Four Seasons "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Four Seasons Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1104 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Four Seasons CEO John Davison
John Davison
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits - complimentary nights at all hotels(in 102 reviews)

  • "Comp nights for free night stays at FS(in 66 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours as expected in the industry(in 87 reviews)

  • "The work life balance for middle management was never a priority(in 85 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good only for the Cv"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Waiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Comp nights Staff food Dry cleaning Trainings

    Cons

    Long hours Not many promotions Salary basic

    Four Seasons2019-01-29
  2. "Great Company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved working for Four Seasons. It truly is one of the best companies. The comp nights are the best benefit. Also having one meal per shift is great, and free laundry for the uniforms. At my property, the entire team felt like a giant family. Truly a special feeling.

    Cons

    Long hours during season. Having to work all the holidays and having an irregular schedule.

    Advice to Management

    There is a lot of politics involved with internal position moves. I have had mid-level managers who were useless and incapabable, but due to internal "politics" the promotion was given.

    Four Seasons2018-10-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time

    Pros

    international team, super friendly, many career possibilities

    Cons

    low pay, long hours, expectation to work longer

    Four Seasons2018-09-25
  4. "Good company with a strong learning culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning new things every day, Good training, good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours but that is the nature of the business.

    Four Seasons2017-05-13
  5. "Amazing people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist in Whistler, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Four Seasons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots to learn in IT, really nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours, favouritism, have to work in different departments due to shortage of labour.

    Four Seasons2019-06-23

    Four Seasons Response

    July 2, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review as an Information Technology Specialist! We are sorry to hear about the concerns that you have expressed and encourage you to speak with your manager to help find the balance that you are looking for!

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Bellman 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Four Seasons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Comp Nights Great company Pay is really good

    Cons

    Long Hours MircoManagement The guest that stays with us are usually rough

    Four Seasons2019-05-07

    Four Seasons Response

    May 9, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review and letting us know that we’re on the right track! We love hearing reviews like this about what makes working at Four Seasons so special.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "The BEST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Four Seasons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Management does not let you get bored. - Tons of room for growth. - Management empowers you to make decisions on your own. - Health benefits are great; employee travel policies are even better - Compensation is good - Environment is created to make everyone get along

    Cons

    - Some crazy guests, but any hotel can have that. Besides unpleasant experience with some guests, everything else is sunshine. There are long hours, but I'm passionate about the business and company. If hospitality is not your passion, not the best match. Otherwise, come on in!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing in the big picture. Ask employees questions before jumping to conclusions on some things, but otherwise, perfect. Keep the core concept that you're only as good as your employees are.

    Four Seasons2019-04-13

    Four Seasons Response

    April 23, 2019Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review and letting us know that we’re on the right track! We love hearing reviews like this about what makes working at Four Seasons so special.

  8. "Hospitality at its best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Empowered employees to make things right. Everyone rolls up their sleeves to help.

    Cons

    Long hours as expected in the industry.

    Four Seasons2019-04-02

    Four Seasons Response

    April 8, 2019Content Strategist

    Thank you so much for your review and for your three years of service during your time at Four Seasons. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure it reaches the right places. Have a great day!

  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Food and Beverage Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Four Seasons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people who care about their work

    Cons

    Long hours which is a challenge of the entire hospitality industry

    Four Seasons2019-01-20
  10. "hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Four Seasons part-time

    Pros

    Great hourly wage, friendly staff

    Cons

    working Holidays and long hours

    Four Seasons2018-12-01
Found 1104 reviews