Glassdoor "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Robert Hohman
Robert Hohman
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning(in 66 reviews)

  • "flexibility with working from home when needed, and a culture of great people who love your children and embrace them as part of the Glassdoor family(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "growing pains on the technical side(in 43 reviews)

  • "The company has expanded into two buildings in Mill Valley(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Glassdoor has transformed my career and life..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Relationship Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Glassdoor has an amazing vision and a great company culture alongside a product suite unrivaled by anyone else in the marketplace with future innovations in the pipe that are sure to keep Glassdoor as the global leader in recruiting and employer branding solutions. Glassdoor has a great vision and mission, inspiring senior leaders and the best culture and values in the world. They genuinely care about people and... they give you the opportunity to transform yourself as a professional in line with EMEA growth. Everyone seems genuinely grateful and happy to be here. There is no seniority complex among the management team and each individual is recognised as an important part of the wider company. A lot of time is also invested in personal development which I have not seen anywhere else. The facilities are superb and work environment is great fun. There is a positive work/life balance. Managers offer a lot of trusts which helps you to perform well and enjoy your day.

    Show More

    Cons

    The business is at a critical juncture, and some crucial business decisions must be made to keep it growing and the standout in its industry. It seems we have just started this journey, I hope it's not too late.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing as you are: communicating with the team, and encouraging them to approach you with potential solutions and other ideas to drive growth.

    Glassdoor2018-02-14
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Exciting company where you can make a difference and work alongside great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partnerships in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved coming in to work every day. The team are all so lovely and respectful and the work environment is great. Everyone is very driven about the Glassdoor mission and very passionate about their work. Glassdoor as an employer is super flexible and appreciates the work/life balance of their employees. You also get a lot of opportunity at Glassdoor to use your skills and develop professionally. It's still in many... ways a start-up which clearly isn't for everyone but really what difference do you expect to make at the alternative, a 10k+ employees professional network company based in central London? If you want to really contribute and feel like your work makes a difference then you should work for Glassdoor. The direct management in my team was very supportive, great mentors and anything but micro-management. Generally Glassdoor doesn't really do micromanagement which also means you should know to manage yourself. Other pros are the competitive salary, great office location, nice team events, progression and autonomy. Talking for the London office, I wouldn't say the negative reviews really give an accurate idea of the work environment. There's challenges that come with any start-up but most comments do not resonate with my experience in any way. I can truly recommend Glassdoor to anyone that is looking for a meaningful job, with tons of learning opportunities, room for growth, amazing colleagues and a healthy work environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    I had no reason whatsoever to leave on my own initiative for above reasons but the company decided to let me go due to focus shift away from most EMEA markets. Very disappointing and sad but I respect tough decisions need to be made in order to move the business forward - although in all modesty I believe this was a poor decision made by higher management as I (as well as my colleagues in the other markets) build up... tons of relationships within industry and media landscape that will be hard to rebuild when focus will be shifting back to those markets. In addition to that we took on so many different tasks outside of our original jobs such as sales, marketing, pr, etc. (which I loved as never a day was the same), while getting paid for 1 which is a pretty good deal for the company I'd say. It's like spending ages on building a sand castle and then kicking it in. What monster does that, no offense. Anyway I'm all for flexible redundancy rules but perhaps in a more constructive way.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you need to let go of loyal employees, give them the opportunity to properly wrap up. All of us who were made redundant, had to pack our bags and go. I have been a happy advocate for Glassdoor and was 100% on board of the mission and made great progress to make a success of my market. Having to leave so abruptly with no notice or chance to finish things off, is the last thing I expected from a company like... Glassdoor and what it preaches. Not only does this put Glassdoor in a bad light with partners and clients as all of a sudden they lost their main contact they spoke to every week (in their own language), it is also personally and professionally damaging for us and the network we built up. Otherwise my main advice would be value the employees that are left in the EMEA team as they are such hard and dedicated workers who are confronted with many more challenges than in the head office and rarely complain except perhaps about the coffee machine which is totally legitimate. You have lost great talent (talking generally here, I am not Kanye West) that will remain to impact the long-term international strategy, but value the strong professionals working for you and oh yeah never remove focus from PR because your global PR is the most impressive team ever and really sets Glassdoor apart as a company. Media loves the stories, the research, the data and what Glassdoor does. Otherwise keep doing what you do

