getting there on pay and benefits. For a small/mid-sized airline, we do ok. I, short, it is an amazing time to be part of something truly transformational.

    Show More

    Cons

    We're not quite there yet! The transition will be a long and sometimes painful, but necessary. There needs to be very significant changes to a lot of what is done, but there are some excellent people to be able to do that.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging the breaking down of silos. So much can be achieved simply by thinking outside of our boxes.

    Flybe2019-11-11
  8. "Left before the takeover - may not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flybe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall a friendly place to work

    Cons

    Directionless management, politics at higher levels

    Advice to Management

    Be better

    Flybe2019-10-23
  9. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flybe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly crew Family feel Roster preference Steady paced training Local airport bases

    Cons

    Roster can sometimes be tiring.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to crew reports! We submit them for a reason...

    Flybe2019-10-07
  10. "Made redundant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flybe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice base Friends for life Pay was okay

    Cons

    Made redundant after a year Put through training told everything was great and then told 6 months later we were to be made redundant via an email sent at 12 in the evening

    Flybe2019-11-04
Found 70 reviews