General Motors (GM) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

General Motors (GM) Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
General Motors (GM) CEO Mary Barra
Mary Barra
2,000 Ratings
  1. "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time

    Pros

    General Motors is a Good place to work

    Cons

    I found no disadvantage of working here

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-17
  2. "Was a job that paid the bills. Helped me get where I am today but definitely glad I’m out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Paid the bills, nice people (co workers)

    Cons

    Hard, physical and demanding work.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t act like you know more about how to fix things when you’re not even allowed to touch the job.

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-17
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - SERVICE ADVISOR 

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time

    Pros

    Nice philosophy regarding training and guest experience

    Cons

    Parts availability was below average

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-17
  4. "Regrets After Starting A Career With GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Warren, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong Pay and Benefits, Short drive to work

    Cons

    Promotions are based more on diversity than merit. There are no objective measures! Seriously over worked since the layoffs last February. CEO is betting the company on an EV and Autonomous Vehicle strategy that is not viable when you look at the details. It is very apparent that GM will be unable to lead in the EV market. Anxiety about when the next layoffs will take place.

    Advice to Management

    Get a new CEO. Care about your employees by developing objective measures for performance. Use these to justify promotions instead of selection based on diversity.

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-16
  5. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture is getting better slowly

    Cons

    still a poor place to work for stability

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-16
  6. "GM Takes Care of Its People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Lead in Oshawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Different career opportunities, all in one company.

    Cons

    Long hours, but productive and rewarding.

    Advice to Management

    More one on one connections.

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-16
  7. "Good pay and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was able to earn a decent wage to provide for myself and family.

    Cons

    Management SUCKED, they wanted the product and that’s it! Morale was low.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with a little more tact and courtesy and the morale would be much better for the work environment.

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-15
  8. "Good experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Business Analyst in Incheon
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Runing business upon well-organized process and also work-life

    Cons

    Developed yourself and work much harder

    Advice to Management

    Good

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-15
  9. "Demanding Role w/ Endless Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Release Engineer in Warren, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This role provides a lot of great experiences for future jobs Provides exposure and opportunities to progress within the company

    Cons

    Occasionally has long hours depending on issues or upcoming design reviews

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-15
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at General Motors (GM) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always provides qualified customer base

    Cons

    The automotive industry is a competitive market

    General Motors (GM)2020-01-15
Found 5256 reviews