Four Seasons "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Four Seasons Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1102 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Four Seasons CEO John Davison
John Davison
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits - complimentary nights at all hotels(in 102 reviews)

  • "Comp nights for free night stays at FS(in 66 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours as expected in the industry(in 87 reviews)

  • "The work life balance for middle management was never a priority(in 85 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "FS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Four Seasons full-time

    Pros

    Amazing luxurious company to work for with a lot of benefits.

    Cons

    Sadly hotels industry do not provide work life balance

    Four Seasons2016-02-07
  2. "Catering Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Sales Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Four Seasons has great benefits and overall great people working for them.

    Cons

    The work life balance for middle management was never a priority

    Four Seasons2019-06-10

    Four Seasons Response

    June 14, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review and for your honest feedback as a former Catering Sales Manager. The wellbeing of our employees is important to us, and your feedback about work-life balance and management is helpful as we explore how to better the employee experience for both our guests ...

    Show More
  3. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook III 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Positive Work Environment, Free meals

    Cons

    Excessive Hours (i.e. poor work/life balance), Too much politics,

    Four Seasons2019-06-04

    Four Seasons Response

    June 7, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review and for your honest feedback as a former Cook. We're always looking for ways to improve and become better for both our guests and our employees. We will ensure your feedback about work/life balance and culture reaches the appropriate people.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "fake culture - midtown location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pay is higher than most hotels, free meals, and new skills

    Cons

    fake culture, lack of work/life balance, and managers (many not all) are incompetent

    Advice to Management

    Examples and attitudes should be lead from top to bottom. Do what you preach. Don't lie or play games. Be straight forward.

    Four Seasons2019-05-16

    Four Seasons Response

    May 17, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure it reaches the appropriate people. Thank you for your time at Four Seasons and best of luck in your future endeavors!

  5. "One of the best jobs I’ve had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Valet 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Four Seasons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The money is much better than most hotels. Lots of good people who work here. Standards keep you in check.

    Cons

    Schedule doesn’t always come out on time (sometimes two days prior) and some people are forced to work overnight shifts. This has had a big impact on my mental health and work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Want to be in the forbes best hotels to work for? Don’t force your employees to work overnight shifts. Listen to your employees if they’re unhappy. Evolve. Do a better job with scheduling. Quit picking favorites.

    Four Seasons2019-04-05

    Four Seasons Response

    April 11, 2019Content Strategist

    Thank you so much for your review and for your three years of service during your time at Four Seasons. We're so happy to hear you're enjoying the culture and compensation available at Four Seasons. We appreciate you taking the time to provide some feedback and will ensure we pass ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Management in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great benefits - Valuable learning opportunities -Quality of product -Company reputation

    Cons

    - Senior management quick to point fingers at others in order to deflect attention from their mistakes and inability to lead. -Work/life balance -High management turnover rate especially in F&B -Office politics among managers

    Advice to Management

    Senior Management: Provide guidance and support to your operational managers. Don’t default to finger pointing without throughly analyzing situations.

    Four Seasons2019-04-07

    Four Seasons Response

    April 11, 2019Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, and will ensure it reaches the appropriate places. Thank you for your time at Four Seasons and best of luck in your future endeavors!

  7. "Great company, okay management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Four Seasons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company offers many benefits, the culture between colleagues is phenomenal, and guests can leave an impact on you.

    Cons

    The depart managers seem unconcerned with their employees work life balance, they expect a lot with not much in return. The clientele can also be difficult to work with, it really depends on the guest.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t take your employees for granted, they do a lot for you and the company.

    Four Seasons2019-03-20
  8. "Wonderful company to work (hard) for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team with strong work ethic and professionalism, supportive culture, innovative, good health benefits + travel

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be a challenge, and it's very location/management dependent

    Advice to Management

    Stay open to creative and innovative ideas from everywhere - don't fall into the trappings of antiquated marketing

    Four Seasons2019-03-15
  9. "GRFO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Macau

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training, Some good colleagues, You are never left alone

    Cons

    Intimidating senior management; Hard work/life balance

    Four Seasons2019-01-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful Experience as a Pool Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pool Server in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Four Seasons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extensive training, competitive pay, upper-level management makes an effort to frequently visit Lower-level positions, interesting (and mostly nice) clientele, awesome coworkers, promoted from within

    Cons

    Potential for poor work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    Although the interview process is fairly extensive already, it would help to increase the intensity still - this would help separate people that won’t cut it at the Four Seasons (personality, skill, etc.)

    Four Seasons2018-11-10
Found 1102 reviews