GCS Recruitment Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GCS Recruitment Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
GCS Recruitment CEO David Bloxham
David Bloxham
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 9 reviews)

  • "Career progression - I have had 3 promotions since joining GCS(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours, but that is expected in any sales/recruitment role, so it's barely worth mentioning(in 16 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GCS Recruitment full-time

    Pros

    -Offers outstanding training and continued guidance for those who are new to recruitment -Has a clear and enticing path of progression -Great work environment: It is great to enjoy your job but even better to enjoy the people you work with. GCS covers both

    Cons

    -Long working hours, but that is the life of a recruiter

    GCS Recruitment2018-11-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Okay place to work - long hours & pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GCS Recruitment full-time

    Pros

    Once you begin billing the senior management will love you. The London office also has a really good group of people, there was rarely a dull moment. Once you do start billing you can make a good amount of money.

    Cons

    The cons are more general recruitment cons to be honest, really long hours (8:30am-6pm - however you are expected to stay late most if not all evenings), KPI's, high pressure. If you don't bill fairly quickly the sack won't be too far away.

    GCS Recruitment2019-03-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good at Recruitment, if your face fits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resourcer in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GCS Recruitment full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Well established recruitment company with good client base and processes. Some very high billers as a result.

    Cons

    Your face has to fit. If it doesn't, you won't do well. Saw extensive bullying by top consultants that led to serious mental health issues in colleagues that wasn't addressed by peers/management.

    Advice to Management

    Stand up to top billers and make them treat people with respect.

    GCS Recruitment2018-11-27
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Should be renamed the white people's company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GCS Recruitment full-time

    Pros

    The fact they got bought by a bigger company to whip them into shape.

    Cons

    Extremely racist place, experienced racism first hand from "board members", they make fun of my name and ask me sarcastic questions about my religion. You only have to look at the diversity levels in this company, less than 5% of their total staff is non-white. They believe they can recruit "diverse" people but it is one thing to recruit and quite another to retain. Sexual harassment is a common occurrence, i have...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Time to change your racist and sexually abusive attitudes towards women.

    GCS Recruitment2018-10-23
  5. "A fun company to work at!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GCS Recruitment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team of people working

    Cons

    The way the company is run it benefits the big billers

    GCS Recruitment2018-08-16
  6. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GCS Recruitment full-time

    Pros

    Family-like feel, good rewards for highly performing consultants, good career progression

    Cons

    Long hours typical of recruitment, some teams have less management than others

    GCS Recruitment2018-07-16
  7. "review for previous employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at GCS Recruitment full-time

      Pros

      good enough company to work at

      Cons

      not enough training or management

      GCS Recruitment2018-06-28
    • "8 years in..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GCS Recruitment full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Having been promoted 6 times in 8 years, GCS has always given me a path to progress my career and climb the ladder. The management team has always taken on board the advice I've given as to how we can evolve as a business and there are not many recruitment businesses out there that would give their middle management the level of autonomy that we receive.

      Cons

      The recruitment industry itself is becoming a tougher place to work. There is lots of competition and sometimes it is a case of pure hard work and grit being the main cause of success. As a result, the age old argument of long hours comes up whenever we hire junior consultants but to be honest, it's not an enforced rule here, more so a by product of the industry as a whole.

      Advice to Management

      - Keep offering a rewarding environment that allows people to advance their careers. - Keep evolving as a business to keep up with the times. It's what will keep people wanting to work here.

      GCS Recruitment2018-03-09
    • "Working at GCS"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Consultant in Reading, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GCS Recruitment full-time

      Pros

      Belief in each employee. Opportunities are second to none. Fantastic working environment. Working with the best recruiters in the business. Always being pushed to be better and achieve greater things. GCS is not just a company, it's a family. They find out your strengths in your personality and work with them in creating the best recruitment consultant. Constant in house training allowing you to become better at...

      Show More

      Cons

      Could do with an office in Australia! YET!!!

      GCS Recruitment2018-02-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Thank you for making me choose GCS!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Manager in Reading, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at GCS Recruitment full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Career Progression - I joined as a Senior Consultant in 2012, now I manage a team of 9, I have shares in the business and i'm looking forward to what the future brings to us all! Stability - GCS have been going over 26 Years. Having survived a couple of recessions now, they are Financially very stable. It's also rare in Recruitment to find a Company with so many long standing people who are still so passionate about...

      Show More

      Cons

      Sometimes it takes a long time to get things changed which can be frustrating. Better offices and equipment has been long overdue. As was changing to smart casual attire! But I'm pleased we got there in the end and now we can work on the next!

      Advice to Management

      First never follows, let's be innovators! Some more remote working would help with work life balance. Try to involve people partners or friends in more company events! It will only spread the word about how great we are!

      GCS Recruitment2017-11-13
    Found 66 reviews