General Dynamics Mission Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

General Dynamics Mission Systems Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1024 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Chris Brady
14 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Positive and professional work environment

    Cons

    Advancement is difficult, due to lack of transition of people

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-03-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Day to day experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intermediate Software Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management works very hard to make the employees feel necessary and listened to. Project keeps work interesting by frequent new experiences.

    Cons

    Project tends to be behind which can cause stress during deadline times. This is caused by a tend to promote that employees work overtime which causes management to not want to hire more people due to lack of funds.

    Advice to Management

    If overtime become accepted from every team member for an unlimited amount for more than a month you need to hire more people.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-03-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Just an OK place to work, pretty mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Rank and file engineers are great to work with.

    Cons

    Many mid and upper managers are unqualified. You often find they are empty suits that can only talk a game and are offended when you ask for an explanation. Often willing to put profit over ethics, and it is not working. Look at the stock price.

    Advice to Management

    The new GDMS management is on the right track cleaning out some upper level hollow managers, but they need to go a level lower.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-03-26
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems part-time

      Pros

      Good company to work for.

      Cons

      none I can think of

      General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-03-27
    • "First year"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

        Pros

        Lot of experience. Great first job and hands on.

        Cons

        Not a fast paced environment.

        General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-03-11
      • Helpful (4)

        "Once a Great company - now overrun by Hedgehog leadership"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director in Pueblo, CO
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        9-80 schedule, "My Time" and other flexible time off that makes working for this new company president tolerable

        Cons

        Out of touch company president and strategy/business development person. They are hunkering down on a few of "hedgehog" capabilities rather than expanding our capabilities so we can grow with new customers. We are losing our Mojo because of them.

        Advice to Management

        Move off your "Good to Great" kick - the rest of the world has moved beyond Circuit City and GE. GDMS employees do not want to share their fate, but you can.

        General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-04-11
      • "Good benefits, good pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Engineer-I in Bloomington, MN
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great health and dental insurance. Decent PTO. Above average pay.

        Cons

        There is a lot of bureaucracy. It can help but often harms productivity.

        General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-28
      • "Its a Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Administrative 

          I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          It has benefits and time off.

          Cons

          Too much micromanaging and no direction

          General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-03-11
        • Helpful (2)

          "Great Mission, Great People"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Partner in Annapolis Junction, MD
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Work-Life Balance and 9/80 schedule Great people We do important, meaningful work Stability and growth opportunities Work with latest and greatest Leadership listens Perks

          Cons

          Some (not all) of the upper level execs do not really understand the challenges we face in a very competitive market. That being said, the partnership is becoming stronger and an effort is being made to better understand so they can help assist more

          Advice to Management

          We have some really great people doing some really great things and that make me very proud to be a part of GDMS. I have learned so much from my manager and other hiring managers I have partnered with, it makes it much easier to love what you do when you really appreciate who you are doing it for! I would suggest executives continue to listen to employees and continue to learn and make improvements based on what they...

          Show More
          General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-08
        • Helpful (1)

          "Company review"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greensboro, NC
          Recommends
          Negative Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Awesome people to work with. Supervisors are good to get a long with. Benefits is ok. There is a letting work/lift balance here. Mostly all over time is mandatory. Hardly to no stress in the field of work. GREAT PLACE TO WORK IF YOU HAVE A ENGINEERING DEGREE.

          Cons

          Work for 1yr, haven't really learned anything in that year. Everything is done by seniority. Not a place for a average worker that's trying to make a living. starting salary if no good for anything that lives on there on. Not a place for someone that is looking for a career job. Some people will not do as there told. Its way too laid back. More for people with engineering degrees not for a average Joe.

          Advice to Management

          Needs to treat all the employees the same way.

          General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-03-01
        Found 1024 reviews