General Dynamics Mission Systems "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

General Dynamics Mission Systems Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1032 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
General Dynamics Mission Systems CEO Chris Brady
Chris Brady
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "People don't know where their job stands when they fire upper management or relocate them(in 40 reviews)

  • "Senior management doesn't seem to notice that the economy has recovered(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Know where your area is headed..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, very flexible (depending on where you work), opportunities to travel available

    Cons

    People don't know where their job stands when they fire upper management or relocate them. Those that work under them are left confused and lack motivation.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2018-02-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good for after college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Good benefits * Great for out of college prospects * Bright coworkers * Flexible hours

    Cons

    * Upper management is non-existent * Not able to work from home * Overworked

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-10-18
  3. Helpful (4)

    "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My direct management is awesome! Open communication among my direct management and peers. I have opportunities to voice my opinions and concerns. There is respect and trust.

    Cons

    Upper management, at times, can be or give the appearance of draconian dictation. This is getting better and the reigns are starting to be relaxed, but decision making at the lower level is still heavily scrutinized.

    Advice to Management

    Relax the reigns a little and trust that your employees will make the right decision. If you aren't making mistakes, you aren't trying.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-08-03
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Contracts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contracts Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with incredibly competent leadership at the highest levels. The Contracts team based out of Scottsdale, AZ is also ran incredibly well. They had my back and valued my input. Overall the company is a good place to be, particularly if you support our military and want to work on programs that protect our country.

    Cons

    The satellite office I worked at was under constant transition. Though we had direction from "up-top", it seemed like office management did their best to turn non-issues into big customer problems because of lack of trust between departments. Upper management was aware of bickering and did not keep score (major plus).

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-03-16
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Out after 9 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people to work with. Benefits are good. PTO is good as well.

    Cons

    No possibility for promotion unless you smooch the right rears. Upper management is a joke. This location is inconvenient. It is everyone for themselves mentality. This place is the worse.

    Advice to Management

    Retire. Let the next gens have a shot. Quit ousting good employees so that you can save your self. This place should be shut down.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2017-03-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Logistics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people. Almost all the people I worked with were determined to succeed and fit well into a team environment. Prima Donnas lived "upstairs". Flexible work schedules fit almost everyone's needs.

    Cons

    Minimal advancement opportunities. Constant shrinking of benefit package and constant zero raise years. Constant layoffs without any notice, rhyme, or reason and no rationale from upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Make believe you are a communications company, and communicate! Treat people equally.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2016-12-07
  7. "Excellent Opportunities, Poor Management Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent training and opportunities for diverse employment.

    Cons

    Very poor upper management support for employees. Profit driven company in a race for the bottom of employee benefits and support.

    Advice to Management

    Trust and reward your people

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2016-03-30
  8. "Good place to work, diverse projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Great local managers. They are trying to improve when they find faults in the organization.

    Cons

    Large organization. Upper management (not local) out of sync with challenges and communication.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to visit locations more and communicate challenges as well, not only how great the company is doing.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2015-11-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Technical Writer/Advanced Engineer-Systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Writer/Advanced Engineer-Systems in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time

    Pros

    It used to be that the company supported the US Navy Fleet Personnel and the Navy submarines.

    Cons

    It used to be that the company supported the US Navy Fleet Personnel and the Navy submarines. But now they are just interested in the bottom line so upper management can maintain THEIR bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the way you were.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2015-04-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Management Specialist in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Dynamics Mission Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    GD-AIS provides great benefits including access to many online educational programs. Their lower level management team looks out for their employees and treats them as family.

    Cons

    Upper management too often only looks at the bottom line figure. They cut employee benefits and then treat themselves to lavish management off-sites at luxury hotels. Additionally, there is no type of mentor program for employees or young managers.

    Advice to Management

    Develop a mentor program and live by the same rules as you give employees.

    General Dynamics Mission Systems2014-10-18
Found 1032 reviews