GSM London "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GSM London Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 9 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
24%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
GSM London Partners in BDO LLP Matthew Tait and Tony Nygate (no image)
Matthew Tait and Tony Nygate
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've recently returned to GSM London after several months away(in 8 reviews)

  • "Genuine ethos and committment to make things better for students snd staff from senior management(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some of the Senior Management really need to stop bullying their staff(in 10 reviews)

  • "To the user, I say: If this helps alleviate the nausea that comes with realising you work or study at GSM London, you have my sympathy(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Loving my job,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GSM London full-time

    Pros

    Really supportive managers and academic faculty. I can honestly say I have never worked anywhere that the staff are so supportive. Lots of great new initiatives coming to make the college better for staff and students Lovely atmosphere with opportunities to learn lots Improved staff benefits with more coming Genuine ethos and committment to make things better for students snd staff from senior management

    Cons

    There are very few for me as I really feel the experience has been so positive and has helped me develop for a future career elsewhere as and when needed.

    GSM London2016-06-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Passionate employees but lack of investment from the board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GSM London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to get involved in various projects and learn. Generous holiday allowance. Some good middle and senior managers with good experience and mentoring.

    Cons

    Feeling that the business owners just sweep the profits with a minimum investment into students or employees. Terrible HR team in terms of communication. Need to sort out their remuneration strategy and offer an equal pay. Most of the staff are logged off their phones so impossible to get hold of

    GSM London2019-01-09
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Awful! Glad I left not a place I would recommend to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at GSM London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff other than managers and Exec are nice to work with

    Cons

    Some of the Senior Management really need to stop bullying their staff. Exec don't seem to care, there is also a lot of back biting at top level. Can be a toxic environment to work in

    Continue reading
    GSM London2018-02-08
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Awful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GSM London

    Pros

    Location maybe? The principal of what the college is supposed to stand for. Hopefully they will improve soon as not many pros at the moment unfortunately

    Cons

    The Senior management are not supportive of staff, lots of infighting between teams and the HR department not helpful. A lot wrong.

    Continue reading
    GSM London2018-01-14
  5. Helpful (14)

    "One big family of bullies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GSM London

    Pros

    Cheap but poor quality food in the canteen. Good location. Great students. Library services.

    Cons

    No induction or nothing could prepare you for what you will go through at GSM London. GSM is a unique place in a sense where you will be bullied openly and recklessly, where your identity, personality and "being" will be destroyed through systematic harassment and bullying, where you will see half dozen of siblings working in the same department next to each other, where you will be excluded from all sorts of benefits and perks if you refuse to worship your line manager who is most likely a - disqualified and incapable of achieving any task academic - good friend of the senior management or if you are not one of those privileged members who are well-protected by the senior management no matter what. You will receive the rudest and nastiest emails- in your life - from your line manager as well as from the senior management and you will be told off very frequently for no apparent reason. You will barely see the well-paid top managers around whilst your attendance will be strictly monitored and reported to your line manager by your work colleagues. Although GSM London promotes itself proudly as a widening participation focused institution, the mentioned group is not students but the staff themselves. Some of the members of the senior management are proud of themselves by holding well-paid high-end positions within the organisation thanks to their links to the senior management and to their habit of reading women magazines where they can learn everything they need to know to manage their jobs from.

    Continue reading
    GSM London2017-04-03

    GSM London Response

    April 7, 2017

    I am very sorry that you feel this way about your time working at GSM London. I can’t speak about what may have been the case in the past, but since I took up the CEO role last October I have spent time talking to a range of staff and the impression I get does not match the working culture you describe. I am personally committed to openness and transparency and have been happy to field questions at two all staff briefings over the past few months. At times this has meant some pretty tough questioning, but I think it is important for staff to be able to hold the College leadership to account. While I obviously cannot comment on your specific accusations, please be assured that we take the issues you raise incredibly seriously. Put simply, we will not tolerate any incidences of workplace bullying or staff being unsupported by managers. The College has recently introduced a new initiative called ‘Speak Up’, aimed at encouraging staff to raise concerns and be confident that they will be addressed. The initiative includes a new whistleblowing policy as well as EXPOLINK - an independently run, free to call and confidential service for staff and students to report any concerns. We have also invested in an Employee Assistance Programme to provide all staff with support on a wide range of personal and professional issues. Finally, there is always the grievance policy that allows employees to formally raise issues regarding their work contract and conditions. Please be reassured that making sure that GSM London is a great place to work is one of our top priorities. Action will always be taken to a put a stop to anything that detracts from this. Chris Holmes President and Chief Executive Officer, GSM London

