Glassdoor Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2018

To filter reviews, or .
0.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
Glassdoor CEO Christian Sutherland-Wong
Christian Sutherland-Wong
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (4)

    "The People, The Growth, The Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growth: Glassdoor has experienced tremendous growth since I started with the company in 2013. It has been a true privilege to be a part of the growth and maturity of this company and I have been given so many incredible opportunities to further myself as a marketer and as a person. Having the opportunity to gain global b2b marketing experience is invaluable. Momentum: I think we have really found our stride in the Dublin office. Things are falling in to place and we are starting to gain momentum. Admittedly, it was a tough transition breaking in to a new market without a playbook and we lacked a few key players to help lead the way but that was all part of the thrill and excitement for me. We had/still have the freedom to try creative campaigns/tactics to find out what exactly works for EMEA. People: The people make this office. Having moved to Dublin only knowing a handful of people, my co-workers have become some of my best friends and mentors. I really enjoy and admire the people in both the Dublin and London offices and we all generally share the same desire to win. We work hard and still find time to enjoy each other’s company.

    Cons

    Clarity around the future of this market: This has always been something I have struggled with but that’s part of being a global company. We didn’t have a dedicated person/people that were able to give insight in the long term plan for EMEA. With the recent addition of a few key roles, and dedicated exec buy in, I feel extremely hopeful for the future of Glassdoor in EMEA. Resources: This is not necessarily a con but in this office you have to be scrappy. You may not have the immediate resources you need at your fingertips so it’s up to you to go get them. That’s just how it is at a startup within a startup. It may fall on you to reach out to our U.S. counterparts to get access to resources you need and that’s okay.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2018-02-15
  2. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Search Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Great minds at this company. Nurtures my personal want to improve and increases my drive.

    Cons

    A lot of long time employees leaving due to a supposed "culture change" but I have not been around long enough to know the difference from 5 years ago.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2016-12-02

    Glassdoor Response

    February 15, 2017CEO & Founder

    Thanks for your feedback. Companies evolve and change as they grow, but we have always tried to maintain our culture and stay true to our mission of helping people everywhere find a job and company they love. I am glad that is coming through for you. We are delighted to have you onboard for the ride.

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Best Company I've Worked For! (if you can handle moving targets...)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Sausalito, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    - Collaborative culture where people manner and feedback is greatly valued - Quality of candidate screening process - not a unilateral decision; every one on the team has a say - Work/Life balance: Able to leave at a decent hour and not expect a flood of emails in the evening or over weekends - Ability to grow professionally: management cares about fostering your talent and giving you opportunities to network, test/expand your skills, increase your responsibilities - Working cross-functionally: high likelihood to work with various teams and departments, rather than being siloed - On-boarding experience: thoughtful coaching, buddy system, well-paced training materials for sales and marketing staff - Visibility and transparency: Upper management is open about their plans/goals/initiatives, and regularly shares feedback and answers questions in bi-weekly company-wide huddles - Company events/socials: Fun company happy hours, team lunches, holiday parties, great company spirit - Wellness: Free food every day and fitness classes offered, great gym - Pay and equity: competitive pay and wonderful equity package for all employees - Dog-friendly policy: such a great way to boost morale and liven up the workplace - Quality of leaders/managers: thoughtful and careful selection of our leaders pays off, each executive team leader is respectable, highly motivating and effective at moving the organization forward - Great internship program and community involvement (e.g. Gratitude Lunch and Engineering After School program)

    Cons

    - Reign in your egos, middle-management: Despite everyone having equity in the company and boasting the "people first" motto, many middle-management leaders/directors posses and exhibit some serious egos. Rather than being collaborative, they have a tendency to shut down ideas, speak dismissively. - Exec managements limited understanding of B2B sales/marketing: As a marketing team member, it feels as though we are constantly fighting a battle to prove our worth and justify our spend. While, yes, marketing is responsible to generating pipe/bookings, there are countless other impacts that are immeasurable. - Not enough engineering support for marketing: Making a minor update to a website should not take over a month. Need to be able to advantageously explore digital marketing opportunities without waiting months for the next open sprint. - Avoiding personnel issues: We promote being a culture that is humble and not arrogant, respectful and not mean, but there are some employees who receive multiple warnings about being rude, dismissive, arrogant and mean, but still remain employed and/or just get shifted to another role. I'm not sure if skating around the issue is the best way to foster these values. - Too many presentations - QBR, Monthly Reviews, "How Marketing Works" impromptu decks - the list goes on. - Lack of or always-shifting product roadmap - Chasing a moving target - Delayed forecasts and sales models creates inefficiencies, unnecessary worry/concern

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2016-05-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love this place. The culture, the people and the mission are all things I can really get behind. We just got great new executive management in place and I'm thinking positive about the direction Glassdoor is headed! I'm on the B2B Marketing team and LOVE the people I work with. We're a collaborative family who have each other's backs and it's extremely motivating every single day. It's an exciting time for the company and it's fun to be in marketing and see how the knowledge of Glassdoor for Employers is growing! Glassdoor is hands down the best job I've had and best company I've ever worked for!

