GAME Digital Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GAME Digital Reviews

Updated 20 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 185 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
GAME Digital CEO Martyn Gibbs
Martyn Gibbs
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Majority of the team are great people who love the brand(in 13 reviews)

  • "Staff discount is decent plus free merch like t-shirts etc is pretty cool if you're into games(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Head office completely out of touch with what goes on in stores(in 23 reviews)

  • "only find out your rota a week in advance(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operative/Team Lead in Basingstoke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent hours, good benefits such as staff discount, good working environment.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a lack of communication from management

    GAME Digital2019-03-05
  2. "Work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good ellaboration on skills relating with retail

    Cons

    You have to get searched every time you leave

    Advice to Management

    Try and learn names of your colleagues

    GAME Digital2019-05-20
  3. "Uneventful, but Easy Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Worksop, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Most staff are easy to get along with. Everyone shares the same interest. Each day is different. Very flexible.

    Cons

    Lack of real training. Online quizzes do not help in a practical sense. Expect training "senior" staff to think they're the boss of you. Days are relatively slow and uneventful. Low hours when not in peak times (any time except Christmas and big game releases.)

    Advice to Management

    Train sales assistants properly, don't leave them to do the online quizzes and expect them to be perfect at it. Ensure structure to the day and make sure messages get passed on to all staff members.

    GAME Digital2019-05-08
  4. "I am "Ironman" and the Real Regional Manager for Game Digital in London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager London and M1 in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Been working for Game for over 18 years and thought I would let everyone know why it is such a great company to work for after seeing another post the claims to be in my role. So here goes, on top of the great product that we get to sell and immerse ourselves, working at Game, the greatest reason why i have been an employee at Game is the constant challenge and development the business provides. I have had the privilege...

    Show More

    Cons

    There is little to no cons I can think off working for Game. Is retail and challenging. There is change happening in many businesses. It is has always been a challenging business to work for, but in the sense it creates challenge for us to solve and move forward. Successful individuals that can plan, that are organised, have great direction, understanding of the task ahead and are good at managing change do well, but...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    So finally to the management keep looking after the people in everything you do. Have a clear plan for the future that involves the business thriving and customers fueled up for all there gaming needs.

    GAME Digital2019-04-29
  5. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at GAME Digital part-time

    Pros

    Fun, like-minded, people all around you

    Cons

    Late shifts, management could be better in specific stores

    GAME Digital2019-04-23
  6. "Disorganised Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met some of my best friends working there.

    Cons

    Upper management. Store managers to a degree. Infighting between stores and manager. Oppressive targets despite lack of incentives etc.

    Advice to Management

    Don't outside hire. Outside hires have no idea how the business runs. Promote from within

    GAME Digital2019-04-29
  7. "Where to start..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The stores staff are all fantastic and if there is one thing good to say about the company it’s that you’ll probably make great friends here

    Cons

    First of all you will be set targets on everything however receive no reward for reaching these targets. Ridiculous micro management... For example having to make a personal call to the regional manager to explain why you didn’t sell a deposit. No effort to promote from within whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing. If you are going to set targets then reward people for reaching them otherwise nobody cares. Get rid of most of the upper management, it isn’t needed as much as more hours in stores are.

    GAME Digital2019-05-08
  8. "Great if you have the passion!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great job if the passion for games and similar areas are there, discount is good as well with up to 20% off of items. Love the free stuff and the fact I get knowledge of games before the public. Local discounts on our discount site are also good!

    Cons

    With most jobs no a days its all target and sales driven. Its not too bad at game but not a fan of the fact they dont really reward you for when you do hit figures and targets, its just kinda a well done and pat on the back. Other jobs get gift cards but we get nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Reward your staff. Verbal isn't good enough these days especially when you pay mostly minimum wage

    GAME Digital2019-03-14
  9. "Next in line to go bust"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GAME Digital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The managers and consultants in store

    Cons

    The shocking mismanagement by new head of stores, has no idea about the business and is only out to secure his own position. HR department are a disgrace to the profession, not only ignoring bullying but actively taking part. Glassdoor review is a complete fabrication as the HR team actively encourage store teams to post fake reviews to boost scores in order to "attract new employees" however the constant redundancies...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop burying your head in the sand, listen to the feedback, look at the terrible behaviours and realise you are being lied to daily in order for you to hear what you want to hear

    GAME Digital2019-04-18
  10. "Awful. Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GAME Digital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount. Cool freebies.

    Cons

    Zero work life balance . Overworked and underpaid. Head office completely out of touch with what goes on in stores.

    GAME Digital2019-04-14
Found 185 reviews