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not the finished article but going in an exciting direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at GSM London

    Pros

    I worked with GSM London as a consultant over the course of a year before coming on board as a full time member of staff, mainly because i'm excited to be part of something so innovative. This is a higher education institution that is genuinely trying to do things differently by creating opportunities for people who might otherwise be excluded from higher education. In my time working with the College i've worked with people at every level - from front line delivery to senior management - who are genuinely committed to making a difference. I've also found that senior leaders respect professional expertise and are open to (constructive) challenge.

    Cons

    If you're after a cushy life this is probably not the place for you! There is a lot of change happening and expectations are high. I can understand how this can be a bit unsettling for some - particularly those unused to leaders not willing to hand hold. On the other hand, there are times when the pace of change is not fast enough. Like any organisation that has been around for a long time there are a few issues and pockets of bad practice that have been allowed to linger. Progress is being made - there is a new set of policies and regulations and a lot of operations are being refined - but is still a long way to go. This is also not the place for anyone prejudiced about 'the wrong types of student'. This is a College with a social mission to educate students from a wide range of backgrounds, and the reality of this can sometimes be a challenge. If you're more used to a traditional university with nice, polite middle class teenagers you may find life at GSM a challenge. But if you're willing to be open minded you'll find a lot to be inspired by.

    Continue reading
    GSM London2016-08-15
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Horrendous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Maths Teacher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GSM London

    Pros

    The rare opportunity to have so many self-obsessed, talentless, insecure, bullish, self-promoting ego-maniacal managers/senior managers/permanent teaching/academic/HR staff housed under one roof- It should be filmed as an interesting insight into nepotism, cronyism and the psyche of the desperate. Far more vacuous than the Kardashians.

    Cons

    Everything and everyone associated with this organisation. A game of snakes and ladders. Complete disregard for the de-franchised . increasing numbers of students are receiving public funding in the form of loans and grants to study at this institution. Providing loans for these students means that public money is being allocated to GSM and the spiralling cost of this funding is seen as a cause for concern. Management are not fit and proper to run an educational establishment involving Higher education. It has been suggested that students at some private providers have wrongly been given access to student support; allegations have also been made about the authenticity of some students at private colleges and it has been suggested that some providers have given misleading information to the Student Loans Company. The list here is endless and the students who want to succeed suffer as this institution is about lining the pockets of the fat cats and their pathetic cronies.

    Continue reading
    GSM London2016-06-07
  8. Helpful (17)

    "I Wish I Could Give it ZERO Stars. (STAY AWAY!)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Adviser in Greenwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GSM London

    Pros

    The lower level staff are lovely and know how to have a laugh even when being beaten down by politics and lies. This is the only pro. there really is nothing else good about GSM

    Cons

    1. Unsafe working environment - students are free to spit at you, throw chairs at you and threaten to hurt you and the company lets them return as if nothing happened! 2. CEO is ignorant and doesn't care about the lower level staff 3. no one actually knows what the company goal is.. (What happens when TDAP fails?! we all know it will...) 4. Complete favouritism, if a senior manager likes you and you gossip with them they look after you 5. Icing on the cake is they hire in managers on an interim basis who leave after 4 months or just bully employees. 6. HR are useless and never help you - inexperienced and LAZY. 7. No employee incentive programs. 8. HR gossip about personal issues 8. Average life of a good employee is max 3-4 month. (or they sack you) 9. They recently restructured a similar department to mine – ended up losing a good manager (who always had peoples backs and had managed to stay with the company a few years somehow) to redundancy and forcing the remaining staff to jump through hoops, yet 3 months later NOTHING has changed – (how is the restructure working for you now senior management? The service looks soooo much better (!) 10.Pay is low, Hours are long and they encourage your co workers to spy on you – promoting a snitch culture. 11. Yearly bonus was removed yet everyone knows certain favourites got a bonus. 12. they forced managers to score their teams low in the mid year ratings so that they wouldn’t qualify for a pay rise. I could go on but why bother. This place is hell. If you are looking for work GO ELSEWHERE.

