General Dynamics Mission Systems Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

General Dynamics Mission Systems Director Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems CEO Chris Brady
Chris Brady
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great tech, better culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work on truly cutting edge technology in defense of the nation, good ideas rise to the top, comparatively low internal corporate bureaucracy.

    Cons

    Still more bureaucratic than purely commercial endeavors, workforce diversity (age, gender, and race) is improving but needs to be better.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing new... hire young, hungry engineers, deliberately find/create unclassified programs for them to work while waiting for security clearance approval.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-06-05
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Positive and professional work environment

    Cons

    Advancement is difficult, due to lack of transition of people

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-03-21
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Once a Great company - now overrun by Hedgehog leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Pueblo, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    9-80 schedule, "My Time" and other flexible time off that makes working for this new company president tolerable

    Cons

    Out of touch company president and strategy/business development person. They are hunkering down on a few of "hedgehog" capabilities rather than expanding our capabilities so we can grow with new customers. We are losing our Mojo because of them.

    Advice to Management

    Move off your "Good to Great" kick - the rest of the world has moved beyond Circuit City and GE. GDMS employees do not want to share their fate, but you can.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-11
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for five fortune 500 companies in my long career. General Dynamics is hands down the best of all of them. I am including American Express, CIGNA Healthplan, Motorola, Dial Corporation and several more. They take care of their employees with a close family atmosphere. GDMS offers a great culture, great work opportunities to grow your skills, better than market pay, and treat employees well. The... talent that you work with is awesome. Super smart, dedicated, passionate people. The company has done a lot to improve over the past 4 years. They strive for a best place to work culture, career road maps, better than market pay and benefits, low turnover and outstanding leadership

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a workplace with dedicated, hard working employees. A person will not fit in if they are a slacker and want to guide through their career. Work life balance is great - but there are times when everyone pitches in for the team. Overtime can be required and is necessary to accomplish goals at times. Here the leadership knows your name and cares. It is a great culture.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Continue to develop your employees and be visible to them. Keep your ear to the ground to understand any discord and address it early. Hold your middle and lower level leaders accountable to become great leaders. Provide training and development to get them there. I know this is going on - need to continue to work on leadership development.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2018-02-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Base Pay is good. 9/80 work schedule is Great.

    Cons

    No Management Strategy communicated to the work force. Management does not communicate beyond their own direct reports. Lack of team work across Business areas and LOB's. Does not value business development role and contributions Management changes MIP allocation with employees without discussing changes first MIP goals not released until 6-months into work year...

    Advice to Management

    Better communication and interaction with workers. Trust and support your BD support

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-11-23
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Solid Company Across the Board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good balance of business necessities and concern for employees Extremely interesting work Variety of work Opportunities for growth for those who excel Good work life balance Good people that care about the job and each other

    Cons

    Vestiges of bureaucracy in some areas Not a flashy company, doesn't have a strong brand image among the general population

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-07-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Leading International Security Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Complex, diverse, and rewarding jobs. Stable, mature, growing company. Respectful workplace. Great co-workers.

    Cons

    Not as aggressively innovative as a pure technology company by virtue of the industry

    Advice to Management

    Continue to pursue top talent while addressing those who don't fit or perform at the level of the rest of the team.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-07-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Pittsfield, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diverse set of products and services. Focus on DOD and IC products, company moving away from services/support work. 5/4 work schedule available enabling every other Friday off.

    Cons

    Not integrated across all business units. Still often stovepiped organizations based on acquisitions in legacy AIS and C4S forms

    Advice to Management

    More transparency to employees as to business needs and issues. No need to hide bad news from employees, such as contract losses.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-07-15
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management team is very focused on results from company wide employee surveys that take place every two years, to target areas for improvements that come directly from employee feedback. These improvements are tracked closely to ensure there are tangible results. This is very impressive compared t other company's where I have worked. This is not lip service, very impressive.

    Cons

    Fast pace of work, but excellent opportunity to make contributions if you demonstrate you're capable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work on turning those survey results into actions. This is not lip service and it's greatly appreciated by employees.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-06-13
  10. "Was Formally GDAIS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work. Professional leadership, inclusive of employee impute and life work balance.

    Cons

    During my time with the company I found none

    Advice to Management

    Keep it the good work and culture

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2016-03-01
Found 14 reviews