Fresenius Medical Care - North America Patient Care Technician Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Fresenius Medical Care - North America CEO Fresenius Medical Care North America and Deputy Chairman of the Management Board Rice Powell
Rice Powell
15 Ratings
  1. "It's Was A Wonderful Feeling Caring For My Patients"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Technician in Normandy, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good. Benefits also you can choose how you work your days

    Cons

    Stressful Environment if you don't have good patients. It's Not For You

    Continue reading
    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2020-05-30
  2. "Good starting job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule for a full time

    Cons

    Shift can be long sometimes

    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2020-03-02
  3. "Great starter job"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician in Thibodaux, LA

    I have been working at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits when trying to get help with schooling.

    Cons

    poor pay, not enough bonuses.

    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2020-02-28
  4. "Not ideal place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Technician in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to do fufilling work

    Cons

    Most coworkers are selfish and are not as focused on patient care. Good managers are hard to find and are more concerned with themselves as opposed to patient care or staffing/schedule issues.

    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2019-11-04
  5. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician 

    I have been working at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time

    Pros

    Hands on training with proctor

    Cons

    There are Very early morning hours

    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2019-08-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "This was a good company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Technician in Oak Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work was easy and simple. You do the same thing over and over.

    Cons

    My boss lied about the schedule. It went based on seniority which would have taken me years to get the schedule I needed. I would have never seen my son if i worked there.

    Continue reading
    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2019-08-14
  7. "Not a bad job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Technician 

    I worked at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay/benefits, you get to become a family with the long hours

    Cons

    Long days, start out with 13 1/2 hours then before I left we were doing 16 hour days

    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2019-08-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Long hours, hard work, okay pay."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Preceptor Patient Care Technician in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is okay, coworkers are often intelligent and willing to work as a team

    Cons

    Say goodbye to good sleeping patterns, be prepared for ornery patients, some shifts are as long as 17 hours, short staffing seems to be a consistent issue with this company. If someone calls in sick it becomes very challenging and exhausting very quickly because rarely will anyone be available to come into work at 4am. Speaking of which, yes, our shifts start before 4am and at my clinic we have patients until 8:30pm. Those long days can be debilitating. Pay raises are typically once a year and they will be very small (hardly even matching inflation) if you don’t fight for yourself. The only way up the totem pole is through college, excluding the preceptor program, which is a decent new program at the company that teaches you to train new hires with an alright pay increase. Outside of that, you need your RN to do any other type of work. They do offer tuition assistance, so you can achieve it, but working these crazy hours and going to school at the same time is incredibly difficult. Especially because you need to stay as a full time employee during school semesters to be granted the $5,500/year tuition assistance. It is possible, but very difficult as a patient care technician. Probably a better route to take would be as a receptionist, because they have the steady 9-5 hours typically; allowing night classes to be a reality. When you have to be up at 2:30-3am to go to work, night classes become moot because you’ll quickly find you’re only getting 2-4 hours of sleep a night. Scheduling is often a large issue here too. We regularly don’t get our schedules until the Friday night preceding the following Monday to see what our next week will look like, it’s very very challenging to make plans with loved ones outside of work. You’ll find your too exhausted most of the time anyway.

    Continue reading
    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2019-06-01
  9. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility, room for growth in company, fast paced

    Cons

    Drama in workplace, hiring process takes forever

    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2019-05-12
  10. "Get it in writing"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fresenius Medical Care - North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are the number one provider of dialysis.

    Cons

    The management change their minds with the blink ok an eye. It is always best to get it in writing. It does not matter if you disclose it to them during your interview process; if it is not in writing it does not count and no one will acknowledge.

    Continue reading
    Fresenius Medical Care - North America2019-03-15
Found 57 reviews