Gap General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for General Manager

Gap General Manager Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
35 Ratings
  1. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive for GM salaries in the local area

    Cons

    The bonus structure makes it very difficult to increase income through performance.

    Advice to Management

    Provide greater incentives for those who can impact sales growth profitably.

    Gap2020-01-09
  2. "Gets the bills paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great health and 401 K benefits

    Cons

    crazy hours... No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees

    Gap2020-01-03
  3. "Nowhere better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time

    Pros

    Respect, pay, rewards, reputation, growth

    Cons

    Limited growth to next level, micro managing, over complicated focus and processes

    Gap2019-11-07
  4. "A circus with no help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was ok to start

    Cons

    No help from higher up with. Unreasonable deadlines and deliverables.

    Advice to Management

    Support your first line employees

    Gap2019-10-10
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I loved my time at the gap. The company has a great culture. From volunteering to throwing events for the customer we had fun other than just selling jeans. I was able to move around a lot and create some great exposure for myself.

    Cons

    Hard to make work/life balance work for yourself. Schedule was all over the place. And days were long.

    Gap2019-08-03
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Selinsgrove, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, scheduling, people, product, and values

    Cons

    Work/life balance, leadership, management/employee retention

    Gap2019-07-22
  7. "Tough place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Product is good, closing stores that are under performing

    Cons

    Credit card push, running out of basics, not understanding their markets. Cold weather is not the same everywhere

    Advice to Management

    If you constantly push something in a market you will lose customers with the high pressure. Produce quality products and allow people to see them.

    Gap2019-08-02
  8. "Good company...fast paced...competing priorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work environment, benefits, people, top specialty retailer

    Cons

    downsizing, competing priorities, Old Navy splitting off

    Advice to Management

    simplify work and be less reactive

    Gap2019-05-21
  9. "Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Career growth -Nice clothes -4 weeks vacation

    Cons

    -Poor organization -zero resources to accomplish goals and expectations. -no work life balance - associates make very little money. Hard to retain staff -very old stores and fixtures. Corporate will not fix them. -goals and expectations are enormous -company has abandon gap and only focuses on the other brands. -0 recognition

    Advice to Management

    Listen.......... just listen

    Gap2019-05-31
  10. "Feeling Underwhelmed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits , Experience , Growth, Discount

    Cons

    It’s really demotivating that we are the parent brand of Gap Inc and receive the least of everything. The GMs don’t even get celebrated with a GM conference like all of our sister brands.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t know. Do Better. A fun brand turned boring, for both the customer and the staff.

    Gap2019-04-10
Found 88 reviews