GE Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GE Reviews

Updated 21 February 2019
8,054 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
H. Lawrence Culp, Jr.
91 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance not maintained at quarter ends" (in 351 reviews)

  • "sometimes you have to work long hours" (in 182 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "IT Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Intern in London, England
    Former Employee - IT Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Multiple projects
    Amazing colleagues
    Amazing environment

    Cons

    Sometimes work overload with no overtime payment

    GE Response

    11 Oct 2018 – Global TA Communications Leader

    We love our interns, thank you!


  2. "For a first time job after university it is good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Good wage, friendly environment, good hours, flexible

    Cons

    No scope to progress within the role

    GE Response

    14 Feb 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for the recommendation!

  3. "GE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Location and opportunity to travel

    Cons

    Old fashioned culture, slow moving & very frustrating

    GE Response

    20 Feb 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Sorry to hear you don't recommend GE but appreciate your comments.


  4. "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    - nice atmosphere
    - working environment
    -

    Cons

    - low product quality
    - bureaucratic decision process

    Advice to Management

    -

    GE Response

    11 Feb 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thanks for your review!


  5. "Wonderful people, clunky systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    GE were dedicated to training and development of staff. I’ve not seen this at other companies I’ve worked at.

    Cons

    Really clunky systems. This may be expected for an organisation of this size.

    GE Response

    11 Feb 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Thanks for your review!


  6. "Chaotic lack of understanding kills customer confidence."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Manager in Rugby, England
    Current Employee - Quality Manager in Rugby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    If I think of any, I'll let you know!

    Cons

    Cost Cost Cost. Accountants rule the roost, at the cost of Quality, Safety and customer satisfaction.

    Advice to Management

    Calm the heck down! The org structure needs to stabilize, to avoid collapsing altogether.

    GE Response

    21 Feb 2019 – Social Media Consultant

    Sorry to hear this and we appreciate your feedback.


  7. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Brand name, good working environment

    Cons

    Time Demanding job, complex challenges,

    GE Response

    11 Jan 2019 – Employment Branding Partner

    Thank you for your feedback!

  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GE full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility and work life balance

    Cons

    Not treated equally across the board

    GE Response

    11 Jan 2019 – Employment Branding Partner

    Glad to hear you are able to maintain work/life balance! We appreciate your recommendation. We are sorry to hear your feedback about equal treatment; we strive to cultivate a welcoming environment... More


  9. "Highly recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working here. Great company.

    Cons

    nothing that I think of

    GE Response

    11 Jan 2019 – Employment Branding Partner

    Great to hear, thank you for sharing!


  10. "Weak or no career evolution plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at GE full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities within the company, present in more than hundred countries.

    Cons

    The company is a century old, as its culture. A technology industrial complex held back in the past. No clear career plan, except for the very few in the management trainees programs.

    GE Response

    11 Jan 2019 – Employment Branding Partner

    Sorry to hear you don't recommend GE but appreciate your comments. We work hard to train our people leaders to maintain an environment of development. We don't always get it right and we will take... More