General Dynamics Mission Systems Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

General Dynamics Mission Systems Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems President  Chris Brady
Chris Brady
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of progression, poorly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

    Pros

    good friendly people. flexible working

    Cons

    very messy management, little incentive to stay

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-07-14
  2. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked a GDMS for 2 years

    Cons

    Time off, PTO and mytime are only 96 hours a year. Mytime is your sick leave

    Advice to Management

    consider discounted stock purchases for employees

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-12-11
  3. "Not bad if you have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Software Engineer 
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great flexible schedule, great pay, great perks

    Cons

    Very office-y, everyone is in cubicles and the work scenery is drab and grey. Very hard to work there as a junior developer with little or no experience, because contract budget dictates whether or not they are invested in teaching you the skills you need to be self sufficient. Leadership is hands off, which can be amazing or terrible depending on who you are.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your talent. Teach them the skills they need instead of wasting budget on unnecessary activities like office games, the morale is already great because of the lax environment.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-12-09
  4. "Great pay and benefits, a lot of bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good pay and benefits - Great team - Quarterly check-in with manager - GDMS seems to prefer moving employees around instead of laying them off if a project is cut - Team lets everyone (even interns and new hires) have a voice

    Cons

    - Time tracking to the nearest 6 minutes is tedious - Project funding is always changing - Too little time devoted to technical debt - No clear branding between software projects - Improvements and innovation come slowly - A lot of oversight from customer and management - Not a lot of contact with customer, most software developers get zero contact with end user

    Advice to Management

    Pay for projects to have time to address technical debt, it's not flashy, but it will improve quality and help us add new features faster. Fund a UX and graphic design team that can help different projects develop the software look and feel. It will improve the usability and the customer's impressions of our quality. Fund innovation. Some companies have 15% time. Opening the door for all employees to research and... innovate would help employees feel more engaged in the work and provide potential new features that could give us an advantage over our competitors.

    Show More
    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-11-22
  5. "Great company, but poorly structured internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Pittsfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for defense is so rewarding. The people who work there are very passionate and they work on amazing projects.

    Cons

    Not many skills to take away from the internship. Internship has flexible start and end date, but they won't tell you when important intern events occur that you are required to do until after you submit your end date. Housing assistance is not provided.

    Advice to Management

    Structure the internship with an actual start and end date, or at least provide new hires with a timeline of events that interns are expected to participate in.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-10-15
  6. "Great place to work, great benefits, slow growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Fairfax, VA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, supportive leadership, ability to work from home whenever I want, top of the line technology. Will pay for almost any certification I would want to get to enhance my skills.

    Cons

    Room for growth in this company requires you stay for 10+ years and then get the big bump up. Raises are minimal yearly no more than 3%.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-09-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Coop 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful team that helped me become familiar with the work environment, software and work culture. Grew as a developer as well as a person here.

    Cons

    None, it was a fantastic place to work and would recommend it to anyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-08-30
  8. "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with cool technology Good Salary Good PTO

    Cons

    Poor employee investment Work life culture

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-07-22
  9. "Software Test Engineer at GD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Test Engineer in Bloomington, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    They use the 9/80 system which gives you every other Friday off.

    Cons

    Management lies about converting contract workers to permanent positions. Project management is horrible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your fingers on the pulse and know what your subordinates are doing. Don't rely on team leads or project managers to do your job for you.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-06-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Some projects are great, but most are dull"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Startup culture, flexible hours, great people

    Cons

    Dull work a lot of times

    Advice to Management

    Bring in better projects

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2019-05-19
Found 165 reviews