GetYourGuide "free breakfast" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GetYourGuide Employee Reviews about "free breakfast"

Updated 18 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
GetYourGuide CEO & Co-Founder Johannes Reck
Johannes Reck
131 Ratings
Pros
  • "My favourite thing about GetYourGuide is that the company culture and values are taken seriously(in 16 reviews)

  • "Free Breakfast and snacks and nice enough people(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "the ability to grow becomes more competitive as the company grows(in 6 reviews)

  • "Customer service employees scramble to compete to apply for higher paid roles(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free breakfast"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "One of the best start ups in Berlin to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide

    Pros

    Even after leaving GYG I still consider it the best company I have ever worked for. Best thing about it? The people. They put a lot of effort into finding the right people for the company and that results into a really good work environment. Sure, it might be annoying to go through a really long hiring process, but they do it to make sure that the people who join are truly a good culture fit and on which you can always count on. They allow you to express yourself and your colleagues respect you, most managers are experienced and they know what they are doing while still staying down to earth. The management is very transparent and approachable, on a monthly level the whole company can see the results and all the numbers that they want to see. Even when things are not going well, they are still honest and share all the details with everyone. Oh, and the company is really really customer oriented. You will obviously sometimes have bad experiences and not every customer will end up happy, but GYGs management is truly customer oriented and they will do everything they can to offer the best customer experience to their customers. Some other things that you get as an employee : free breakfast, friday pizza and beers, great teamevent and company parties, good team environment etc.

    Cons

    Like every start up, its sometimes not that organized and some bad choices get made, but in general I never had a lot of complaints about it.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2016-10-07
  2. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    Free breakfast, nice colleagues.

    Cons

    Upward mobility difficult, but not much more to say.

    GetYourGuide2019-02-18

    GetYourGuide Response

    March 20, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time for your review. We are glad that you are enjoying your team and managers, as we believe our people are our biggest asset. Thank you for appreciating the free breakfast and snacks, which are some of the perks that come with working at GetYourGuide. Learning is one of our core values and we always encourage learning and career growth through 360* feedback rounds and talking with your manager about growth in your 1 on 1s. Thank you for your feedback, and we wish you the best going forward. Kind regards, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Too much about short term Money Goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    Free Breakfast and snacks and nice enough people

    Cons

    Lots of people talk about ambition but I think they are talking about themselves not necessarily the company meaning some very selfish decisions are made.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2018-12-02

    GetYourGuide Response

    February 14, 2019Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you value nice co-workers and teams. Thank you for appreciating the free breakfast and snacks, which are some of the perks that come with working at GetYourGuide. We strongly stick to our quarterly OKR system when it comes to setting and following the company goals, which ensures that we keep an eye on the big picture. If anyone has concerns about the set priorities we encourage you to discuss them with your manager or ask how you can be involved in formulating the coming quarter's OKR. Also, Global Updates and Q&A sessions are great opportunities to ask questions and give feedback. Kind regards, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "I have worked in four different European countries, there is nothing like Getyourguide out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    - Challenging, ever changing environment - A lot projects, one is never stuck in self-development - Fast promotion (1-2 years usual). - Performance review with salary/virtual shares adjustment every 6 months - Great Colleagues, it is like working with friends - Common age range 25-40 - Everyone comes from a different country (50+ nationalities) - English speaking - Free breakfast, fruits - Pizza & Beer Friday - You get virtual shares: the more you stay, the more they worth - Pension benefits - Reduced price gym membership - Free German & Yoga classes - Stand market Salary

    Cons

    - Double standards: significant mistakes of some departments go unnoticed, even sold to audience as 'learning', while the same behavior is a dismissal reason in other departments - Back office departments' work is never mentioned on company updates - A lot of space for improvement in processes of all areas