    Show More
    Glassdoor2017-05-24
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Anything in life worth having is worth working for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been at Glassdoor London longer than anyone else and feel that I am qualified to give a balanced opinion based on a number of different team changes and a significant amount of growth over time. I fully believe that Glassdoor is destined for greatness on a global scale and I personally enjoy working here very much. I look forward to every day, I understand and support the mission of the company, I know how I... can make a difference and my goals are clear. I feel like I am well supported by my manager and wider team in the US and I also feel like the work-life balance is good. Our benefits program is slowly improving but the main benefit for me are the share options, which I value highly. The culture in London is good (in my opinion) although perhaps a work in progress. We get together and socialise pretty regularly. We always have team events in the pipeline and I enjoy everyone's company in the office. Some of us have been around for a while now and, just as with any company, others have left for various reasons. It hasn't worked out for some people, but at the end of the day, that's life. Glassdoor isn't for everyone and some people have probably had a pretty rough time and struggled, but I have thrived here. I feel appreciated by the CEO and in return I feel a strong sense of loyalty. There's no magic formula: if you like your job and you are good at it, you do well.

    Show More

    Cons

    Let's be honest, we're not there yet, in terms of where I want Glassdoor to be in Europe nor where I thought we would be at this point in 2017. As a company, we're having to re-focus and set ourselves up for success, and I accept that. This is quite normal for a hyper-growth company. I'm not concerned about our strategy or momentum, but it doesn't mean that I'm not fed up about being temporarily restricted in terms... of my scope. My hours can be quite long and there is certainly a lot of scrutiny and pressure. However, I've always felt that I can take the time I need to recharge as well as have flexible working. If you like an all-singing, all-dancing benefits scheme, everything on a plate, easy-sell corporate environment with massive salaries, then Glassdoor is not for you. If you don't mind pushing the envelope and you are resilient enough to rough it a bit on the journey, then Glassdoor could take you into a new league in terms of what you thought you could achieve and where you thought your career could go. You need to see the bigger picture and not get caught up on little things if you want to be satisfied working here. I actually like this in a way because it filters out those that can't, or are not willing, to go the distance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seriously, it's time for us to think about new office facilities for the UK. We need proper support from the facilities team, not an "out-of-sight, out-of-mind" approach.

    Glassdoor2017-05-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "GD Europe exciting place to be! Positive environment, lovely team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partnerships Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Team is lovely - Positive, casual and mature work environment of dedicated people - Great work/life balance - A lot of flexibility - Very exciting place to be - Glassdoor is growing massively every day and you get to be a part of it!

    Cons

    When you start at GD Europe you have to realize it's still a start-up feeling where you are expected to be a self-starter and learn the ropes yourself. Flexibility comes with ownership and you have to be able to carry this. If this suits you, you can count this as a plus!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in Europe - I see a bright future here! Move the perks of the HQ to other offices as well. Keep the company culture as it is while continuing to grow.

    Glassdoor2015-10-23
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Found a job and company I love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Learning opportunities: I feel tremendously lucky to be in a job where I learn something new everyday and where my team encourages me to experiment, learn and develop. I was also able to switch teams internally and I'm very thankful to my managers for giving me the opportunity. - Mission: I joined Glassdoor because I believe in the mission and it's kept me motivated to tough it out during rough patches at work.... Almost every employee can recite the company mission word-for-word and it feels so great to hear positive stories from users who've been helped by our work. - Manager/leadership: My manager is great, constantly gives me good feedback and advocates for us constantly. I have a lot of confidence in my department leadership; I feel like they really take our feedback to heart. - People & culture: The people are great and the culture is very welcoming and friendly. I really enjoy working with my team and have a lot of respect for the teammates, mentors and leaders I've met here. - Work/life balance: My manager & team leaders very actively promote flexibility, making sure we can WFH when needed or that we aren't checking email when on vacation (unlimited PTO too!).

