Games Workshop Reviews

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Games Workshop CEO  Kevin Rountree (no image)
Kevin Rountree
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, good compensation(in 6 reviews)

  • "High level of autonomy, large employee discount, good bonuses based on sales growth(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper Management will only help those who they deem worthy of it(in 11 reviews)

  • "Not really any cons, even if you are not into the hobby they are still a great employer(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hardwork is rewarded and so is passion"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exciting and growing company that values its people as well as profits.

    Cons

    Not everyone works as hard as others. This can be frustrating when you meet them.

    Continue reading
    Games Workshop2019-10-03

    Games Workshop Response

    January 31, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate your comments.

  2. "Not Bad, not great either"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Games Workshop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Friendly Staff + Nice Environment + Great training + Willing to work with student schedule + Opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    - Company attitude that their products are the best and you should only say good things to people. - Standards are very high re: appearance (no sitting, no slouching etc) - Often required to work through lunch, no proper breaks as you cannot leave the store unattended nor can you close while you have a break.

    Games Workshop2020-05-14
  3. "Mostly positive"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice culture, loads of people stuck around so it is a good sign

    Cons

    It takes a while for any decision to be actioned

    Games Workshop2020-01-19

    Games Workshop Response

    January 31, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Your constructive feedback is really appreciated.

  4. "Worker"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Nottingham, England

    I worked at Games Workshop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice and easy job as i heard from manu muttual friends that works there

    Cons

    I dont know any Downs

    Continue reading
    Games Workshop2020-01-07

    Games Workshop Response

    January 31, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate your comments.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great job not so great pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mould Maker in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job is fun and the people are fun to work with

    Cons

    Pay is not great Advancements are about who you know

    Continue reading
    Games Workshop2019-12-03

    Games Workshop Response

    January 31, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We’re delighted to offer a profit share scheme, where employees are rewarded for their contribution. However, we appreciate your constructive feedback.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "The good the bad and the ugly!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Oh, Games Workshop. Staff are often quite quirky and friendly. There is a real sense of family at GW, with many staff staying for years. The company is generous in terms of benefits and the canteen is superb, having just undergone a refurbishment.

    Cons

    Management often have no experience or knowledge of their profession, being hired for fit over skill. Sometimes this leads to a gross misunderstanding of what can be achieved. Siloed structure. Even within departments, job roles can be quite misunderstood by colleagues so available tools and resource can be underutilised by different teams. This is mostly offset by the fact you can't really stay annoyed at people because they're generally lovely if a bit daft.

    Continue reading
    Games Workshop2019-09-29

    Games Workshop Response

    January 31, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate your positive comments and constructive feedback about where we can improve.

  7. "A tale to the outside"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop

    Pros

    The help you with the recolocation and it is a really good job to increase your communication, negotiation and sales skills. Also they do an amazing induction for the new starters and the team is international

    Cons

    Thought job... like really really thought, you will have to give the 100% from the beginning and keep improving.

    Games Workshop2019-07-24
  8. "Global family business"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Niche business, vertically integrated and unique culture

    Cons

    Local implantation worldwide without a global structure - too UK centred

    Games Workshop2019-05-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Games Workshop full-time

    Pros

    GW is a unique and quirky place to work. Managers want to support their staff and there are lots of opportunities to develop and progress. GW has a very diverse workforce allowing fora variety of experience and insight.

    Cons

    Needs to catch up with being a big business. Some senior managers are very stuck in their ways.

    Games Workshop2019-03-10
  10. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Games Workshop full-time

    Pros

    Great teams and a general sense of camaraderie

    Cons

    Nothing that is relevant to Games Workshop alone

    Games Workshop2018-10-18
Found 115 reviews