GetYourGuide Reviews

Updated 5 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
GetYourGuide CEO & Co-Founder Johannes Reck
Johannes Reck
131 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Could not recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - B2B in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy access to the office

    Cons

    Management are just drones, they all repeat thecsame gyg catch phrases its likevtgey have all been brainwashed its actually quite scary, sometimes i feel like im trapped in a horror movie. I could not recommend this place to anybody I care about its simply depressing. Management seem to think because they had a lot of funding over the last couple years we are some how honoured to work their. But ive had much better jobs and besides there is no career path gyg likes to fire people because it makes them feel all powerful. And even if you havent been fired you wont get a promotuon unless you go drinking with the right boss and massage their ego for 6 months. Overall rating?? This place is a joke! Besidea looking at the current situation gyg wont be round much longer. Im actually looking forward to it!!!

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-05-05
  2. "Opportunity to grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    Nice people to work with Good opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Happened to get lost through the feature release Process need to improve to cope with the growth

    GetYourGuide2020-04-22
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Playing favorites and no honesty at all levels, high Toxic environment"

    1.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    There are some really good people, but these are individuals surrounded by arrogant and toxic people.

    Cons

    The 5 values mentioned are not reflected in what is done, existing employees are not important for the company. You can clealry see the teams that are favored by the leaders. It’s not inclusive, all internal initiatives are done to improve the pr and brand image of the company. All the feedback provided by non favorites is ignored or laughed at. There is no learning environment, if you mKe a mistake there’s retaliation from your own manager. Managers give a lot of pressure on teams to “convince” them to follow their decisions, and if you don’t or have a different opinion, you get fired or get mobbing pressure to leave. They mention increasing the expertise level of employess with new hires to bring experience and expertise relevant to the Business. A big chunk started and left in less than a year. The reason, they hire experts and experienced people, but the level of expertise and experience of the managers is not increased. So many have managers that are i experienced and lack the expertise to manage the skill level of their own teams. Many positions are given out to people without a proper interview process, based on individual decisions of management. Not sure why HR allows these things to happen, there is no HR team dedicated to help employees that are having issues with their manager. If you have issues or are having trouble to get along with your manager, it’s best to leave. HR backs and supports the company favorites, so you have no help or support to find a solution, and they help cover up by removing the role that was actually helping us, saying it was not needed anymore. So all the feedback and complaints and requests for help, have all been thrown out just by removing a role. Almost none of the benefits that were promised when i was hired, have been removed or reduced after being hired. Including free breakfast, the bi-yearly meetings, the learning budget (only some teams actually have and can use this). Companies grow, but behaviors, ethics, and examples and integrity should never be compromised, in order to achieve targets or revenue. The extreme differences and favoritisms between teams, is really too much and people have had enough, especially if they have been around for a while, as this feedback has been given and ignored for a long time. There is also a lack of encouragement to speak up and ask hard questions. Until some time ago we could ask questions anonymously during the company meetings, but this was immediately removed and forbidden after 1 incident where the leaders got really tough questions but didn’t have he possibility of identifying the requesters. The reason provided, was that there are already other channels for anonymous feedback. Nonone knows if anyone is reading any of the feedback provided by the anonymous channels, nothing is ever shown or mentioned about them, no action ever comes out of that feedback. An example of internal PR, is the ERG. Completely useless and again full of favoritisms in who is in the group and in which teams will actually be helped. They have done nothing for the people, apart from allowing 1 person to justuse this for their own career.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-04-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Worst employer of my career"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Team Lead in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    The office is in a nice location

    Cons

    Totally self obsessed narcistic management, if you have your own opinion? Fired!, dont mentio. 300 Times a day that GYG is the best company in the world? Fired! Have commitments outside work? FIRED! Dont work twice as many hours as youre being paid for? Fired! Disgusting Attitüde towards staff I will be glad to see the company go bankrupt

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-04-08
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Worst company ever to work!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best part to work with GYG was to realized there are better companies to work for and that this company just knows how to sell itself as a friendly place but actually it's the worst place to work.

    Cons

    -Very unprofessional and competitive people -An offer of a pension scheme, German lesson, and yoga that are not provided by the company. -A toxic working environment with full of stress, impolite leads, and managers -No recognition of efforts and how employees perform their job -Not paying extra hours and being push to stay after work for meetings when they can have it during the working hours -Fridges with beer are looked down, so no trust in employees -Disgusting Friday pizza, thinking employees are happy with ¨that benefit¨ -Impractical working spaces, lack of desks, old equipment, no investment in laptops and other technical equipment, broken office chairs, meditation room in a busy area. GYG culture is extremely wrong, with lots of selfish and fake people, no integration and diversity.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-03-27
  6. "Great place to work and grow - highly recommend!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    Great passion, awesome product and driven team! You will get opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Pace is fast so it’s good for people who can tolerate uncertainty but as the company is growing this is changing as well.

    GetYourGuide2020-03-18

    GetYourGuide Response

    May 13, 2020Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We’re happy you like our product and working with your team. We’re also happy to hear that you experience the company as passionate, as passion is one of our core values. We hope you continue to take advantage of our growth opportunities with our learning platform GrowthHub. As you mentioned, we are working in a fast-paced environment and this means lots of new exciting challenges and opportunities within the company, which we hope excites our employees as well. We are continuously learning so please help us embrace change by addressing improvement areas to your manager or in our monthly Global Update Q&A. Thanks again for your feedback and recommendation. All the best, GetYourGuide

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of negative changes with the growth"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Interesting challenges - Some very passionate, intelligent colleagues - Good work life balance

    Cons

    - Culture is dropping with the growth - Lots of good employees leaving - In-equal growth opportunities between departments

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-02-19

    GetYourGuide Response

    May 13, 2020Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, Thank you for taking your time to provide your input. We’re happy to hear that you enjoy your colleagues and you find the challenges of your work fulfilling, while finding a good work-life balance. Culture was and continues to be an important priority for us and we are constantly trying to improve. The fast-growth environment of GetYourGuide does certainly lead to more frequent change, that’s why one of our principles here is to embrace change and learn from it. We as an organisation are also continuously learning as we’re growing. Please help us by asking questions and addressing improvement areas in our monthly Global Update Q&A. We are always sad to see good employees leave the organisation, however with an ambitious and international team it is unavoidable that people not only choose to continue their growth path with new challenges but also choose to explore other parts of the world. We are continuously expanding growth opportunities within the company and recently rolled out our new learning platform GrowthHub, which is available for the entire company with courses, tools, and resources for personal development. We strongly believe employees should own their own development with the support of their manager and encourage you to initiate this conversation with your manager and seek out growth areas. E.g. through GrowthHub, taking on challenging projects, and addressing your goals in your 1-on-1s and bi-yearly review cycles and asking for clarity. We hope that you are able to use the different options to your advantage. All the best, GetYourGuide

  8. Helpful (5)

    "GYGilead"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    / / / /

    Cons

    A toxic, high pressured environment fuelled by a blame culture & masked by 'processes' & 'transparency' via JIRA ticket systems. 360 feedback, retro review meetings, weekly team stands ups are all used to single out & expose employees in front of their peers under the guise of open communication, creating high levels of nervous tension & anxiety on a daily basis for many. Employees are expected to embody corporate & brand values to a cult-like degree, with any questioning or deviation brandished "negativity". Despite repeated & fervent feedback surrounding flexibility & employee satisfaction, management are active in ignoring this in effort to further their goal of an IPO with the ongoing expectation that all employees should share the same blind, unreserved rewardless commitment via whatever means.

    GetYourGuide2020-02-06

    GetYourGuide Response

    March 2, 2020Talent Co-ordinator

    Hello, We are working in a high growth environment, which can be stressful at times. As we have ambitious goals, we need a high performing team to deliver on our strategy. The channels you mentioned, such as JIRA and team stand-ups, are intended to increase transparency and alignment within teams. Feedback is encouraged as a constructive way for everyone, on every level, to develop. Of course, we do not endorse the “blaming” of people and never want our employees to feel tense or anxious. In such cases, we suggest discussing the issue during a 1-on-1 with your manager. If you do not feel comfortable speaking with your manager directly, you can also reach out to the 2nd line manager or HR Services. Additionally, we do offer anonymous channels to provide feedback, such as our monthly employee survey or speaking with our Employee Representation Group. We do use our brand values as a guiding light for our business strategy. We think this is a great way for every team to have a direct impact on our customers and overall company success. This does not mean that we expect employees to blindly follow decisions made by upper management. One way we encourage open discussion is in our monthly all-hands Q&A where all employees are welcome to ask questions about company strategy. We are also working on improving internal communication channels. The ERG group, for example, actively collects employee feedback and discusses it with the executive team. We are actively looking for ways to keep our employees invested in the success of the company through benefits like our virtual share program. We wish you all the best in your career. Kind regards, GetYourGuide

  9. "This is how a business should be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Success Manager in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people and supportive culture, it is fast paced but with clear direction.

    Cons

    So far I have not found any negatives, this is not an environment for someone who wants to take it easy.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-02-04

    GetYourGuide Response

    March 2, 2020EB Working Student

    Hello, Thanks for providing your input. We’re really happy to hear that you enjoy your colleagues and find the culture supportive here. We are growing very quickly at the moment which means there’s never a dull moment. We’re doing our best to scale this growth by aligning on our common goal; creating unforgettable experiences for our customers. You’re absolutely right, continued transparency and mutual respect are key factors for our future success as a team. You’ll be happy to hear that we’re taking steps to improve internal communications, for example, our Employee Representation Group will be working closely with the executive team on all company-wide decisions impacting employees. Wishing you all the best, GetYourGuide

  10. Helpful (7)

    "the culture and values are not what portrayed on blog and media"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some people are great but unfortunately they're being pushed out by the bad apples

    Cons

    No focus on developing people and learning, the company cuts costs on people instead of reducing stupid wastes on ideas by consultancy led ideas. Many consultancy background hires have been added and placed in director positions, and they destroyed the work environment, collaborative and culture environment. Now unless you're a yes man you're threatened that you'll be fired unless you stop challenging thier ideas. Retaliations and blackmails are a constant, and green lighted by all C-execs, since they hired the consultancy directors who have killed all the clarity and learning values the company had. DO NOT apply, because the benefits have also been cut without any warning. What they are saying and publishing is not the truth and reality when in the company. Many people are leaving due to this, as there is no appreciation of the people by the company. There are no growth possibilities unless you have good bonds with the consultancy people who are also best friends with C execs, and are doing whatever they want, whether it's uncompliant, unethical etc There's no learning budget nor trainings provided, nor any support from HR on this matter at all. They fired the only HR person that was helping the people, because he was uncovering all the issues and was trying to help us to not be thretaned and crate a new safe work environemnt and culture. Cexecs want you to work overtime and be political or else you're fired, and without being paid or given benefits or recognition of any kind.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2020-01-31

    GetYourGuide Response

    March 2, 2020EB Working Student

    Hello, Thank you for taking a moment to provide your feedback. We are very disappointed to read about your poor experience. We’re grateful for all our employees that promote a positive environment through respectful collaboration and constructive feedback. We regret to hear that some people felt “pushed out” and we implore our team to speak up when issues arise. Some channels to provide feedback include 1:1 meetings with your manager, team meetings, the anonymous monthly employee surveys, and our monthly global updates. Additionally, our newly formed Employee Representation group is dedicated to collecting feedback and bringing issues to relevant stakeholders as well as the Executive team. In regard to learning opportunities within the company, we strongly believe employees should own their personal development with the support of their manager. It is the employee’s responsibility to initiate this discussion and seek out growth areas. We do offer a few different trainings, such as stakeholder management or leadership training. However, we believe the best learnings come from proactively taking on challenging projects with the support of your manager and team. In an effort to increase transparency on career paths, we plan to roll out a learning and development platform for the entire company within the year. We’re proud of all our employees, including those that come from a consultancy background who are equally learning as they are sharing knowledge with the rest of the organization. We provide mandatory leadership training for all managers, which you can read about here: https://inside.getyourguide.com/blog/2019/8/22/the-art-of-leading-teams-program-developing-our-leaders?rq=leadership It is true that some of our newly promoted managers may be leading people for the first time. In these situations, we are focused on providing additional onboarding support and leadership trainings to develop cohesive management skills across the company. In terms of work environment and culture, our Employee Representation Group recently conducted a company-wide survey that found we rated well above industry average according to Culture Amp benchmarks. Half of the total employees participated in the survey, which is a good start that we hope to improve on in the next round. Of respondents, 80% said they would recommend GetYourGuide as a workplace. Additionally, In terms of work-life balance, we promote flexible working hours and trust our employees to manage their own time accordingly. This is, of course, always in collaboration with the team and manager. As we are rapidly growing, we are also learning from our shortcomings and iterating on processes. With a large funding round comes increased accountability and we want to ensure the sustainable growth of the company for years to come. Actions are being taken to build out and strengthen our internal communications, such as additional town hall meetings. Furthermore, our Employee Representation Group will work very closely with the executive team on all company-wide decisions impacting employees. Retaliation and blackmail are not tolerated here by any means. If you feel you cannot safely provide feedback to your manager directly, we encourage you to go to your 2nd level manager, HR services, or the Employee Representation Group. Additionally, it is the core mission of the ERG to ensure that every employee feels valued, safe, and heard. They offer several channels for employees to reach out to them and voice concerns. As we continue to grow, we will listen to feedback and iterate on processes to provide a supportive and engaging environment for all our employees. We wish you all the best in your career. Kind regards, GetYourGuide

Found 157 reviews