Four Seasons Health Care Employee Reviews about "carers"

Updated Jan 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 359 reviews

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Four Seasons Health Care Chief Executive Jeremy Richardson
Jeremy Richardson
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some lovely residents which I miss(in 10 reviews)

  • "Staff are friendly , work well as a team & I enjoy spending time with residents(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor carers are training new staff - which yields poor standards of care(in 16 reviews)

  • "Poor management, it’s about who you know not what you know(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "carers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Rich CEO, poor care assistants

      Jan 14, 2021 - Care Assistant in Oxford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The residents- which has nothing to do with the company.

      Cons

      Corporate big shots high up don't care about the wellbeing or pay of the carers, without whom the business would be nothing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Four Seasons Health Care Response

      Recruitment Support Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of the concerns that you have raised and would welcome the opportunity to discuss these in more detail. Please could we ask that you kindly contact the Home Manager or Regional Manager for the care home in the first instance or alternatively the link to our complaints information is https://www.fshc.co.uk/feedback where additional contact information is provided. We look forward to hearing from you.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      long days, good residents, bad managment

      Jun 2, 2019 - Care Assistant in Limavady, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice to work with residents, and other carers

      Cons

      the management at the time were hard to work with. some people simply didn't turn up to work and we were left to do a three person job with one carer or two,

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      NEVER EVER COME HERE

      Feb 4, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New environment Met new residence Maybe learn something new

      Cons

      Where to start 1. Patients to staff ratio is shocking. Like 30 residence to two care staff and two nurses but if nurses are doing meds then that’s 2 carers to 30 patients and because it was a cic bed unit you would have patients that might need a Sara steady or hoist but if both of you are doing that who’s on the floor? Coupled with buzzers constantly going off of your hoisting or Sara steadying - who’s there to answer the buzzer? 3. Online training- it should be hands on - like actually show you stuff, moving and handing was really short 4. Uniforms didn’t actually get any for like 2 months and then they were to big so had to ask for different size which took even longer 4. Staff blame culture and clicking like if you weren’t one of the gang then they would make you life hell 5. At one point no gloves, aprons or even red bags 6. With out hot water and running toilets a whole weekend ( disgusting) then a week later everyone had sickness bug- go figure 7. no Proper cleaner- one for the whole building- expected night staff to do a lot of cleaning despite buzzers and under staffing 8. Always running out of bedding /towels as only had one laundry staff 9. Residence clothes would go missing as no way of naming them 10. Witnessed drag lifting of patients- they were in between a Sarah stead and hoist. 11. Never any proper things to give for supper like biscuits or cake ( even tho patients asked for it all the time) 12. No activity at all 13. Draws falling on me and patients as no screwed to a wall And finally 14. The lifts are out dated and ambulance crews can’t use stretches to take people out properly. We had to hoist someone in to wheel chair having a heart attack to take down stairs to hoist on to a stretch. That’s definitely a safe guarding issue Oh and my favourite not- you would have so many people waiting to use a toilet because they were assistance of two - by the time you got to help this after helping other people they had wet them selfs. That is not dignified or respectable- it’s abuse I left because o had a nervous break down.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      love my job but would like me time to spend with my residents

      Aug 21, 2015 - Care Assistant in Kirkcaldy, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working with elderly people with dementia. the company have good policies and training for dementia. they emphasise that everyone sees the person and not the illness using person centered care.

      Cons

      they use minimum staffing levels so we don't have much time to spend doing activities and one on ones with our residents. the carers spend more time with the residents so we tend to notice if one of them are not quite themselves unfortunately when we tell the nurses it is often ignored or brushed aside(this mainly happens with the non british nurses). if we whistle blow to the manager about a member of staff who is their friend or family member it is not kept confidential they tell the person and then get both members of staff in the office to discuss the problem. they will side with their friend or family member and it is never taken ant further.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      stress

      Mar 16, 2015 - Domestic Assistant in Cumbernauld, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      some staff give you credit where its due

      Cons

      terrible attitude from staff towards the good workers ,some senior carers think that they are management ,i am currently off sick since july 2014 due to stress not from the physical side of the job as a carer / domestic but from certain members of staff who are the lazy workers .and dont like being given a shown up . when managers are told of a complaint when you have one nothing gets done ,so the situation stays the same .bullying is rife also too many two faced workers too talking nice to you one minute then stabbing you in the back the next also other workers who have a different job e.g chefs and cooks getting involved in caring and domestic workers duties as that have nothing to do with them .some domestic workers take half hour or more break time than the allocated 15 minutes and over an hour for the half hour break this is mostly done at weekends when no managers are in the home or when the housekeeper has her days off , some times it is one and a half hours they take for lunch there is no follow up on what work is carried out to see if it is done to standard also cleaning schedules are filled in even if the cleaning has not been done ,saying that the work has been done no follow up in this area too

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Never again!

