George Weston Foods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

George Weston Foods Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
George Weston Foods CEO Stuart Grainger (no image)
Stuart Grainger
4 Ratings
  1. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Whs in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at George Weston Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent salary good work life balance Good leadership Good increments and bonuses

    Cons

    Organisation's career progression is limited.

    Continue reading
    George Weston Foods2019-10-15
  2. "business has some great plans and leadership initiatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at George Weston Foods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great core brands and CEO/Director leaders have great vision for the business

    Cons

    behind and not adjusting to the market trends, middle management (Teflon) culture of protecting each other and not walking the talk

    Continue reading
    George Weston Foods2019-08-06
  3. "Quality Assurance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Manager in Oakville, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at George Weston Foods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Career growth opportunity, Technical resources, People resources,

    Cons

    Hard to get decisions made due to multiple management levels

    George Weston Foods2019-02-11
  4. "Marketing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Weston Foods part-time

    Pros

    Free bread, nice office, kind people

    Cons

    No structured development plan for moving up

    George Weston Foods2018-11-27

    George Weston Foods Response

    January 17, 2019Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thank you for the review, yes we agree it is a nice office with kind people and generous with the products. Thanks for the comments about development plans, we do encourage our employees to complete development plans to understand peoples' motivations and career paths and we believe there is a lot of opportunity here at GWF. If you'd like to discuss at all please reach out to me at emma.l.shannon@gwf.com.au

    Continue reading
  5. "Friendly and Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at George Weston Foods for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay in the call centre ~$28p/h for casual, friendly people, stable hours. Liked the culture with many fun days and lunches or teas. Always something happening.

    Cons

    A tiny bit of drama sometimes, between management and staff.

    George Weston Foods2018-11-01

    George Weston Foods Response

    November 1, 2018Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thank you for the positive and honest review, appreciate your comments. Agree we are a friendly company! Regards Emma Shannon, Talent Acquisition Business Partner at GWF

    Continue reading
  6. "Just terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at George Weston Foods full-time

    Pros

    I personally had a great direct people leader Due to the above I was offered a lot of flexibility

    Cons

    Pretty much the worst HR department I've ever had experience with. I was actually told to leave GWF off my resume by some recruiters because of the bad reputation of the culture there.

    Continue reading
    George Weston Foods2018-11-07

    George Weston Foods Response

    November 8, 2018Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Hi thank you for the review - fantastic that you had a great people leader and the flexiblity, such a bonus in a company, concerns about the cons though and the fact that recruiters are telling you to be dishonest and leave entire employment off a resume? We are sorry you feel this way. Please reach out if you'd like someone from HR to discuss further. Thanks Emma emma.shannon@gwf.com.au

    Continue reading
  7. "Great team cuture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Weston Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members are focused and super friendly

    Cons

    Limited promotional opportunities within business units.

    George Weston Foods2018-08-23

    George Weston Foods Response

    October 24, 2018Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thank you for the review - we agree that the team culture is awesome! Really appreciate your comments. Regards Emma Shannon, Talent Acquisition Business Partner GWF

    Continue reading
  8. "Improving workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at George Weston Foods full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, independence in role, now a lot of good people across businesses after a lot of change over the last few years.

    Cons

    Not yet mature best practise FMCG, innovation still struggling to get off the ground fast. Limited cultural activities - very much get in, get your work done, get out.

    Continue reading
    George Weston Foods2018-07-29

    George Weston Foods Response

    October 24, 2018Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thank you for the honet review. Really appreciate your comments. Regards Emma Shannon, Talent Acquisition Business Partner GWF

    Continue reading
  9. "Good company to work for. Key focus on work life balance and safety."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at George Weston Foods

    Pros

    Big focus on trying to achieve work life balance flexible working hours. Key focus on safety in every aspect of the workplace

    Cons

    Fragmented business modules. The company could Utilise its size cross functionally, to strengthen its negotiation power with in the market place.

    Continue reading
    George Weston Foods2018-04-02

    George Weston Foods Response

    October 24, 2018Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thank you for the honest review, it is a great company to work for and take on board your comments. Regards Emma Shannon, Talent Acquisition Business Partner GWF

    Continue reading
  10. "Awful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at George Weston Foods full-time

    Pros

    Free Bread Good remuneration Cruisie hours - no one in head office after 2pm on Friday afternoon

    Cons

    - Senior leadership team only focused on lining their own pockets - direction of the company has been lost since Andrew Reeves retired as CEO in 2017 - HR is a joke

    George Weston Foods2018-04-14

    George Weston Foods Response

    October 24, 2018Talent Acquisition Business Partner

    Thank you for the review.. Really appreciate your comments, should you like to discuss further please reach out. Regards Emma Shannon, Talent Acquisition Business Partner GWF

    Continue reading
Found 33 reviews