Freddie Mac Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Freddie Mac Reviews

Updated Nov 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Freddie Mac CEO David Brickman (no image)
David Brickman
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Freddie Mac sets a work-life balance with inclusive engagement(in 206 reviews)

  • "Great benefits; great work/life balance; great management(in 74 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awsome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Awesome friendly amazing good

    Cons

    None None None None None

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-11-06
  2. "Great Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freddie Mac has been really reengineering its culture and becoming more efficient company. This is a great company if you want to learn and advance in your career

    Cons

    Everything takes time to move forward

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-10-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sometimes Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, interesting job, work/life balance

    Cons

    The culture change isn’t working, most jobs that are posted internally are already filled. It’s quasi government and bureaucratic

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-10-23

    Freddie Mac Response

    November 7, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to provide it.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architecture Technology Lead in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good smart people, diverse workplace

    Cons

    Culture is still old school

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-10-14

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 23, 2019HR Communications

    We're proud of our people and diversity at this company—thank you for being part of the team. In addition, we’re excited about the opportunities Agile practice offers on delivering value and appreciate your advice on how to progress.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not much opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Reporting Analyst 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for growth

    Freddie Mac2019-10-22

    Freddie Mac Response

    November 7, 2019HR Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review. Thank you for highlighting our comprehensive benefits and our commitment to work-life balance as the total well-being of our employees is a priority for us. To support your professional growth, we encourage you to explore the learning and development resources we offer and speak with your manager about the next steps in your career journey.

    Continue reading
  6. "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Vienna, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay checks do not bounce. Fitness Center for employees

    Cons

    Toxic environment. The single most nightmarish position I've ever held. Cut-throat, political and politically-correct, stifling bureaucracy. Managers allowed to lie and run amok and connected employees have freedom to bully and scheme. Please do not put yourself through this. Freddie Mac is broken down into several independent departments / divisions. Each one works as a stand-alone entity. They rarely talk to... each other. There is a lot of duplicate efforts happening within. Senior Management does not seem to have the experience or control. Plus, they will not listen to SMEs that have the experience they are trying to incorporate. IT side completely run by Indians and their contracting firms. Racist. No african americans, or white americans are hired. IT is dependent on using indian bodyshops like TCS, Hexaware, Brillio, and Cognizant to get rid of white americans. Complaints to HR go no where.

    Continue reading
    Freddie Mac2019-11-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great entry level position with tremendous benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multifamily Real Estate Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people, benefits, and compensation

    Cons

    The career progression is tough

    Freddie Mac2019-10-01

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 14, 2019HR Communications

    We appreciate you highlighting our inclusive environment and comprehensive benefits as the total well-being of our employees is a priority. If you are looking to grow your responsibilities and advance, we encourage you to talk to your manager about new projects you might take on and the next steps in your career journey.

    Continue reading
  8. "Work Life balance is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    get to work from home

    Cons

    management can be unorganized

    Freddie Mac2019-10-04

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 18, 2019HR Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for highlighting our focus on work-life balance as the total well-being of our employees is a priority. At all levels it's important to continue to grow, that's why we offer manager training to our senior leaders so they can be at their best in managing and supporting their teams.

    Continue reading
  9. "Talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Quantitative Analyst 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    You work with a lot of very smart and talented people

    Cons

    There’s some area where efficiency can be improved

    Freddie Mac2019-10-01

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 14, 2019HR Communications

    We’re proud of our welcoming and inclusive environment and are glad to hear you enjoy working with your fellow colleagues. As part of building a better Freddie Mac, we’re continuously working to refine our processes and create efficiencies in the way we work. We encourage you to share your ideas of how we can further improve with your manager.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great People but be prepared for a higher level of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Operations 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Great People Management makes an effort to listen to employees

    Cons

    Corporate politics were at level 11

    Freddie Mac2019-10-04

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 18, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We work hard to provide our employees more in return and appreciate your feedback. We wish you luck in your next endeavor.

    Continue reading
Found 912 reviews