Gap Inc. Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Gap Inc. Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 864 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Gap Inc. CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
347 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work life balance: many are expected to do overtime especially ahead of big store visits(in 44 reviews)

  • "constant restructuring of upper management(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analsyt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Amazing Environment to work in.

    Cons

    to be honest no cons..

    Gap Inc.2017-11-08
  2. "Never work for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Honesty and hard work is not the best policy

    Cons

    The management team are hippocrites

    Advice to Management

    Change your mentality and bring equality amongst all your staff. You clearly don't treat sales staff with upmost respect that they truly deserve. Integrity should mean everything to the senior management but they treat sales staff like crap.

    Gap Inc.2019-03-25

    Gap Inc. Response

    April 12, 2019Company Representative

    We are disappointed to hear about your experience and take this feedback to heart. At Gap Inc., we believe that all members of our team should be welcomed and respected. We read all of these reviews and will keep your feedback in mind as we work to drive positive change across the ...

    Show More
  3. "SALES ASSOCIATE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent If It's your first experience in retail. Good opportunities if you want grow.

    Cons

    If you are looking for full-time job, this is not for you as most of employees work part-time.

    Gap Inc.2019-03-03

    Gap Inc. Response

    March 18, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We're happy to see you note our career growth opportunities as a pro. Many of our longest tenured employees got their start in fashion at one of our stores!

  4. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Nice team, easy job, flexible and tolerant environment

    Cons

    Not very well organized, constant change in management and colleagues

    Gap Inc.2019-01-15
  5. "senior slaes uk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenhithe, England
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    socially progressive company, great relationships, good discount

    Cons

    disjointed as a company between online and in store, some micromanagement from above store-level

    Gap Inc.2018-10-10
  6. "Great people but work-life balance not so good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Culture of giving back to the community; great employees who are passionate about the company.

    Cons

    Sometimes a disconnect HQ to stores, very US-centric with little room to grow or be creative in Europe. Has become all about promotions and making money without thinking about workload or people development.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in employee engagement and development. Get a better product which people will buy at full price, rather that discounting all the time!

    Gap Inc.2018-09-24

    Gap Inc. Response

    October 2, 2018Company Representative

    Thank you for your review and your ten years of service! We are committed to the growth and development of all our employees at any level or location. We believe in setting all of our employees up for success by offering comprehensive resources to employees to help them improve their ...

    Show More
  7. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap Inc. part-time

    Pros

    Lovely co workers, target driven for sales and after sale services useful experience for commission based sales.

    Cons

    Customers have no respect for the shop or its workers

    Gap Inc.2017-12-22
  8. "Lovely supportive company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate and Keyholder in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities for those who seek them! Don't judge a book by its cover. The business is a wonderful place to be. Many happy years in GAP stores.

    Cons

    Pay is minimal. Not much room for internal progression within a single store. If you are willing to move around, more opportunities arise.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Don't let visual standards overshadow sales advancement opportunities.

    Gap Inc.2017-05-18
  9. "Good to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc.

    Pros

    very nice place and enjoy to working with

    Cons

    there are no cons here

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    Gap Inc.2016-08-31
  10. "Really good first working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Southsea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap Inc. part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The management team were very flexible with hours when I needed to swap shifts around for studying reasons or needed time off. Everyone was very friendly and it felt like a family.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great but it was comparable to other retail stores. Having to be told when to go to lunch or when to go home was often a problem when senior members of staff forgot.

    Gap Inc.2016-08-11
Found 864 reviews