    Cons

    We are experiencing growing pains, but this is normal for a company growing as rapidly as we are. I can tell sales is frustrated right now and I feel that pain on the marketing team, but I know the exec team is listening to the grumblings and working hard to make changes based on feedback. Our goals seem extremely high and somewhat unrealistic, but we always seem to get there!

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2016-03-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Sausalito, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people and culture. Everyone at the company is incredibly helpful, outgoing and an overall team player. I trust those around me to do the right thing and get the job done at all times. There's also loads of opportunity to be had and the freedom to try new approaches to things. I also appreciate the awesome level of collaboration we have across teams (marketing, sales, PR, recruitment, etc.). Our CEO is remarkable and his passion for the company and candidness with employees furthers everyone's belief in / support of our mission.

    Cons

    We definitely are experiencing some growing pains. As we get bigger, certain systems need to be put in place to compensate for folks being stretched too thin or not enough. It's especially difficult in positions where there is only one person in the function. Many folks may see a single role in multiple lights and it's hard to live up to everyone's expectations and deliver on the amount of requests that come through.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2015-05-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Marketing Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Sausalito, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great perks - trainer on site, work/life balance, flexible hours, unlimited PTO, great offices on the Bay, food provided, and managers that really care. A pre-IPO company with tons of gain and room for growth. All ideas are welcome and you have a real opportunity to make an impact on a product that's changing how people research and find jobs. I've never worked at a better company!

    Cons

    The biggest con for me is the low salaries - 20% or more below market standard. I've asked quite a few times to increase my salary to the market level listed on Glassdoor. There are also many strong personalities leading to high expectations, strong opinions, and a nothing is ever enough mentality.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2015-05-12

    Glassdoor Response

    May 15, 2015VP, People

    Thank you for sharing how you feel. We are continually looking at everything we offer our employees at Glassdoor, including compensation. If you feel you are being under-compensated please come chat with me. I would be happy to look into the details. Our goal is to pay our employees at market, so let me know if we have made a mistake. Culturally, we try to emulate a "results-based" culture, not a "face-time" culture. We want our employees to do a great job, and even exceed expectations, but we want to measure results, not time in the office. Often it takes a great many hours to get a great result, but those hours can be worked in the office or out of the office. If you feel we are not always walking out talk in this arena, please come chat with me. We try to reward great performance on a regular basis, so if we are missing the mark, please let me know. We always want to improve, and we always want to make sure our employees feel appreciated for their hard work. So, please, let's discuss how we can improve in this area. You know where I sit...just come say hi. Thanks, Mariah, VP People

  7. "Young. Gifted. Positive."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Sausalito, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Summary More than any company I've ever worked for, Glassdoor practices what it preaches when it comes to the art of organizational transparency. For example, everyone has a say when it comes to new hires (a first in my career), excellent work is publicly acknowledged and management openly discusses results, company changes and the future on a regular basis in all-hands meetings. Glassdoor also boasts the youngest worker demographic of any tech company I’ve worked for, which makes it an energetic, fresh, positive, fast-paced, “Let’s try this!” environment. Detailed Pros -Supportive—B2B managers and colleagues have your back, let you know when you’ve done a good job, single you out for love in team meetings -Fast growing and open—management honest about future of company, quarterly results -Hiring process—taken very seriously, everyone on team has a say, vote and stake in decision -Smart, bright people—few, if any weak links, which makes B2B run like a Ferrari -Great business model and mission—helping employers make great hires makes you feel good -Open floor plan—conducive to collaboration, quick brainstorms, getting things done fast -Generational—youngish worker demographic comes with less professional baggage and hang-ups, less “We used to do it this way at XYZ company” attitude -Training—new hires go through serious onboarding -Dog friendly environment—reduces daily stress, helps lighten things up -Great benefits—unlimited PTO, catered lunches, gym, team outings

    Cons

    -B2B/B2C divide—sometimes feels like two separate companies under one roof -Open floor plan—no privacy, often leads to cacophony, hectic environment -Sales territories—constantly changing, moving targets lead to churn in Sales, disrupting Marketing sales enablement efforts -Dog friendly environment—often a distraction to business at hand -Food—more healthy snacks would be appreciated -Generational—youngish worker demographic can turn office into free-wheeling party

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2015-05-12

    Glassdoor Response

    May 15, 2015VP, People

    Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciate your candor. As you know, we recently re-orged our Marketing Department to bring B2B and B2C marketing together under our CMO. This should really help integrate both sides of our business. If it doesn't, and you still feel that we are not cooperating and collaborating as much as we could, please let me know. Thanks, Mariah, VP People

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews