Glassdoor Sales Manager Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Glassdoor CEO Christian Sutherland-Wong
Christian Sutherland-Wong
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great People, Great Product & Great Future"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Glassdoor 2 months ago and have no regrets at all. My new colleagues have all been very welcoming, supportive and clearly know what they are doing. Not just from my own office, but this includes people throughout the organisation - from the ones I met during the onboarding process in Chicago to my colleagues based in Dublin. Being in sales, the product itself is fundamental to the pride I feel at work and whether I see a career in an organisation or not. Since joining Glassdoor I have met multiple clients from a variety of industries and the huge majority have been extremely happy with the product and service delivered. For me, this is so important and fills me with confidence in the decision I made to leave my last company and join Glassdoor. I've personally experienced working for a company during its hyper-growth stage and loved it. My job now allows me to be part of a similar journey at Glassdoor, which is so exciting. It is truly a great time to be at Glassdoor!

    Cons

    Obviously, when a company is growing at such a pace then you will have growing pains and certain challenges. But to be honest that is what excited me about joining Glassdoor and what keeps my job interesting. Each day brings new challenges, but if your head is in the right place and you are prepared to work hard, then the satisfaction of genuinely contributing to the success of a business outweighs any negatives.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2018-09-03
  2. Helpful (4)

    "The future's ours"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve been at Glassdoor London from the very scrappy and gritty beginning. I love that the scrappy and gritty culture remains a key component of our identity in the London office. We’re a “small” group of ~20 which for some of us seems like a HUGE group. That said, the size of the group fosters a sense of family and togetherness across teams and functions. Needless to say there’s banter, laughs, singing and a celebration of our individual differences, quirks and the diversity of the very multinational group. You can generally twist someone’s arm to go for a cheeky beverage or few at one of the plethora of watering holes in the local area. Our shiny new office is perfectly located for after work cheekies and offers up endless options for lunch on the Southbank, Borough Market and Flat Iron Square to name but a few. Summer drinks on the Southbank have been quite the treat these past few weeks. The outlook for the business is very bright especially since the Recruit acquisition was confirmed. International was already slated to be the focus for this and future years so the news of the acquisition fills us with even more excitement for what’s to come particularly for us in the international markets. Accelerated growth and even more opportunity is clearly on the horizon which makes us an even more attractive “startup” for talent with a desire to make a noticeable impact on a technology company on the upward trajectory of accelerated growth.

    Cons

    There’s a lot of change in a very short space of time which can be overwhelming and is exacerbated by the pace at which we are growing and evolving in Europe. This is both a pro and a con dependent on your perspective. In this environment some will flourish and some will not but it is definitely a period where you need to buckle up and hold on tightly because we’re going places very fast!! We are still lacking in some support functions but steps have been taken to address challenges around local IT, HR, Benefits etc.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2018-08-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are incredible. Amazing office culture, great company mission and vision. Tons of opportunity to learn and grow your career

    Cons

    Growing fast. Growing pains come with that.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2019-11-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "EMEA on the Rise"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a very exciting time for Glassdoor Dublin, our EMEA HQ. There have been a number positive changes over the last 6 months, including a new local leadership team, new offices on Stephen's Green, and a great new attitude in the Dublin Office. Everyone feels excited about the journey we are on to Help People Find a Job in a Company they Love. Leadership is very open about the expansion plans and there is a strong sense of belief and togetherness. We understand that finding local solutions to local problems is the key to our success.

    Cons

    As the EMEA arm of the business, we are still reliant on our US cousins to implement requests which can add to delays in execution, which can be frustrating. Within the Sales Org, it still feels like we spend too much time dealing with Operational Issues which can restrain our growth.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2018-07-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Meaningful work, opportunity for professional growth & project ownership and great culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations Manager in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Meaningful, interesting projects that keep coming as long as you do a good job - Flat org with a candid exec team - Sharp, politics-free team-players - Fun culture & great benefits - Short, reverse commute from SF

    Cons

    - Below market rate pay - Work-life balance varies depending on which team you are on & how critical your role is, which is expected

    Glassdoor2017-06-22

    Glassdoor Response

    August 29, 2017VP, Sales Operations

    Thank you for all the feedback. It means a lot to me that you find the work as meaningful as I do and appreciate the candid nature of our leadership team. When it comes to pay, we are all committed to providing a competitive compensation and rewards program to hire, retain and motivate amazing people who love working here. It’s why we go through a regular exercise, like the one just conducted a couple months ago to help make sure everyone is paid within a competitive range. I hope you feel comfortable coming to talk with me about it as I want to make sure you feel rewarded for your work at Glassdoor whether it’s through base pay, bonuses, equity, career development training, benefits and other perks.