    Show More

    Cons

    - Small company with growing pains: We're working on getting processes and operations in place to scale, but there are definitely growing pains—priority pivots, under-resourcing, immature formal mentorship/training, etc. - Technical growing pains: There's also growing pains on the technical side. Data accessibility is a constant issue—#1 day-to-day frustration for me. - Post-acquisition plan: I think we're still... finding our footing. There's been a fair amount of turnover as we reorient towards the next big milestone. - Experience varies by team: While some teams are doing great, others are struggling. It can be slow to rectify under-resourcing because of budget, management, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Generally, I think we can be bolder and less risk-averse in terms of product (need to innovate) and management (need to operate faster). As the company grows, we should continue to keep communication flowing especially across teams & offices, make sure teams are adequately resourced and empowered (data accessibility!), and that employees feel they can have a long & flexible career at Glassdoor.

    Glassdoor2019-10-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Finance Team is Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    You will be hard pressed to find a finance team that cares more about its people. Tons of opportunities for growth in a rapidly expanding global company. The people and culture are wonderful.

    Cons

    They operate at bare minimum staff and are wait too long to open new roles. Work life balance is sometimes a challenge as a result but the leaders are working hard to fix that and build out the team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Glassdoor2019-10-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company, Uncertain Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding Senior Leadership, particularly in the Enterprise space. There are wonderful people in every part of the organization - the entire workforce is committed to the company's wonderful mission of connecting everyone with a job that they love. There is also incredible work/life balance.

    Cons

    Rapidly deteriorating internal processes - particularly Sales Ops along with some functions such as legal and finance - that ultimately inhibit sales rather than enable them. Some of these orgs are understaffed, too many of these processes exist in slack channels that aren't responsive. Strategically, there is too much of an emphasis on the Customer Success and Self Serve functions and not nearly enough focus on... further product development and innovation that will help sales land new logos and help account management grow existing business. Lastly, the LTIPS are not the least bit meaningful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Less focus on Self Serve - MUCH more on how to best enable Enterprise New Business & Account Management.

    Glassdoor2019-09-18
  8. Helpful (54)

    "Glassdoor changed my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Glassdoor was my first job right out of college. I moved to a new city where I didn't know many people. The reason why I wanted to work at Glassdoor was that I believed in the product and it was something that was useful to me in my job search. Little did I know that a short three years later I would be looking back at my decision to accept my first job at Glassdoor as one of the best decisions of my life. Many of... my closest friends were made through my time on various teams throughout the Glassdoor organization. I know every review says it...but the best part of Glassdoor is truly the people. - Career Progression - There are plenty of opportunities for promotions for top performers. If you work hard and stand out, you absolutely will be moved from role to role quickly. -Strong Managers- I've had four managers at Glassdoor and every single one of them has been wonderful. -Compensation- Top performers are compensated like top performers. The ability to both hit and exceed quota is very real and can be accomplished by anyone who is willing to put in the work. -Benefits- Top of the line (and free) health/dental benefits with a ton of fun stuff around the office. Snacks, beer, ping pong, and darts. -Work/Life Balance- Amazing flexibility based on manager and position. Employees are treated like adults and allowed to WFH or take PTO when needed.

    Show More

    Cons

    Any company has cons no matter how great it is. Glassdoor has always done a good job taking feedback both from public reviews and internal feedback and laying out a plan to make changes. However, it sometimes takes longer to accept/see the issues and put into place fixes since we've grown so quickly. -Sales Operations- Many of our systems are very, very, very broken. This can occasionally lead to over or... underpayments that you as an employee you have to watch out for. This SEEMS to be getting better lately and I know is top priority to be fixed this fiscal year. -Billing Department- As a sales rep, your compensation is tied to your clients paying (or not paying) your bills. This means that you are often times working with the Billing Department to resolve payment issues for clients. Our Billing Department is painfully understaffed and emails/Slack messages go unanswered for weeks creating tough situations with clients who expect resolutions quickly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting your people first, we all love you for it. Focus on the Billing Department, we're losing revenue due to a lack of accountability and responsiveness. Put people into Sales Operations leadership positions who have experience setting up and managing our systems. You've clearly noticed the issues and seem to be on the right track.

