GLOBALFOUNDRIES Senior Member of Technical Staff Reviews

Updated 12 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
GLOBALFOUNDRIES Chief Executive Officer Thomas Caulfield
Thomas Caulfield
5 Ratings
  1. "Happy to be at GF"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time

    Pros

    Good merit increase program / salary differentiation

    Cons

    Top-down management style can be confining for engineers

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2020-05-12
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Need to stabilize"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Malta, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to learn, lots of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Too dynamic change in the management and thus changes in company direction too frequent. This wasted a lot of time and effort and employees are then losing confident to the company

    Continue reading
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-12-13
  3. "Good place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member Technical Staff 

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time

    Pros

    Many benefits like sudexo, internet reimbursement, pay part of parent insurance.

    Cons

    Parents insurance is not part of existing plan.

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2019-08-13
  4. Helpful (18)

    "Low Morale and Struggling to Survive"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in East Fishkill, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are some very good and well-meaning co-workers "stuck" at the deteriorated office facility in East Fishkill due to the "perceived" lack of high tech jobs in upstate NY area.

    Cons

    The start-up company morale has been very low with a discouraging outlook for a very long time. There are pockets of "disrespectful managers" whose condescending, harassing, and discriminatory behaviors are promoted by their management. There is a network of "ole buddies" protecting their "yes-man circle" from all the finger-pointing as the ship sinks. There is overwhelmingly fierce competition from top competitors who are far ahead with leading technologies.

    Continue reading
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2018-11-26
  5. "Senior Member of Technical Staff"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Ballston Spa, NY

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive compensation if you work hard.

    Cons

    Uncertain direction and mixed messages from management

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2018-10-29
  6. "Challenging foundries working environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Member of Technical Staff in Yishun New Town, North
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES

    Pros

    Meet many nice and talented people

    Cons

    Lean in resources, tight schedule

    Continue reading
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2018-10-01
  7. "Good place to learn.. not long term"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Malta, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of projects to choose from and learn if you are able to cut through barriers. I worked in development/research (not directly in the manufacturing line). Ability to work with many teams and gain skills perpendicular to your area

    Cons

    Long term roadmaps are missing from the company - and there are lots of changes despite good intent. This may be the problem of being private - so decide accordingly

    Continue reading
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2018-09-24
  8. Helpful (24)

    "Wasted Years"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Malta, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There really isn’t much to be positive about. I quit, couldn’t stay and wait for the inevitable lay-off any longer. I tried, that’s positive, I guess.

    Cons

    GF Fab8 has awful middle and worse upper management. I ignored the Glassdoor reviews and took a job at Fab8, HUGE mistake! I had never experienced engineering management with zero accountability, until Fab8. Even an average engineer like me can see the problem in AME is at the top,. What does it take to remove the Clarkson grads? They have cost this company so much money it’s unbelievable they remain at the helm of this rudderless ship. There are really three drivers of incompetence at play here. I don’t see it as a regional deficiency, so there is still hope for the place if they cleared out management team. 1. The IBM and Charter management is utterly absent talent. What talent they did have, they laid off to protect their incompetence. As the saying goes, in good companies ideas win and in bad companies politics wins. Well, Fab8 is all politics. These people drove Charter out of business and IBM paid GF to take this group out of their organization. There is plenty of evidence that this team is driving GF Fab8 into the same abyss. 2. Really good engineers leave this place the moment their two year commitment is satisfied. It’s always tough to keep good talent when you put morons at the helm. 3. HR, they are truly horrible at Fab8. This too starts at the top. HR has employees working daily to produce reviews on this site, to counter the truth about this horrible company. Ask yourself, if you were in management, is that the approach you would take if you wanted to fix the problems at Fab8? Yeah, that’s how incompetent these people are, true incompetence, This kind of moronic incompetence you don’t find every day, unless you take a job at GF Fab8.

    Continue reading
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2018-10-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Malta, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at GLOBALFOUNDRIES full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great technology, many opportunities and management is very helpful to the best of their ability.

    Cons

    Just about zero training budget and company as a whole should work to improve disciple.

    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2017-01-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "uncertain future with long way to go"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Member of Technical Staff in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GLOBALFOUNDRIES for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relatively good work life balance

    Cons

    Too much politics, and too frequent management change

    Continue reading
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES2016-05-14
Found 15 reviews