Gap Employee Reviews about "great discount"

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 329 of over 7,622 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Mark Breitbard
Mark Breitbard
374 Ratings
Pros
  • "The employee discount was awesome(in 507 reviews)

  • "Amazing people, good benefits and great discount(in 329 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Pressure to push store credit cards(in 269 reviews)

  • "long hours, a lot of manual labor(in 158 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Gap

    Join the conversation on

    Consulting Exit Opportunities

    2m

    a 

    Manager

    Any one exited to Gap? What’s their culture like there? Yeah i know, not FAANG, tech or FS, very unexciting 😂

    13

    12 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "great discount"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Management needs help

      Nov 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and great discount

      Cons

      Not enough managers and customers were pretty rude sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer Service Assistant

      May 10, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount for staff both on full price and sale No strict uniform - just wearing Gap clothes

      Cons

      Hourly rate was quite low

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Gap Response

      Company Representative

      We're proud to offer all of our employees a wide variety of benefits, including an employee merchandise discount across our family of brands. We're happy to see you note this as one of your pros!

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Gap - Supervisor

      May 14, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      uniform isn't as strict and great discounts on gap merchandise

      Cons

      Depends on which store but the pay is absolutely terrible and I was told by a manager on interview that's one of the main reasons why people had left the company due to the pay , same with myself then also having to take on a lot more responsibilities than expected or explained

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Visual Manager

      Nov 13, 2017 - Visual Merchandising Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount, big company and lots of great people to meet and develop with

      Cons

      Little pay increase for management, not valued for amount of work you fit in to 40 hours, job roles changed without consultations therefore expectations were greater for the same pay.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Student job - great!

      Sep 13, 2017 - Store Assistant in Banbury, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount, well structured, friendly management, I really enjoyed my time with Gap. I worked across 2 stores whilst at Uni and found both equally good.

      Cons

      Occasionally limited hours for some staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Don't bother!

      Jun 8, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Forged some very good friendships - all walks of life Amazing charity events put on for the community Great discounts and promotions for staff (50%) and public everyday

      Cons

      Focus of business is heavily placed upon visuals rather than essential sales, training, delivering customer service or security compliances. In the London area very short staffed, often only two people on closes mainly senior sales leaving them in vulnerable situations.. The products always on yo yo discounts up and down providing everything cheap only after the product arrives. Execution of plans never follow through -managers don't motivate or delegate staff..no incentive for sales team only visuals. Every day numerous promos confusing customers. marketing is misleading in turn forming arguments with customers as never made clear. Terrible treatment of staff ..Very stressful as often they do about ten things all the same time that makes you often exhausted ,tired every day. Unable to handle legal issues due to no competency or care.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Decent enough

      Feb 9, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people to work with Good quality clothes Great discount

      Cons

      Management was very varied and inconsistent - some were great, some were feared. I was once disciplined by one manager for opening new shipments with a method taught to me by another.

      Be the first to find this review helpful