    Continue reading
    GSM London2016-05-11
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Stay clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Finance Officer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GSM London full-time

    Pros

    People. The people here make this place and most really work hard to try and make things better for the students. Training given within the team was also very good, however varies with each department.

    Cons

    The place is a circus when looking at how senior management runs the place. Brown-nosing is rife as it appears to be the only way to progress so prepare to be stabbed in the back. Even potentially by your own manager if that makes him/her look better. Never seen "office politics" on this level before. Pay is awful, promise of bonuses which never materialised and the locations between the two campuses are very far apart if you are expected to travel between the two. The place is set up to bleed money from students so if you have some morality you will find it difficult to stomach this place.

    Continue reading
    GSM London2016-02-20
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Do not bother wasting your time or energy at GSM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GSM London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff for the most part. Most teams get along and everyone is pretty sociable. This can lead to a laid back atmosphere in most teams which is quite good more often then not.

    Cons

    Ermmm pretty much everything at this point to be honest. I've seen other reviews that say GSM is fast paced or not for the faint hearted. I prefer the term unorganised, nothing in this place is truly planned for other than not paying staff correctly or making excuses in not being able to pay bonuses. Everything in GSM is "improving in phases" according to senior management. This is a company that at one point had one person as a HR department -_-. Following that a new head was put into place with an actual team and all they could do was apologise every time an issue was brought up to them rather than actually resolve them. Minutes were conveniently lost or misplaced so meetings never had factual back up’s. Now through to the latest incarnation of HR, you have a team that literally ignore claims and requests. I can appreciate that a HR department is there to protect the company as well as see employees are treated fairly (conflict of interest???) but surely there should be procedures or at the very least guidelines in places. It seems you can only get things resolved by putting serious pressure on every person involved, testimonies are not taken and rather than actually dealing with issues at hand you're constantly giving the run around. The same goes for the majority of managers "I'm looking into it give me some time" for weeks/months on end. Nobody below senior management is actually respected or valued apart from the very few that are favourites of management. I quote "You're all replaceable" is something I've heard many times over the years. There's trying to motivate your team in different ways then completely demoralising them. This place will literally will suck the energy and productivity out of you if you allow it too. You can work yourself to the bone, do everything asked and beyond but it’s never enough. You'll never do enough to get any more than a 2% rise if anything at all because the company don't want to pay anymore. Bear in mind the large majority in the company are underpaid and in some places criminally so in my opinion. Staff salaries were benchmarked by Hayes and apparently compared against roles everywhere else but nobody has ever seen the result of this and certainly haven't had any rises. You will get screwed out of commission/bonuses constantly and having written agreements reneged on. But that's only if you're fortunate enough to get an actual contract at some point in your employment. If you change roles within the company don't expect any type of formal change, at best you will be given an amendment letter and if you request your contract you will be met with a wall of silence. I've actually been asked for a copy of my contract when I haven't had one for TWO years. You only get 5 sick days in a calendar year which to me is unheard of in most businesses. What happens if you happen to even have a bad cold a few times in a year god forbid anything more serious. Non-existent benefits 1% pension contribution that wasn't voluntary and when trying to opt out being told it wasn't possible. Not to mention if you're in a student facing role you will definitely get screamed at a few times. Some of these are definitely people with mental issues. But a large proportion of them are people that have been pushed to the absolute edge by GSM. Some of the stories I've heard from students have been horrific at times. Students have lost their homes because they've been told when to expect student finance and not received for another 3 months. Fair enough you shouldn't bank your life on student finance but its still terrible advice Once people are in "the system" everything goes downhill, any online promotion gets tons of hateful comments by bitter current or ex-students. Last couple of points here (I could go allllll day long) No bonuses were paid this year as the company didn't meet targets which could be a bit more understandable if we didn't withdraw tons of students in the first 2 weeks as we don't have satisfactory attendance tracking systems. Student's ID cards don't work or their timetables are wrong so they have no registered attendance and get withdrawn. No bonuses were justified by saying "at least we didn't have to make redundancies" which they did 3 years ago with "last in, first out" policy dropping about 20 people across both campuses.

    Continue reading
    GSM London2015-12-19
Found 17 reviews