George Weston Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

George Weston Reviews

Updated 23 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
George Weston CEO Paviter S. (Pavi) Binning
Paviter S. (Pavi) Binning
4 Ratings
  1. "George Weston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Weston full-time

    Pros

    A lot of change and solid people wanting to do a great job

    Cons

    very political, back stabbing, lack of transparency, no clear vision

    Advice to Management

    root out the poison in your culture

    George Weston2019-04-23
  2. "Coop Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at George Weston

    Pros

    - Great culture - Talented people - Great for early experience/resume building

    Cons

    - I was there for 8 months and have very little negatives about my experience.

    George Weston2019-02-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at George Weston full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment, good location, nice people, interesting work

    Cons

    Hours people seem to hang around until 6pm most days, wasn't the most flexible work location place when I was there

    George Weston2018-11-20
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at George Weston full-time

    Pros

    The team I work with is great.

    Cons

    There is some politics in the culture.

    George Weston2018-07-30
  5. "Career advancement not available in all departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at George Weston

    Pros

    large variety of work available

    Cons

    growth potential limited in the finance department

    George Weston2017-11-09
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Administrator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at George Weston full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for, excellent benefits, educated and motivated people to work with. A great fresh atmosphere to work in.

    Cons

    I can't think of any downside to working there, they prepared me for my next step in my career path, assisted with training and certifications.

    Advice to Management

    A Great company with a proven track record

    George Weston2016-12-01
  7. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at George Weston full-time

    Pros

    Highly engaged staff and a relaxed corporate culture. A small team providing advisory services to Loblaw, Shoppers Drug Mart, Presidents Choice Financial, and Weston Foods.

    Cons

    The most difficult aspect of the job is navigating through the corporate cultures in place at the various subsidiary companies.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, really. The company works well, and is good at what it does. Communication is excellent and cooperation is rampant.

    George Weston2016-10-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people. Disappointing experience. Would not recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Etobicoke, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at George Weston full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing team members. They are the only thing that keeps you coming back each day.

    Cons

    Constant change, constant reorganization. Spent more time onboarding new leadership than driving the business. Very little emphasis on training or professional development. Poor advancement opportunity, especially since management is always turning over. Burn-and-churn culture. No recognition of workload given limited people resources. Long hours are the norm (without thanks) and people are stretched way too... thinly. Managers are not equipped to mentor, coach or develop employees employees. Senior leadership fosters culture of fear and intimidation, with heavy focus on cost control above all else. Frequent turnover because people realize there are better opportunities elsewhere, promising better compensation/benefits, better development and better work-life balance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your people. They're your most important asset. Provide meaningful training and development opportunities. Recognize that there is a life outside the office. And hold your managers accountable to employee engagement. Doing so will make a huge difference.

    George Weston2014-09-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "ok experience at George Weston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at George Weston full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pros: reasonable expectations slow pace if you are looking for that for the most part friendly people good company sponsored events pay is ok, although less than in the financial services sector

    Cons

    cons: lots of politics good benefits not a lot of room to move up horrible HR staff lots of turnover at the management level several layoff waves

    George Weston2014-07-08
Found 9 reviews