  6. Helpful (6)

    "Not for the faint hearted"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Glassdoor Dublin is home to our super talented and passionate teams including Marketing, SDRs, New Business, Customer Success and HR. What I enjoy most about the Dublin Office are the inspirational people I work with every day, who believe in Glassdoor and our mission to help employers hire informed candidates at scale. We genuinely enjoy spending time together both in and outside of our temporary home in Regus; whether that's going for a run at lunchtime or enjoying a couple of pints in the local pub, where we had a great evening with our CEO, Robert, and his wife when they visited the office a few months back. As pioneers in Dublin, we have the honour of building our flavour of Glassdoor's culture, which is unique to Dublin and it's amazing to see it evolve and grow as we do. There is a world of potential for Glassdoor in EMEA; don't be naive, it takes hard work and determination - long hours and flexibility and that is not for everyone, and that's ok. Every day I am challenged to find a new way to move forward, find a solution to a new problem that I haven't met before and that's part of the reason I joined. You need to hold yourself accountable, no one is going to do it for you and it's up to you to find your way to make yourself successful. No one on the team should fear failure, if something goes wrong we share what happened, discuss what we learned and how we will avoid repeating the same mistakes as we move forward. We are on the crest of the wave in EMEA and I am excited to see what the next 6-12 months will bring for Glassdoor Dublin.

    Cons

    Working for Glassdoor, I understand how powerful reviews are, and my intention is to collaborate on how we can make Glassdoor Dublin even better... As a remote office finding our own way, we have a host of challenges specific to Dublin; from IT and facilities to consistent processes and structure which can take its toll on team morale over time. It can sometimes be frustrating when there is a lack of guidance and it feels like we are battling to catch up as opposed to getting ahead of where we should be as the great company that we are. I am confident that we will get there, as a team... it's what we pride ourselves on as a company, our grit and determination; and we need to see more inclusivity and autonomy to enable our shared success in EMEA.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2017-05-30

    Glassdoor Response

    July 5, 2017Senior Vice President, Sales

    This kind of thoughtful feedback is helpful as we branch into new markets and offices worldwide. I agree with you, we have SO much potential in the Dublin office and beyond. Getting support from the U.S. is great, but we also have the opportunity to operate locally. I’m proud of our team for having a can-do attitude That said, I’ve made sure all our sales leadership hear this sentiment so we can be even stronger and learn from one another.

  7. Helpful (19)

    "Other side of the coin.."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Enablement Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2016 was not an easy year for Glassdoor or for anyone laying the foundation for this company. Growing pains have the inevitable cause and effects and some of that has made its way to reviews on our own Glassdoor page; a good reminder that we are not immune to our own solution. Part of what makes Glassdoor so unique is that we WANT to be held accountable. Leadership stands behind the transparency and accountability that are the threads throughout our mission. I call that leading from the front. I appreciate how gracefully this organization has navigated challenging times. You should be aware of the good, the bad, the ugly of an organization before dedicating a large portion of your life to them. Glassdoor allows you to do this. Hopefully the reviews you have read thus far support your decision to start, stay, or move on from this organization, and that's a good thing! It means Glassdoor is living and breathing its own vision to help people find a job and company they (truly) love. For what it's worth to the reader, I would like to share a story from the flip side of the coin. Last week we celebrated the life of a former colleague. Her father spoke of his gratitude for the people who loved her well and supported her living the last years of her life with dignity and pride. Glassdoor was among those on the receiving end of his gratitude. This entire organization, from senior leadership on down, rallied behind this colleague in the most gracious ways and without question. I don't know about you, but to me, it's not where you are but who you're with that matters. These voluntary acts of kindness represent the incredible people inside these glass doors.

    Cons

    Like any company or human for that matter, Glassdoor is not perfect. All you can do is use these reviews to determine if it is perfect for YOU.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2017-02-22

    Glassdoor Response

    March 20, 2017CEO & Founder

    I’m very touched by this feedback. Creating a culture where people support one another is a credit to our entire team and reflects the culture we try to live every day that is supportive and treats everyone with dignity and respect. Things may not always be easy, but it is our strong teamwork and GRIT that pulls us through. Thanks for all you do.

  8. Helpful (19)

    "Lacks Accountability to reach potential. On the brink of real success if they could bring in some real sales energy."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Mill Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, strong engineering team, intelligent people. Has the makings to be a great company.

    Cons

    Runs like a small company that has inexperienced sales leadership. No strategic sales leaders. They can't bring in the industry level leadership needed because they are not willing to pay the salary of what that would cost. CEO gives visionary speeches of the product, but does not hold his leaders accountable. Somehow, there has been no sales leadership change when they have drastically underperformed with no plans of how they will change that. Much of this comes from the fact that majority of them do not have the experience to lead a sales organization. In my time there, I do not recall I time where I saw a leader inspire and LEAD. Having a great product doesn't pay off if you don't have the people that know how to sell it. How can you expect these leaders to succeed when the company is much larger if they can't succeed now?

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2017-02-15

    Glassdoor Response

    March 27, 2017VP Sales

    It’s unfortunate that Glassdoor ended up not being a fit for you, but we appreciate you taking the time to provide this candid feedback. This is a team that has grown considerably - in numbers and in targets. While we’re not without growing pains, we have an incredible team and continue to invest in leadership training to help support our goal to continue to promote from within.

  9. Helpful (5)

    "I continue to fall deeper in love with Glassdoor everyday"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Sausalito, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been working here for 3 years now, and I seriously love coming into work more and more everyday. I am confident in the direction that the company is going, I love the leadership, the ability to make an impact, and the impact that our product is making in the world! It feels like we are making a huge difference in the lives of jobseekers - and that is AWESOME.

    Cons

    Some growing pains - communication is getting harder, with all the new people it has been tough to navigate the org at large. I feel like there are certain things that we have to rush to finish, and then nothing happens with it! Sometimes different parts of the company are working on similar problems, but not cross referencing each other to align their goals. The pay could also be better.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2015-03-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews