GetYourGuide "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GetYourGuide Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated 7 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
GetYourGuide CEO & Co-Founder Johannes Reck
Johannes Reck
130 Ratings
Pros
  • "My favourite thing about GetYourGuide is that the company culture and values are taken seriously(in 16 reviews)

  • "Free Breakfast and snacks and nice enough people(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "the ability to grow becomes more competitive as the company grows(in 6 reviews)

  • "Customer service employees scramble to compete to apply for higher paid roles(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Poor treatment of customer service employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good colleges, parties and benefits. Interesting job in terms of customer service. Flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Terrible treatment of long term colleagues. Customer service employees scramble to compete to apply for higher paid roles. Micromanagement/ unprofessionality from some team leads. Too rigorous hiring proceedures. Cult like atmosphere

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2019-06-07

    GetYourGuide Response

    July 19, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you appreciated the free breakfast, snacks, and “Pizza and Beer” on Fridays. It’s also great to hear that you found your work interesting and engaging. There are plenty of opportunities to own your own development and progress in your career. The process itself is structured and straightforward, however, we do often receive many applicants for a limited number of roles. Since we hire such amazing talent, we have many great people to choose from when promoting or filling roles internally. That being said, we encourage every employee to take ownership of their personal growth within the company. This includes asking for feedback, being relentless about progress and fully understanding what skills you need to develop in order to be considered for promotion. Additionally, we put a great deal of time and care into our hiring process in order to ensure a good fit for both parties involved. We do our best to match the right people with the right role based on continued performance. We regret to hear that you did not feel respected or listened to during your time at GetYourGuide, however, we do provide employees with several channels to actively provide feedback. We continue to improve based on the input we receive and are striving to provide a more collaborative and inclusive environment. We greatly appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best in your future endeavors. Kind regards, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (16)

    "Main focus Growth - People are secondary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - a leisure atmosphere - free breakfast - beer & pizza on Fridays - good place to work to experience a true startup atmosphere - International Company

    Cons

    A typical StartUp environment is what you find in this company: main focus on growth, having a kazillion unnecessary meetings each day, hiring overpaid engineers, neglecting the underpaid colleagues in Customer Service and other departments, wasting time on free breakfast each morning, totally unorganised structures and processes and way too many office spaces within Berlin which are nowhere near optimal. If you like working in an environment where most people come straight from school and have basically no experience whatsoever and where HR is hopelessly understaffed to be able to take care of its many employees from all over the world then this is the right place for you - a wee bit chaotic and clarity hardly to be found. You get lucky if the CEO and his partners do remember your correct name. Do not expect to have GetYourGuide evolved into a structured and well running machine even though its been on the market since 2009 - this company refuses to develop any kind of corporate structure as they love to practice the StartUp mentality with all its ups and downs. So this is what they will probably stagnate at: a StartUp which is basically not a StartUp anymore which wants to play the field of the great companies but which refuses to adapt and to treat their biggest asset with greater respect: their people.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2017-12-15

    GetYourGuide Response

    January 3, 2018Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience with GetYourGuide has been negative. We would like to address some of your concerns below: -We value all of our employees in all departments and recognize the importance of every team in GetYourGuide’s overall success. As mentioned previously, salaries are consistent with the market value and our goal is to pay a competitive market rate. Our HR team completes research on this topic frequently, and we adjust our salaries as needed based on their findings. -Our HR team is charged with the responsibility of supporting all employees through their employee life-cycle at GetYourGuide, and they take this responsibility seriously. Please note, transitions out of GetYourGuide are handled with the utmost professionalism and care. Furthermore, we are currently expanding our HR team to provide more support to our growing number of employees. -Although we consider ourselves to be a fast-paced and agile start-up, having only become a marketplace in 2011, we do have mindful structured processes. One example is our OKR goal system and review process. Our OKRs help provide a clear direction for the quarter and the quarterly review process is a structured way for employees to provide feedback on these goals before the quarter begins. We have also invested in establishing performance review cycles, 360 feedback, and creating competency profiles for all employees, so everyone knows what it takes to develop further. However, some of these processes are new, and we must certainly iterate. We don’t yet have all of the structured processes of our larger corporate counterparts, but we’re working on it. With our recent funding of 75 million USD led by reputable VC Battery Ventures, we will be able to do so. -Clarity is one of our core values and we strive to maintain transparency and openness to feedback. The global update is one opportunity to share feedback and ask questions if any decision remains unclear. Only with this feedback, are we able to grow. Thank you for providing this feedback and best of luck in your future career. Kind Regards, GetYourGuide.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "International team - great corporate culture - interesting industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide part-time

    Pros

    - international team (+30 nationalities) - people from very different backgrounds/great diversity - great corporate culture - growth mindset & potential - interesting industry in digitalization - fast-paced company - opportunities to grow within the company

    Cons

    - salaries could be better regarding customer service people

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2017-11-01

    GetYourGuide Response

    November 3, 2017

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear the many positive aspects you enjoy about working with GetYourGuide including diversity, culture and career opportunities. Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate it and will take it on board. Kind Regards, GetYourGuide.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (10)

    "don't get your hopes up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people working there are great and the atmosphere is really nice but...

    Cons

    Watch out for HR and management! If you wish to grow in the company it's a big risk. You can be the better candidate with more experience, having shown more commitment, trying to do more than what is expected of you and HR/management will just go the other way for their own "political" reasons. Forget about clarity (which is one of their core values), you will just be given generic reasons which don't make sens in the present situation. So if you are just looking for a job in customer service over a short period of time to make a living, fine but don't hope on growing in the company, HR/management have no regards for your career and will just disregard all you bring to the table if they don't feel safe.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2017-09-19

    GetYourGuide Response

    September 28, 2017

    Hi, Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed working with great people in a nice environment. We are sorry to hear that you have some negative feelings towards our internal recruiting process. Providing career progression and internal development opportunities are something we encourage all of our employees to avail of. And, in order to give all of our employees a fair chance, we work off recruitment processes which help us choose the right fit for the job. This allows us to be objective and in no way influenced by other factors or political reasons as you mentioned. We are always learning from, and striving to improve our internal recruiting processes as our company grows. We appreciate your feedback and will take all your suggestions into consideration. Kind Regards, GetYourGuide.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great team and culture, pay could be bit higher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - hiring process is very throughout to get the right team, which makes people wanting to stay even if the pay is not always the best - there are many opportunities to grow at the moment -team outings, lunches, team building sessions are supported - yoga, language course etc. offered

    Cons

    -salary is regarded as competitive -there is a big difference in between customer service and the other offices (culture, salary,etc)

    GetYourGuide2017-08-23

    GetYourGuide Response

    August 30, 2017

    Hi, Thank you for your positive review. Providing employees with opportunities for career development and progression is very important to us so we are glad you feel that this is indeed the case. We really appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards, GetYourGuide.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Positive, collaborative atmosphere,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked at GYG for over 1.5 years and thoroughly enjoyed my time. The atmosphere around the place is excellent and people seem to care about what what they do/what we're trying to achieve. I value the openness, even down to the exec team sharing sensitive information about how the company is performing on a monthly and quarterly basis. Of course there are the usual hiccups you would associate with a high growth start-up, but overall I can have no complaints. Big emphasis placed on culture.

    Cons

    It would be nice for the entire company to finally move into the new office space - although it is difficult finding a suitable site in Berlin. Currently our customer service team sit in a separate office, as do finance and content (albeit a stone's throw away).

    GetYourGuide2017-06-02

    GetYourGuide Response

    July 4, 2017

    Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and appreciate the company culture that we have. We value your feedback and will take your advice on board.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6 reviews