Forever 21 Assistant Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Assistant Store Manager

Forever 21 Assistant Store Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Forever 21 CEO Do Won "Don" Chang
Do Won "Don" Chang
39 Ratings
  1. "Survival of the Fittest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Forever 21 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is up to you if you want to grow from this chaotic experience or give up on the many challenges this company throws at you.

    Cons

    A combination of little communication and lacking resources do not set you up for success, and you will not find a nurturing culture here.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in and care for those you work with, because there is no "one-man-job" in any retail setting. You could be missing out on talent and potential talent by forgetting to lead and empower your peers and staff.

    Forever 212016-10-01
  2. "ASM of Merchandising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager of Merchandising in Columbus, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved what my job position consisted of. Potential for a company growth with right management team and staff.

    Cons

    Unorganized company, lack of training, lack of interest from upper management, high employment turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Get a good cohesive management team, work well and train together, build camaraderie from within management team, and have a great work ethic.

    Forever 212016-09-12
  3. "Operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager Operations in McAllen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, if you don't value customers or people you work with you will love this job. You will get no training or tools to complete your job role

    Cons

    "Run", this is the worst company to work in in Retail... The whole Company is not worth your time.. No organization, no accountability. The worst Upper Management

    Advice to Management

    Home Office HR, won't be any help they give a hot line numbers for grievances but then tell the management team everything you tell them in confidence

    Forever 212016-09-05
  4. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got a paycheck. I met new people Staying at the store til 2am and Taco Bell was still open. And I can't think of anything else.

    Cons

    Everything. After years of working in retail this was by far the absolute worst job I've ever had. So unorganized, paperwork is out of control, the store is always a mess. No direction from upper management, everything changes everyday. I wish I could give zero stars because this was the absolute WORST. Ten percent discount is like a slap in the face. Schedules came out the day before the week started.

    Advice to Management

    Quit your jobs.

    Forever 212016-07-06
  5. "Co-Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager Operations in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Forever 21 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary is good for the duties/position.

    Cons

    The changes that often occur. The lazy store associates that rarely come to work.

    Forever 212016-05-13
  6. "Company does not listen to stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience in fast pace clothing retail. Experience in managing large staff size. Clothing, though cheap, is on trend with runway designs.

    Cons

    Company does not listen to what stores need in order to succeed. Does not implement feedback from managers or employees.

    Advice to Management

    DM's need to get feedback from management other than SM and ASM.

    Forever 212016-04-05
  7. "it was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager of Service and Ops 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Forever 21 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fast paced fun clothing pay was okay enjoyed the overall job

    Cons

    they hired horrible management for Store manager 2 times in a row the process for investigations were horrible

    Forever 212016-03-17
  8. "Lost years of my life but gained myself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Miami Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Often great coworkers, style freedom, creative outlet. Day shifts go pretty quickly & visual projects are often given to managers so you van stay busy.

    Cons

    Preferential treatment to managers from the same store, young managers, long hours with short breaks. Stores are often understaffed so you have to do 3 people's jobs at once

    Advice to Management

    Don't have district managers who are best friends with store managers, of they grew up on the same block they shouldn't work together if it causes a problem for others

    Forever 212016-02-24
  9. "Forever21"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Tamuning, GU
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Forever 21 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family Oriented, Great balance between home and work life

    Cons

    None at the current moment

    Forever 212016-03-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Forever 21 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to take on new responsibilities Staff makes the job bearable Fast paced environment Fantastic brand marketing - company directives are clear and concise. Flexible shift work

    Cons

    Very little training - throw you into the deep end and you just hope that you don't sink- despite the training program that is in place and SHOULD be given. Communication is not a word that exists in the Forever 21 vocabulary. Upper management is unreliable and dismissive. Many individuals in management positions do not have tact and head office has no idea who they are hiring. Employee discounts are a joke!... 10% which isn't even equivalent to taxes here!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Harsher recruitment strategies should be implemented to obtain quality management Training programs should be followed

    Forever 212016-02-16
Found 74 reviews