    Glassdoor2019-02-16
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A review of my 1st tour of duty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Enterprise Account Manager in Rocklin, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Mission Colleagues Managers C Suite Work Life Balance Autonomy World Class CSMs Remote Work Clients SWAG Team/Tier Events Life long friends Personal Growth

    Cons

    No New Products Quota Issues Content Team Programmatic Candidates over Clients. Monday Moves

    Advice to Management

    Help people find their why. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I LOVE Glassdoor.

    Glassdoor2019-08-08
  10. Helpful (21)

    "A Rapidly Declining Culture, Values and Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Mill Valley, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Career development & growth: I have been working at Glassdoor for 3 years and have been promoted 3 times which is amazing because once you build your internal brand and perform well, chances are that you will get promoted. Like any other organization you need to play your cards well and build the right reputation and relationships to speed up your promotion track, but overall, movements do happen frequently.... Great benefits & work life balance: Free catered lunch (amazing), dog friendly office (it helps owners and other employees to feel emotionally supported with so many cute dogs in our teams), 401K match (this took a few years but it's amazing that we have it now), very flexible PTO policy as long as you are performing on your numbers, awesome health/dental policies and an ok working from home policy. Office location: This is tough for people that live in the city or if they don't have a car to drive to the office, but being right on the water in the Marin county has elevated the company culture and it's refreshing to work in this beautiful "suburb" only 4 miles north of SF/Marina neighborhood. Lower Management: I have had 4 different managers here and every single one of them were amazing human beings, very empathetic, always supporting reps, passionate about our career and personal development and overall very hard working people that is extremely hard to find in the bay area especially in Sales.

    Show More

    Cons

    Upper management & executive team: Leadership is very removed from the needs and struggles of the lower end of the workforce - with the most recent news of Glassdoor HQ moving to the city, I was expecting a more reasonable announcement to get employees more excited and pumped about moving to SF. But, because they are so disconnected with what we need, it was a very disappointing announcement in our monthly... all-hands meeting and actually quiet insulting. Yes, we all understand that moving to the city is more beneficial to attract new talent and grow our company. However, just being located in the city doesn't get Glassdoor the "top talent" we are looking for - it certainly makes it easier but if we are not considering a competitive perks & benefits package in addition to our "hot new office in the city" this will only get us the average candidate that can't get hired at other hot companies/startups in the city. This is not the first time that upper management has made announcements without reasonable preparation or understanding of employees needs and concerns. In fact, during the all hands meeting, when we were raising our hands to share our concerns/ask questions, a few leaders were laughing at our comments and making it sound like we were ridiculous for surfacing these concerns which was both insulting and disappointing. Additionally, for a company that always preaches "transparency" and "culture" they didn't consider for once how people will react to these not very well presented announcements and made it very obvious that ultimately the decisions will be made regardless of the impacts they may have on people's lives and there is no room for review, hence why I am very disheartened by leadership and their decision making process. Priorities: If you are an engineer or a technical talent looking for a job at Glassdoor, this is the right time because literally that's all they care about - if you are in Sales or Customer success, think twice because we are not given the right resources or teams to help us success in our roles. Customer Success:

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When making huge announcements, try to understand your audience better, practice active listening and only share what you know will benefit the audience - Given that the current status of the big move to SF is under construction (until we have a new chief people office) it would be much more impactful to let the people know that you will be running internal surveys to understand what we value the most and letting us... know that you will be at least "trying" to find us the best package - instead of sharing a news that hasn't been well thought out and also get defensive about people asking questions about "food, dogs and commute" which are no longer really perks in the Bay Area but a standard benefit by most reputable employer brands that are seeking for the top talent in the bay area. Value your employees before you expect building a $1B company.

    Show More
    Glassdoor2019-06-03
Found 68 reviews