      Sep 16, 2015 - Care Assistant in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The carers I worked with were amazing! With how much rubbish we were put through we always managed to have a laugh with each other and get our jobs done. Was able to complete my NVQ 2 in Health and Social Care. Most of the residents we're a pleasure to look after.

      Cons

      Manage... Management, management management! They are the reason CQC are gunning for FSHC homes, they have no consideration for any of the staff or residents for that matter. All they seem to do day in and day out is sit in their office and spout orders out. I will never again work in a FSHC home because I refuse to be talked to like a child and being made to feel like I am unable to do my job right. Piles and piles of paperwork meant not having enough time to spend with the residents which is just unfair and in my opinion, abusive. What resident wants to watch their carers spend all day and night writing on paper!? Management do not run homes! It's all down to us carers and without us you wouldn't have a job!

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Awful place to work

      Dec 28, 2014 - Care Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Other care staff are friendly and do their best to help residents.

      Cons

      Where to begin? Management are more concerned with selling rooms rather than the actual care of the residents already in the homes. As a carer I get paid minimum wage for a very physically and mentally demanding job. You can sometimes be doing the job of others due to staff shortages - never even a thanks for your hard work let alone a reward for doing the extra work. The management of the home and regional managers seem to have absolutely zero respect for the care staff, they just see us as expendable to be replaced if/when we leave. I've never been spoken to as badly by a boss as I have working for Four Seasons health care. Residents are neglected due to the low staffing levels - management rarely leave their office's to help in such instances. The company seems to skimp by paying out the bare minimum for necessary items such as continence pads and hoisting equipment. There are absolutely zero benefits, its a minimum wage job, no sick pay, no extra pay on bank holidays, no reward for putting in extra work, zero chance of a promotions beyond senior carer. I would never ever recommend anybody work for this company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Treat staff better and you will have better working staff!

      May 4, 2016 - Care Assistant in Bristol, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the staff, the love of the job and of course the smiles on residents faces.

      Cons

      Having to work with some uneducated and unskilled staff. Having to work as a cleaner, cook, maid etc. When you only get paid minimum wage as a carer. This does not happen in hospitals or other care homes, effective care for residents stems from effectively doing your job, not trying to do 3 jobs at once ineffectively. Personally I have also had trouble with payroll - several times being underpaid as they cannot calculate basic arithmetic - therefore under paying you and expecting you to wait until next month. Now I have a much better job since leaving I no longer work for this company, however my last pay day was under paid by over £300. I am not waiting another month I have a mortgage to pay and bills and need to buy food. I have sent messages to head office but you have failed to respond with a reply?

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Care Assistant

      Apr 30, 2015 - Care Assistant in Yate, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, there are some caring and frindly people. Also education, they provide a lot of support for people to do NVQ's in heath and social care, to progress in their career.

      Cons

      The pay is terrible for a carer, minimum wage. Staffing is not very good. they will try to put as much work as they can get away with on one person. They give no employee benefits. not even a Christmas bonus or gift to say thanks. They are stingy with there budgets, where I work they keep cutting the activity budget so the residents have less and less stuff to keep them entertained and to look forward to. They provide very little specialist training in there homes, for example dementia training. They generally treat there staff poorly. The staff turn over in my place is very bad especially for managers and deputy managers, because they blame them for every little thing that is wrong instead of giving them the money they need to really sort out the problems, by updating equipment and facilities and bringing in more staff.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The residents are the driving force behind my work.

      Jan 19, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work with SOME great people (sadly not all) and the residents are lovely.

      Cons

      Staff are taken on to fill staff shortages - many are unskilled. The training is inadequate and inconsistent. Poor carers are training new staff - which yields poor standards of care.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Four Seasons Health Care Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Four Seasons Health Care? Share Your Experiences

    Four Seasons Health Care logo
    or