General Dynamics Mission Systems Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

General Dynamics Mission Systems Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1025 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Chris Brady
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Mission, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance and 9/80 schedule Great people We do important, meaningful work Stability and growth opportunities Work with latest and greatest Leadership listens Perks

    Cons

    Some (not all) of the upper level execs do not really understand the challenges we face in a very competitive market. That being said, the partnership is becoming stronger and an effort is being made to better understand so they can help assist more

    Advice to Management

    We have some really great people doing some really great things and that make me very proud to be a part of GDMS. I have learned so much from my manager and other hiring managers I have partnered with, it makes it much easier to love what you do when you really appreciate who you are doing it for! I would suggest executives continue to listen to employees and continue to learn and make improvements based on what they...

    Show More
    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-08
  2. "Senior lead engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Lead Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary. Great benefits. Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Repetitive work routine. Employees are not given enough chance to branch off and try new things. Things are done the way they are be aft e they've always been done that way.

    Advice to Management

    Move employees around to different jobs to gain more diverse experience

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-20
  3. "GD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Incredible company to work for

      Cons

      Corporate control can be trying

      General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-05
    • "Operations specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Honolulu, HI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      GD has great benefits/compensation package. 401k match 6%

      Cons

      I don't have any cons at this time

      General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-01-31
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Pittsfield, MA

      I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great team of people working towards a common goal of supporting the Navy

      Cons

      People move internally too frequently

      General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-01-28
    • "Adequate First Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ

      I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice people. Big company with some options if you've got the desire. Good work/life balance with many people putting in 40.0 hours per week. Flexible time-off.

      Cons

      A lot of bureaucracy. Things don't get done very fast and the communication with management can be slow. Lots of older engineers using older technologies that were deemed safe and reliable years many years ago.

      General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-04
    • "software engineer review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems

      Pros

      teamwork, close knit, good environment, well paid, easy to learn, great experience

      Cons

      sometimes unclear what they wanted from us, not enough oversight from full time employees, sometimes neglected, not enough mentors

      Advice to Management

      make sure there are more mentors

      General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-01-18
    • "Contract Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Advanced Engineering Technician in Scottsdale, AZ

      I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

      Pros

      Interesting products to work on

      Cons

      Just contract work. Not a place to have a career at.

      General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-01-29
    • "Work is Interesting"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Principal Software Engineer in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems part-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Upper Management is pretty good Engineering Management is moving toward Agile

      Cons

      Often get switched from project to project

      General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-01-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "It is said it is a great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Avanced Technical Instructor III in Dallas, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Technology Exposure with equipment fielding.

      Cons

      To retain competence, you have to be motivated to work for nothing with the added hour to train yourself.

      Advice to Management

      Management does not lead or guide, the expect delivery without any employee investment.

      General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-02-04
    Found 1025 reviews