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2018-01-12

    GetYourGuide Response

    January 17, 2018Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. It’s great that you have enjoyed working with your great, international colleagues and feel you are able to constantly grow with new and challenging projects. You also mentioned a few of our benefits, like our free German and Yoga classes, free breakfast, virtual shares, and of course, pizza and beer/beverages every Friday. To address some of your other points: We would agree that some of our processes have room for improvement. As an Agile and fast-growing start-up, we are constantly iterating on our processes, working to improve with each iteration. We aim to learn from our mistakes company-wide. We would encourage you to raise your other concerns during the Q&A following the Global Update, with HR, or with your manager to further understand your perspective and to find a solution. Thank you again for your feedback. All the best, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Grow, learn and turn trips into amazing experiences!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    + Cool and exciting product with enormous market potential + Team leads give autonomy and ownership, no micromanagement + Full transparency on strategy and business KPIs + Engage in the OKR process and determine your team's mid term goals + Ability to influence the product and technical roadmap from day 1 + Diverse team with over 50 nationalities + Countless opportunities and channels for learning and development. From tech and data lunches on a weekly basis, to regular trainings and learning initiatives, leadership trainings, with the highlights being the Summer Summit which includes several days of workshops and presentations from employees, managers and executives + Structured personal development framework, focused on both technical and personal aspects + Strong feedback culture + Young, down to earth and approchable senior level management + Beer & pizza Friday when you get the opportunity to socialise with peers and amazing Summer and Christmas parties + Perks - Free breakfast, Drinks, Virtual shares, Pension scheme, Yoga class and German lessons

    Cons

    - Current office situation is not optimal with the team spread across multiple offices in Berlin - There can be shifts in strategy which is challenging for some people to adapt quickly to - Below average vacation days compared to other startup - Communication challenges with remote global offices - Learning budget could be better

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2018-01-05

    GetYourGuide Response

    January 10, 2018Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thanks for your review! We are glad that you enjoy working on our cool product and see the potential in this market. It’s also great that you enjoy the personal growth opportunities we offer here such as the leadership trainings, the summit, as well as the weekly tech lunches. You also mentioned the transparency offered around the strategy, business KPIs, and the feedback culture. As you know, clarity is one of our key values and we strive to maintain this clarity by informing all employees on strategy, company goals, and also being open to input and feedback. To address some of your other points: We certainly understand working in a global company leads to challenges in communication. However, we have incorporated tools, such as Bluejeans, to make communication a bit easier. We believe that our Sales staff are able to better serve their suppliers and customers by working in or close to their destinations, and we compromise to make this possible. We are currently working to develop a new learning and development program to provide more learning opportunities to staff. Regarding your advice, we would encourage you to bring this up with your manager or with HR so a solution can be reached. Thank you again for you review, and we wish you the best going forward. Kind regards, GetYourGuide

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Main focus Growth - People are secondary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GetYourGuide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - a leisure atmosphere - free breakfast - beer & pizza on Fridays - good place to work to experience a true startup atmosphere - International Company

    Cons

    A typical StartUp environment is what you find in this company: main focus on growth, having a kazillion unnecessary meetings each day, hiring overpaid engineers, neglecting the underpaid colleagues in Customer Service and other departments, wasting time on free breakfast each morning, totally unorganised structures and processes and way too many office spaces within Berlin which are nowhere near optimal. If you like working in an environment where most people come straight from school and have basically no experience whatsoever and where HR is hopelessly understaffed to be able to take care of its many employees from all over the world then this is the right place for you - a wee bit chaotic and clarity hardly to be found. You get lucky if the CEO and his partners do remember your correct name. Do not expect to have GetYourGuide evolved into a structured and well running machine even though its been on the market since 2009 - this company refuses to develop any kind of corporate structure as they love to practice the StartUp mentality with all its ups and downs. So this is what they will probably stagnate at: a StartUp which is basically not a StartUp anymore which wants to play the field of the great companies but which refuses to adapt and to treat their biggest asset with greater respect: their people.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2017-12-15

