G4S Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

G4S Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
G4S Chief Executive Officer Ashley Almanza
Ashley Almanza
511 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, different types of shifts(in 51 reviews)

  • "Decent pay, Good coworkers a lot of experience as a dispatcher(in 40 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 

    I have been working at G4S part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    G4S are a great employer

    Cons

    Can do more with respect to employer branding

    G4S2019-08-22
  2. "Run by the accountants in the last 4 years. Lack of entrepreneurial and innovative focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at G4S full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pension, Colleagues, Brand, Reputation, Career Growth, Customer engagement

    Cons

    Short termism High level of pressure Questionable view of employee welfare

    Advice to Management

    Fix the cons

    G4S2020-01-10
  3. "Good and enjoyable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wimbledon Steward in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at G4S full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good and caring management, took the time to listen to your needs. Colleagues were also fun to be around. Great atmosphere

    Cons

    Long hours, sometimes in the hot sun. Have to be alone sometimes and just stay attentive. This is however expected.

    Advice to Management

    Keep learning from the best managers, they are doing great.

    G4S2020-01-04
  4. "HMP Altcourse healthcare: Good pay, good training, shame about the management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Professional in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G4S full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is good and often and helps with revalidation and building up skills. The pay is better than the NHS and the work is varied and unique.

    Cons

    Poor structures and no processes Absent management who attend weekly meetings to be negative and tell staff off. Unsafe practice goes unchallenged. Zero notice on rota and poor work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your good staff and change the senior management behaviour to stop the exodus of staff. It doesn't need to be this difficult.

    G4S2020-01-22
  5. "Straightforward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Door Supervisor 

    I worked at G4S part-time

    Pros

    Decent salary and lots of job opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours and a lot of standing

    G4S2019-11-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Reduced Hoidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - G4S Security Officer in Oldham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at G4S full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get paid every month

    Cons

    Working for G4S was getting 28 days holiday until last year and it suddenly changed to 19.6 days because I work a 4 on 4 off shift pattern. This has not gone across the board on different contracts(which was advised) they still get 28 days holiday on a 4 on 4 off. It has not been sent out officially!

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with your staff and if your going to change something do it across the board.

    G4S2020-01-03
  7. "Overall Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Security Officer in Middlesbrough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at G4S full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very fair company to work for

    Cons

    Company has improved over the years and have became better to work for, hopefully it stays this way

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job by listening to your employers

    G4S2019-11-27
  8. "Don’t bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prison Officer in Bridgend, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at G4S full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None too much Graf not enough pay

    Cons

    Lots- constant stress and misery and never gone on time

    G4S2020-01-02
  9. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security 

    I worked at G4S part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can work when you want

    Cons

    There is Not that much work

    G4S2019-11-26
  10. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Safety Steward 

    I have been working at G4S part-time

    Pros

    easy and can choose when i want to work

    Cons

    boring, not much communication with anyone

    G4S2019-11-20
Found 1909 reviews
</>Embed