Genpact Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 14 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Genpact CEO NV Tiger Tyagarajan
NV Tiger Tyagarajan
3,259 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genpact full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    pays well, good benefits, professional growth

    Cons

    crazy work hours, difficult to maintain work life balance

    Genpact2019-08-12
  2. "Good Company"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Genpact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good clients - work life balance is good

    Cons

    - No training's - Small presence in uk

    Genpact2019-11-10
  3. "Average"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genpact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Senior Management. Work Life balance

    Cons

    Salary is the biggest concern

    Genpact2019-06-06
  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Genpact full-time

    Pros

    Employee friendly, work life balance

    Cons

    less salary in comparison to industry

    Genpact2019-01-23
  5. "Consulting Lead"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genpact full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities, Work life balance, flexibility

    Cons

    Hierarchical, Limited visibility, Average pay

    Genpact2018-08-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It is an ok place"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genpact full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No dress code. Work life balance. Great brand and exposure. Everyone's smart and approachable including leadership. Good social perks. Nice location. I found some of the leaders to be good role models as they were welcoming. Everyone is mostly friendly. Interesting projects. They're a leader in almost anything. Mostly everything should be fine here but it depends on who your manager at the time is/ team. I learnt a lot on a personal level about how I need to be far more ambitious and I think this was a good learning point, that I want to maintain having a very smart and experienced manager who has worked for some great firms. Not hiring people with good enough backgrounds to this, really shows and impacts quality. I believe that with the right attitude, being nice, career driven, people no matter what level do listen here and it isn't a stuffy stuck up culture at all. Genuinely, most people any level even at the top, will be friendly and remember you if you do a great job and they rely on you, this meant that I was genuinely counted on and worked as a good networking opportunity. The open door policy and flat hierarchy meant that this was 1 of the best places I've worked at, the industry is extremely interesting. They only have the best and top clients out there, so be pickier on who you hire if they're not hardworking...

    Cons

    The office is ok as most aren't in, could be fancier but I suppose there's no need as client based. Apart from the back office, people are smart. Everyone else has to be academic. The interview was nice and the senior person I reported into was supportive, the pay was extremely low for the amount of responsibility I had so I was used a lot, although I was young and despite how everyone liked me as I was good and more than able. They decided to hire someone with almost 0 experience who is older but everyone knew isn't smart as constantly made mistakes and never learnt as has poor attitude, they got hired as they couldn't find anyone local. I had several people complaining to me about the person and how can I not just do their job instead: managers, senior managers, consultants etc complained that I'm far better including AVPs/VPs. Hire people with posh surnames who they get on with a bit culturally, mostly incompetent who lack any good experience and academia so aren't on par to support senior executives, have to train them to do the most simplest of tasks that a school teenager intern could probably do. You can fit in and be kept if people like you such as managers, don't have to be good or do many hours. I had another internal interview and it was quite low pay, the hiring manager already knew me and was ok to hire me but they argued loudly in front of me as the other person really didn't want to hire me so I didn't get the job but it didn't seem it would be nice at all to work with that person anyway, despite a good role and client. A new recruiter had many spelling/ typos and grammar issues on the job ad which even included factual inaccuracies that were funny. The people who aren't good seem to stay then the people they support i.e. leadership isn't happy as they're academics from top business/ IT schools etc who have been in the industry for a long time. There were some very childish people and the most bizarre experiences I've ever had, people speaking in their language assuming others don't understand. A clique of unmarried babyish girls, telling the entire office including VPs during work hours, how they cannot find a husband, even taking up manager's time to have meetings about their personal issues and drama unrelated to work meaning that they're not working or good at what they do, does anyone in any workplace especially a leading professional services firm need this, the issue is that these hires just don't fit in. A lady who always cried unnecessarily moaned badmouthing the firm publicly and loudly to many people, again why not discipline all of these people and sack them, who needs this... Other than this, everyone else who made the cut, was nice and smart. Some of the systems are very old or what is needed of the firm this size isn't in place, no due diligence, hiring anyone and poor judgement. Some people saying very wrong, inaccurate and unprofessional advice to consultants which goes against the purpose of their job, some major admin issues that are costly. People need to stop being so nice when there are several complaints about incompetent people, don't keep them just because you think their face may slightly fit, as it brings down morale and office culture, the costs to fix these issues are higher when they are actually paid much higher than their previous intern salaries and there purely by luck... I think the role was great and environment to start off with but knew that good management was missing afterwards, depending on if that gets fixed soon or not. Unless you're in a top city, the pay is very low. I don't think that the high achieving nerds fit in when unfortunately the rest of the team aren't, you'll be despised unless the team lead is a nerd who you can relate to as you have similar standards. There seems to be some doubts when people slack, not enough monitoring and controls, they'll just keep people they're complaining about who are hardly there etc. Stop being so nice to them. I had to stick up for someone junior who is smart and nice but doing far more than their title as I was, as she was bossed around and spoken to rudely, this isn't the case usually but I saw that they're working hard and not treated ok at the time, luckily the rude person left. After that, they did get a perk to keep them sweet instead, so it is a fair place.

    Genpact2018-09-08
  7. "Assistant Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genpact full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, flexibility, good team

    Cons

    not much career growth, low learning curve

    Genpact2018-08-18
  8. "Good to take a Start"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genpact full-time

    Pros

    Easy to grow with designation. Work-Life balance is Ok. Good training programs. Flexible for IJP.

    Cons

    Bad compensation. Cheap infrastructure. unprofessional environment.

    Continue reading
    Genpact2018-03-24
  9. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genpact full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Working towards a stream lined process to make processes more stream lined

    Cons

    Pay less than market Labour intensive (but being worked on)

    Genpact2018-01-25
  10. "Vice President"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genpact full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Constant learning experience; constantly evolving expertise and knowledge; people focus; Domain is king; flexibility and thin hierarchy

    Cons

    potential work life balance issues if not self disciplined; constant competition to excel

    Continue reading
    Genpact2017-11-22
Found 806 reviews