    GetYourGuide Response

    January 3, 2018Talent Co-ordinator

    Hi, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience with GetYourGuide has been negative. We would like to address some of your concerns below: -We value all of our employees in all departments and recognize the importance of every team in GetYourGuide’s overall success. As mentioned previously, salaries are consistent with the market value and our goal is to pay a competitive market rate. Our HR team completes research on this topic frequently, and we adjust our salaries as needed based on their findings. -Our HR team is charged with the responsibility of supporting all employees through their employee life-cycle at GetYourGuide, and they take this responsibility seriously. Please note, transitions out of GetYourGuide are handled with the utmost professionalism and care. Furthermore, we are currently expanding our HR team to provide more support to our growing number of employees. -Although we consider ourselves to be a fast-paced and agile start-up, having only become a marketplace in 2011, we do have mindful structured processes. One example is our OKR goal system and review process. Our OKRs help provide a clear direction for the quarter and the quarterly review process is a structured way for employees to provide feedback on these goals before the quarter begins. We have also invested in establishing performance review cycles, 360 feedback, and creating competency profiles for all employees, so everyone knows what it takes to develop further. However, some of these processes are new, and we must certainly iterate. We don’t yet have all of the structured processes of our larger corporate counterparts, but we’re working on it. With our recent funding of 75 million USD led by reputable VC Battery Ventures, we will be able to do so. -Clarity is one of our core values and we strive to maintain transparency and openness to feedback. The global update is one opportunity to share feedback and ask questions if any decision remains unclear. Only with this feedback, are we able to grow. Thank you for providing this feedback and best of luck in your future career. Kind Regards, GetYourGuide.

    Continue reading
  7. "Customer Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Customer Service in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at GetYourGuide for more than a year

    Pros

    Customer friendly, german, yoga courses, free breakfast, free drinks and fruits, friday update beer and pizza

    Cons

    Week end shifts. Long waiting period before being able to change the number of hours worked per week.

    GetYourGuide2017-06-01
  8. "A place to learn, grow & develop."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time

    Pros

    Tons of opportunity to learn, grow, progress, improve Extremely international environment Nice people / building / location Perks - Free breakfast, coffee, fruit, pizza, beer etc.

    Cons

    Because the company is so fast-moving you have to be ready to face the challenges that comes with that. Prepare to work hard and adapt to lots of changes.

    GetYourGuide2017-04-25

    GetYourGuide Response

    July 5, 2017

    Thank you for your review. We are happy that GetYourGuide has provided you with an opportunity to learn and progress in your career. We really value your feedback and will take your advice on board.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "GetYourJob done...and the excitement going!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - --------- in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job within GetYourGuide offers a wide variety of tasks and challenges which makes the job fulfilling and fun. On the other hand it gives also freedom to develop skills - one can help optimize the product by giving new ideas and new procedures to certain processes. It is a very young, ambitious and enthusiastic atmosphere which allows each employee to feel comfortable at work and be proud of what they are doing. The extras for the staff are exceeding normal standards.. Free breakfast including free soft drinks on a daily basis, Updates with food and beer on Fridays, numerous big and small parties with a great setting, gift vouchers to test the product and on and on. Employees tend to take these things for granted and do not seem to appreciate these goodies sometimes - however it IS a big plus and very generous of the management! Overall it is a good atmosphere with mostly very young people of about 40 nationalities working together to make/keep GetYourGuide a success. It feels good to be part of the process!

    Cons

    Vacation days could be more while meetings could be less :) The salaries of the employees show the rank in importance of its value to the management - however the management tries to always be open-minded to requests of improvement for each and everyone and if one accepts other amenities as a way of reimbursement for a job well done - it can be acceptable.

    Continue reading
    GetYourGuide2016-02-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A growing company with ambitious goals to change an industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GetYourGuide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GetYourGuide is a special company. It is making a difference in people’s lives by making travel easier. The company has attracted a team of nice, smart, and hard-working employees with prior experience at major firms. You will make lifelong friends at GetYourGuide and learn something new every day. The company has a bright future. GetYourGuide has ambitious goals to transform its industry worldwide for the better. This is a big challenge, so employees are encouraged to do their best in a collegial atmosphere. Tourism is a great sector and it’s hard to think of other industries that are as much fun to work in. The company culture promotes openness to new ideas and learning, and the company is transparent with employees. GetYourGuide runs many social events for employees including Pizza Fridays with free beer and themed parties. It also provides free breakfast for employees. This is an exciting company to be a part of, and you will grow both personally and professionally.

    Cons

    The lunch options in the neighborhood could be better, but this is easy to solve.

    GetYourGuide2014-10-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews